We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super week break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Belvedere
Ranked #1 of 7 Quarante B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super week break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have just returned from a super week’s holiday in Quarante. The Belvedere was the perfect place to stay and the owner, Nigel. He could not have been more helpful in ensuring that we saw and experienced much that this region has to offer. We availed of the ‘table d’hôtes’ on two occasions and were treated to some of the best meals we had while we were there. We were the first to enjoy the private use of the sauna and hot tub which we really appreciated after a busy day out. A great French breakfast at the start of each day as well. We intend to return and explore the region in some more depth. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seamus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leroni, Owner at The Belvedere, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you 'Seamus W' for taking the time and trouble to write us such a nice review. We are delighted that you enjoyed visiting our wonderful region and experiencing some of what it has to offer. Indeed it has plenty and we are pleased that you are already planning to come back and explore the region in more detail. We enjoy entertaining our guests and it is a pleasure for us to cook for them, but even more pleasurable when our efforts are appreciated. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    6
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
9
18
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emmen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

17 reviews can’t be wrong we thought and indeed they were right.
Good rooms, excellent sleeping on mattresses imported from Ireland, a quiet surrounding yet close to the village centre with two pubs and some stores, no solid Irish breakfast for hard working people but a fine, fresh French (not petit) dejeuner. We applied for diner and, yes indeed, Nigel’s mother found an excellent pupil for her cooking, a right choice again.
Nigel is a perfect host. He has an eye for detail, is really helpful, and an entertaining conversationist. We lend part of his garage for storing two pallets of wine, blocking his car in the process and yet he was still happy. “Come back next year” Nigel said and that’s what we intend to do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertk848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leroni, Owner at The Belvedere, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you Bertk for taking the time to write us such a nice review. It makes my day when our guests appreciate our efforts to insure that their stay with us, and their visit to our wonderful region, is memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back next year. Maybe next time, I will leave my car out of the garage to give you more place to store your wine! Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We found this lovely, stylishly decorated, newly renovated clean, tidy and extremely comfortable B&B in the quaint village of Quarante rung by an Irishman and his French partner Jennifer, via Trip Advisor. Not only was it excellent value for money, but the hosts were very friendly. The fresh breakfast with local fresh produce was an unexpected delight. We can only strongly recommend it to anyone traveling in the area - even worth going out of your way to stay at.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtourle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leroni, Owner at The Belvedere, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you, vtourle, for writing us such a nice review. It is very much appreciated as we do make the effort to insure that all our guests enjoy their stay with us. When one of our guests takes the time to write their appreciation, it makes it all the more worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nigel and Jennifer have created a smart but comfortable chambre d'hôte in this attractive traditional village. It was the finishing touches that made the experience special: not just the cuppa on arrival and freshly-squeezed orange juice at breakfast, but the provision of a multi-plug before we'd even thought to request it, as well as making sure we were warm enough in November (in the salon-séjour as well as the bedroom) and going the extra mile to ensure we had an Internet connection even when Orange apparently had other ideas. It was a novel experience speaking French at dinner with an Irishman (Jennifer is from Hérault despite the name). The dinner on the first evening was delicious and dissuaded us from searching out a local restaurant on the second.

Room Tip: The ground floor room was cosy even in November. In warmer months the first floor would have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateG09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leroni, Owner at The Belvedere, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you Kate for taking the time to write us such a nice review. Reviews are, for us, an important source of feedback from our guests. We appreciate that, after a day of travel, a cuppa allows our guests to unwind, appreciate that they have eventually arrived and that now their holiday can start. We are delighted you enjoyed your evening meals with us; we both like to cook, eat well and enjoy the company of our guests. As for speaking French, well as ‘they’ say when in Rome (or Quarante)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed here in August 2011 for 2 nights to attend a wedding nearby. The rooms were comfy and clean, and breakfast on the terrace was great. But the main thing I remember is how helpful and friendly Nigel was - he fitted round our complicated timetable, introduced us to the other people staying for the wedding, and generally made our group feel very welcome.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank k J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leroni, Owner at The Belvedere, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you kJ for taking the time and trouble to post your review. We pride ourselves on our hospitality, which means being helpful and friendly to our guests and to make them feel welcome and at ‘home’. The extra reward for us, on top of the pleasure of doing our job well, is to be told that our efforts were appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you to The Belvedere the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Having just returned from a short break in Quarante, I can confirm the accuracy of all the previous reviews of The Belvedere - beautifully renovated house, very comfortable rooms, constant hot water in en suite bathrooms. Each morning we had a very good breakfast at a time of our choosing. Although there are excellent restaurants close by, Nigel and Jenny also provided delicious, reasonably priced, dinners. As it was our first time in the area Nigel's advice on things to do and places to visit was greatly appreciated. He was a most helpful host and nothing appeared to be too much trouble. SM

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leroni, Owner at The Belvedere, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you Susan M for your kind review. We are delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable for you both, and that you enjoyed visiting the region. It certainly has plenty to offer and we hope that your appetite was sufficiently stimulated that you might visit the region again. If you do please make sure to look us up. May we take the opportunity to wish you both a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Just back from a wonderful week-end from the Belvedere and it was everything we hoped it would be. We were a group of 13 so used up all the rooms in the house. Nigel and his partner Jennifer cooked wonderful meals for us and was a most gracious host. It was a very relaxing place to stay and we were made to feel very welcome. We will definitely go back some time and will recommend it to all our friends. Ally

Room Tip: Our rooms were excellent, we slept very well in very comfortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ally21254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leroni, Owner at The Belvedere, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Thank you Ally21254 for your lovely review. We are very pleased to have made your stay with us in The Belvedere pleasurable and enjoyable. Our reward is to receive favorable comments from guests who appreciate the effort we make to make our guests stay memorable. We look forward to welcoming you again, should you visit the area again. In the meantime may we wish you both a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarante
0.1 mi away
La Sorga de Vida
La Sorga de Vida
#2 of 7 in Quarante
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Quarante
Maison Quarante
#3 of 7 in Quarante
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Clos Mazerolles
Le Clos Mazerolles
#1 of 1 in Cruzy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Chateau Les Carrasses
Chateau Les Carrasses
#1 of 2 in Quarante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Combe Mouis
La Combe Mouis
#1 of 1 in Creissan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Property: The Belvedere
Address: 3 rue Saint Jean, 34310 Quarante, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Quarante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Quarante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet road near the centre of Quarante, The Belvedere opened its doors to the public in late 2009 after 5 years of total renovation of the 18th Century building. Situated on a hill surrounded by the vineyards of Languedoc-Roussillon, the largest wine-producing region in the world and with views south to the Pyrenees and north to the ‘Montagne Noire’, Quarante is 20mins by car to Beziers, Narbonne and St Chinian. The Canal du Midi is a short walk or bicycle ride away. The region was extensively developed by the Romans and is noted for their legacy. The 'Via Domitia' being just one example. Quarante has two butchers, a baker, a chemist, a vegetable shop, a self-service mini market, a newsagent and two schools and a population of 1500. So it is a thriving picturesque typical French village. There are plenty of good restaurants within 10 minutes’ drive and we are lucky to have two excellent restaurants a short walk from the village.A regular bus route services Beziers. The Belvedere has free Wi-Fi throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing