We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised at poor reviews - this place is great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mushroom Beach Bungalows
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Nusa Lembongan
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I am surprised at so many poor reviews. This place was great. The staff were so helpful and went out of their way to help us. The oceanside and beachside location is amazing. The food at the restaurant was okay. We stayed in 2 different bungalows during our 6 day stay. Both were in good condition and had great outdoor bathrooms. The only downside is no hot water, but this was not a problem as the days are so hot and the water is cool rather than cold. Really quite a good place for the money, good value. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 168 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Fortunately we only booked one night here because our first choice hotel was full. We paid a premium for a large room with hot water, as the small ones were pretty shabby. We had no hot water, cockroaches in the room and the front door did not completely close which let in bugs. For the price they are charging, I expected it to be better. If we had paid half the amount, I would not complain but it was obvious that no one cares about fixing up this place yet they still charge premium prices. It could be very nice if they put a little time and money into fixing the broken doors and patching tattered walls. We were also kept awake all night by the party at the club next door, which was not Mushroom Bungalow's fault but was still annoying. Would recommend staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Large rooms are twice as expensive but not worth the up charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elbrew24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Mushroom bungalows is a great location! Friendly staff...
Right in front of the beach.. However the rooms need to be redone, there is no warm water, the doors have no latch, furniture is old, rooms smelly, linen/towels need to be cleaned properly..
Having said all that, I think I was just unlucky since the other couple staying at the next bungalow had everything alright!
I would definitely go back, but would inspect the room and other things before checkin-in

Room Tip: Before checkin-in, have a look at the room thats being offered to you! There are good rooms and ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eternal_Traveller_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Whatever other reviewers have said, our experience was fantastic. Location is stunning with views looking west over mushroom bay. Staff were lovely without fault and gave our toddler loads of attention. Our room was lovely (amusingly a 'honeymoon' suite), clean and had ac. The pool may not be the biggest but with the best view of the bay and sunsets it was hard to complain. The new pool being built on the cliff will be even more dramatic. Spa is lovely and great value for money a location tgat was hard to best. A little bit of money could be spent updating loungers etc and yes the plumbing isn't perfect but hey that wouldn't stop us going back for a second. Top find for us.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank si_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I give Mushroom above average coz it is good value for money and an excellent location. We booked this place pretty cheap on Agoda. Thing is 90% of Mushroom is great; location, rooms, just that the towels, linen, fixtures and furniture are all a bit tired and service/food a bit disinterested (but friendly). But still good value and on Nusa Lembongan not to concerned about that sort of stuff! But if you like plush towels and white linen not for you.

The bar and pool are excellent and top snorkling and surfing right out the front.

Just note it is built on a steep hill, so if you are not so fit best ask for a lower villa.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights & although the location is very scenic on the side of the cliff, the rooms have been poorly designed.

Due to the open roof in the outdoor bathrooms to the inside part of the bathrooms, mosquitos & other bugs are free to enter the room. Despite spraying the room with bug spray, we would wake up to new bugs in the morning.

Also although the staff were very friendly, with special mention to Ketut who was a fantastic help in organising dinner reservations & boar transfers, the rooms were not as clean as we would have hoped.

If they can fix the bug problems due to the design of the rooms, they could improve the hotel immeasurably.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had 5 nights booked at the Mushroom Beach Bungalows but decided to end our stay at 3 nights. On arrival Ketut was very friendly and efficient with our check in. We had booked 2 interconnecting villas with air conditioning but were given a different room. Ketut was quick to correct the error and moved us into the interconnecting rooms. A mattress was placed on the floor for one of our children and it was absolutely filthy. They made the bed up but all my children refused to sleep on it which meant that 2 of them shared a bed. The bathrooms were dirty, the toilets were blocked and stinky and the water from the shower also smelt bad. One morning some bees started coming into our room and we ended up with a bedroom full of buzzing bees. The staff were quick to respond to us by cleaning the bees out and spraying to avoid any more coming into the room. We dined in their restaurant on the 1st night and the food was not nice at all. I ordered the spring rolls which looked like they had been bitten before being fried and the taste was very unusual. The other meals were less than average. A rat ran through the restaurant while we were eating our meals and the floor was extremely dirty. Each meal presented us with soiled table cloths and placemats from previous guests. The breakfast included in our rate was small. The kids ordered banana pancakes which consisted of one small pancake covered in chocolate and strawberry topping. The restaurant service was slow. A couple of other rats were spotted during our stay. We were not expecting anything fancy but cleanliness is a big issue when it comes to comfort. The gardens and pool are well maintained and the position of the resort is beautiful. I would not recommend the Mushroom Beach Bungalows.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2adultsand3children
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Lembongan hotels
1.7 mi away
The Ocean Sunset Villas Ceningan
The Ocean Sunset Villas Ceningan
#5 of 28 in Nusa Lembongan
104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Poh Manis Lembongan
Poh Manis Lembongan
#15 of 28 in Nusa Lembongan
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sunjaya
The Sunjaya
#19 of 28 in Nusa Lembongan
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sadeg Lembongan
Sadeg Lembongan
#11 of 28 in Nusa Lembongan
195 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tarci Bungalow
Tarci Bungalow
#6 of 28 in Nusa Lembongan
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Shore Huts
Bay Shore Huts
#3 of 28 in Nusa Lembongan
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mushroom Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mushroom Beach Bungalows

Address: Tanjung Sanghiang Bay | Nusa Penida, Klungkung, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Lembongan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
Price Range: $30 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mushroom Beach Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mushroom Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mushroom Beach Bungalows Hotel Lembongan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing