We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Blissful and serene”
other travelers have booked this property
Outside dining
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside dining
Exterior of property viewed from park lounge viewed from kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Outside dining
Exterior of property viewed from park
lounge viewed from kitchen
view from bedroom window to chateau gardens
fully fitted kitchen with every appliance
bedroom
lounge/dining
welcome from Dolly, our guard sheep
Le Somail on the Canal du Midi 15 mins by car
Black Mountains - typical scenery of the area and great walks
Guest bedroom
Outside dining
Historical city of Minerve
Sun & shade in the courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Quarante, Herault, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
694nancy
Galashiels, United Kingdom
1 review
“Blissful and serene”
Reviewed May 24, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We have just had a second visit to this delightful gite in a small village in rural France. Again it has fulfilled all our expectations. The Layout is perfect for two people, with plenty of living space (indoor and outdoor) excellent kitchen area and a huge bathroom with walk in wet room as well as bath!
The owners of the gite, Lesley and Mike are perfect hosts - on hand to help, give advice on where to go etc. They provide a welcome pack on things of interest, as well as little hospitality pack to get one started in the gite. They certainly made our stays especially enjoyable, through their attention to detail and interest in us as guests.
The area is BEAUTIFUL! So many wonderful places within easy driving and walking distance - Carcassonne, the Camargue, the Canal de Midi, especially La Somail, Collioure to name a few.
The village has a good mix of amenities - a pharmacy, a tiny supermarket, a. butcher, a baker and a gift shop! There is also an excellent pizza takeaway and a very friendly pub!
There are some really good quality restaurants and auberge nearby, as well as Caves for the delightful wines of the region!
I would highly recommend it as a holiday retreat!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2018
Lovely. Glad you enjoyed the area yet again and are still finding new places.
Lesley and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r0bertgj
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing stay in Quarante”
Reviewed September 1, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Delightful and spacious Bed & Breakfast ( Gite ) in SE France.
Run by very friendly and welcoming couple.
Everything top notch and immaculate.
The garden and surroundings are beautiful.
The breakfast was in a class of its own.
Highly recommendable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry W
1 review
“Peaceful, beautiful spot to relax and unwind after a busy day touring the area”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This gite is very up-to-date, with a modern kitchen, spacious rooms, and a lovely courtyard which is better seen in person than in the pictures.

Lesley and Mike are fabulous hosts. They provided many little extras to add to the enjoyment of our stay. They live in the main house, and the gite/cottage is a separate but attached house, with the courtyard accessible to both houses. There is an upper area for our hosts, and the lower area is separated and was ours to use. You cannot see it in the pictures, but it is well shaded, but there is plenty of sunlight to be had. A nice table and chairs was perfect for eating meals and socializing.

The town of Quarante is small and beautiful - its on top of a nice size hill, set in the countryside. Parking for our rental vehicle was available right across the street and felt very secure. There are many sites to explore nearby, medieval towns and artifacts - and the views along the way can be spectacular in the nearby hills and mountains. Getting to the Mediterranean was easy, and we enjoyed some kayaking in one of the nearby rivers.

A great place to unwind and enjoy yourself.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
Hi George & Terry
We are glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for leaving the gite so tidy - you are welcome back any time. Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond P
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic week at the Old Donkey Market”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We just enjoyed a magnificent week at the Old Donkey Market. Lesley and Mike were wonderful hosts at once helpful and informative but also discreet and respectful of space. This is a fabulous base to explore the area easy striking distance to
-St Chinian for wine and the local market,
-the Mediterranean for beaches and waterways
-numerous historic hill towns.
-the little villages dotting the canal du midi

special call out to Lesley for booking a birthday lunch in advance of our arrival at a fabulous local restaurant.

All in all a great stay in a fascinating part of France.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanie R
1 review
“The perfect place for renewal and relaxation”
Reviewed May 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I can't say enough about our wonderful week at The Old Donkey Market. It was totally relaxing and we easily could have spent the entire week simply enjoying our private patio and spacious apartment. Lesley and Mike were warm and welcoming hosts. Lesley recommended wonderful outings in the area. We enjoyed every one of her recommendations. She also shared her knowledge of the area's interesting history. She went out of her way to insure our visit was enjoyable.
The area itself is lovely and having the option of discovering it at a relaxed pace was unbeatable. If you're looking for a comfortable place to renew and enjoy the surrounding area, you can stop your search right here. You will not be disappointed.
Joanie and Tom Boyd

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2017
Hi Tom and Joanie
Thanks greatly for the lovely review. Similarly we do not feel we had enough of your company - would loved to have been with you longer.
Lesley and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway.”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Your own little oasis. Big rooms .fitted kitchen .Leslie and Mike always on hand for local places to visit info. Just chill and be a local and have some wine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great to unwind. Places to visit,mountains or beach.
Liked least: Weak wifi.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2016
Hi both
Glad you enjoyed it. Also so many thanks for leaving the gite perfect!
Hope to see you again next year and we can spend a bit more time with you. Mike and Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowley86
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most beautiful, perfect holiday retreat!”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

WOW words cannot truly describe how perfect this gite is for a relaxing beautiful holiday! It was one of our favourite holidays by far and the hosts played a major part in this, so thank you Lesley & Mike.
As soon as we arrived they greeted us with a glass of wine, (which was very much appreciated after a long journey) but welcomed us so genuinely and gave us advice on things to do in the area, this continued throughout our stay.
The Gite is truly magical as its so beautiful, it is very quiet and is fully equipped with all you need and is so relaxing!
Quarante is a lovely town to explore, we really enjoyed getting our French stick in the morning.
During our stay we took the hosts advice and visited the river beach which again is breath taking and somewhere I would really advise to visit. There is a beautiful beach 30mins away which again is very relaxing.
We ate out in different restaurants advised by the hosts again, which were really yummy, especially the canal restaurant. Our advice would be to get a pincher of wine instead of a bottle, it tastes really good but is cheaper!
The chateau again is a must see, it is very beautiful but also does amazing cocktails!
There is so much to explore in the neighbouring towns it truly Is an amazing place to stay!
There is a local hypermarket 10min drive away which again was really handy especially to make picnics for the beach. Our advise is just to be aware they shut early on a sunday by 12.30 if you need essentials. However the hosts had given us wine and milk as a lovely surprise which again was very much appreciated. We had brought food to cook on our first night which was very handy after such a long drive.
Overall we really didn't want to come home, we are missing the gite and the scorching hot weather.
Thank you Lesley and Mike for making our holiday so amazing, you are the kindest most caring people we have met on a holiday and we look forward to our return to Quarante in the future! We have already been telling friends and family how amazing the Old Donkey market is :)
Thanks again Karen and Kierran

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gite was so beautiful, hot weather too!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
Hi Both
Clients will think we have paid you oodles of money to write this, but seriously thank you very much. We really enjoyed your company and wish you all the very best in your careers - we could "feel" your commitment to your pupils. You are welcome back any time. Mike and Lesley.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing