We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dieng Plateau” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dieng Plateau

Dieng Plateau
Book In Advance
More Info
$176.50*
and up
Private Day Trip: Java Highlander Tour from Semarang
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Dieng
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dieng Plateau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Excellent trip up the plateau, passing by the villages and seeing the beautiful contours of paddy fields. Once we reached the plateau, the cold temperature was AWESOME! Reminded us of Cameron Highland, Malaysia but this place is really 100 times bigger with much beautiful landscape. The 'Tempe' or fermented beancurd fritters should not be missed. The colour lake and natural sulphur lake were a beauty. People there are generally polite. :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidah_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    152
    56
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

light trekking. headed to mt. sikunir to catch sunrise, unfortunately it was really misty (i was there in rainy season), locals said it would be better to go there in around mid june-august.
from the top of the mount we could see a nice view of wonosobo and dieng plateau itself
Also, there's some interesting temple complex to visit.
Recommended food: carica dieng and mie ongklok (wonosobo local food)

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gerienta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, Indonesia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“another great view:)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

amazing places with beautiful sunrise:):):)
have lots of historical sites and interesting stories behind all of it.
proper gear and vcloths is a must,since the weather could be freezing in the night and early morning! [at least for tropical people;)]

Helpful?
Thank Hellenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cold and clean air”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Most people go there to see the famous golden sunrise at a very nice spot. The view is spectacular like in a fairytale (country above the cloud).
Recommended for a sunrise hunter.

Helpful?
Thank yanzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semarang
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Negeri Diatas Awan - Village Upon the Clouds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Visit to Wonosobo is already nice experienced with nice sphere, along the journey always misty. You have to be very carefull driving in this area. On the way to Dieng Plateau you will find beautiful panorama, along the way just look like we walk upon the clouds.... fantastic.....!!!
There are a lot of attractions, such as: Dieng Craters, Lake Colors (Telaga Warna), Artifacts, Temples with very old history of the places. The most beautiful thing when I visited there is my experience climbing on top of Sikunir Mountain (Puncak Sikunir) to see the Sun Rise. You have to bring your pullover when visiting there because it was very cold. I will never forget, it was very nice..... one thing I found very worst is toilet! no toilet, if there is toilet are very dirty and smell. Others I guaranteed you'll enjoy your vacation.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SiskaPoedjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dieng Plateau also viewed

Dieng, Central Java
Dieng, Central Java
 
Dieng, Central Java
Wonosobo, Central Java
 

Been to Dieng Plateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing