We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kresna Gallery Hotel Wonosobo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Arjuna Hotel(Wonosobo)
View Hotel
Hotel Sentro(Wonosobo)
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surya Yudha Hotel(Banjarnegara)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Puri Asri(Magelang)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sriti(Magelang)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
10
60
69
29
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
60
69
29
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolcolonial hoteldutch colonialan upgradegamelan orchestrarestaurant areabeautiful lobbyparking areacharlie chaplincentral javanice placemaintainancecenturycomparisoncollectionantiquescleanliness
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 181 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Kresna is a colonial-style hotel dating back from the time when travelling was something really special.
Its lobby and restaurant area are stunning and the staff, although perhaps less inclined to smile than elsewhere in Java, were professional at all times.

The restaurant offers good food although, predictabily, it is relatively expensive by Indonesian standards. But you pay for the setting I suppose and the dinning is room is quite special!

As mentionned in previous reviews, the rooms have aged a little and the comfort they offer is not really in keeping with the standard the hotel has clearly had in times gone by.
But we found them to be perfectly alright if somewhat uninspiring.

If you enjoy great old buildings and old fashioned hotels the Kresna is a very nice place to stay.
We would certainly return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The only reason to stay in Wonosobo is Dieng Plateau, because it's the closest city that has hotels, not homestays. But perhaps a homestay closer to Dieng could be even better than this so-called 4* hotel.
This property (formerly Grand Hotel Dieng in the late 70's) once was a nice colonial dutch building and could be still great if managed properly. It seems, though, that the new management only changed the name but left everything else as it was 10-15 years ago.

Rooms: dark and small, with a smell of dust. Bedsheets and pillows were stinking as if it had been wet for a couple of days (in the end we had to sleep without pillows, because the smell was impossible to bear). Very strange windows (more like a wooden curtains with a net) made every noise from the outside heard very well. This last thing was the worst, because the room could either face the street (hence the neverending noise from cars and horns) or face the inner courtyard and pool. Our room faced the pool and I was very happy about that, until I've opened the curtains. There is a mosque close to the hotel and it happened to be a local religious celebration that day, so the unbelievably annoying sound of prayers (hymns? songs?) was heard all across the room. It was like the tune the old cow died of. I've traveled a lot of muslim countries and this wasn't the first time to hear a call for prayer, but I've never imagined it could be so horrible. It was like a cat's scratching your ear. Finally, I've turned on the TV, so that its sound could overcome this symphony of ear destruction and we could catch some sleep.

Bathroom: incredibly old, mouldy shower cabin, poor lighting. Hair-dryer is only available from reception.

Breakfast: was included in the room rate, otherwise I would never even bother. There was literally just fruits and juices that you could eat. Everything else was either undercooked or overcooked; pastry was like from the day before. The only good thing was the omelette, but it wasn't enough.

Staff: maybe the only reason that this hotel still has guests. Everybody spoke good English, check-in and out was quick, bellboys took care of luggage, so I honestly can't fault anything. Staff did a great work but the poor quality of food and rooms ruined the impression.

We've had a superior room (the cheapest one) and paid about 90 USD for DBL. A night later we've stayed in The Phoenix in Yogyakarta - it was almost 1,5 times cheaper but the quality cannot even be compared. What I'm saying is you can do a lot better for that price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Thefall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is our first time go to Wonosobo, we will go to dieng for our vacation but we don't know anything. But when I called operator he give me good information and suggestion I'm forget his name maybe oja also when we breakfast one of waitress whose name Rina is really give us excelent service

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WillJoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel prior to visiting Dieng Plateau and were informed this was the best hotel in the area....the bedroom was dark and miserable and that was the 2nd room we were offered, the bathroom had mould and the water ran cold in the basin and shower, the corridor areas didnt appear to have seen a vacuum for days,and the food was almost uneatable, even breakfast, which is hard to achieve. We left a day early and the staff were neither interested nor disappointed that we were making an early exit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Kresna hotel may be the best in Wonosobo, but it is let down by the quality of its rooms Let me say first the looby and bar area is very impressive and the pool area is good, but there is a charge for pool towels. The rooms however are a let down. The bathrooms are black with mould and the water pressure was not very strong. A shower cutain to stop the water getting all over the floor would be helpful. There were no fans and it was quite hot. We could open the windows (wooden panels) but we faced the road so it was quite noisey and although there was mosquito wire it was broken or missing in a few places. Breakfast was adequate, certainly nothing to write home about, but some in our group were turned off breakfast by the cat that had jumped onto the table and was eating the food when we arrived. When we mentioned it they chased the cat away, but didn't change the food.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the main road
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arthurs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews