We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel.”
Review of Siam River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Siam River Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Chaiyaphum
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel in Chaiyaphum was really nice. The staff were very helpful from the moment I stepped through the door. Room was basic and clean and had good air con and comfortable bed. Tv was a flat screen and accepts usb inputs but channels are pretty much aimed for Thai people but maybe just a few English speaking channels would be good. Also wifi was good too.

Breakfast was actually nice but same is aimed for Thai palletes but will not complain but also had eggs and toast so was content with that but the hotdogs were not all that.

Chaiyaphum has some nice lovely places to visit and explore the area and see some natural waterfalls and temples which are so high up it knackered me but was worth the trek of over 1000 steep steps.

Just a lack of a room safe was a concern so maybe invest in safes.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lenchannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 44 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

All the staff in this resort were lovely, always helpful and pleasant which helped make our stay very enjoyable. Our room on the 1st floor was spacious, spotlessly clean and also very nice with large balcony and nice bathroom. The air conditioning in the room was excellent.

The swimming pool was good too and there is also a fitness/gym area overlooking the pool if you are feeling energetic. The restaurant serves only Thai food but it was inexpensive and the food was very nice. Breakfast is also mainly Thai, but toast, eggs,tea, coffee etc was also available. We really enjoyed the laid back relaxing feel of the resort. At around only 1000 baht a night for 2 people in a room with breakfast included, the Siam is outstanding value for money. I recommend the 1st floor rooms as they have balconies and are bigger than the ground floor rooms which have windows only. The resort is about 5 minutes walk from local shops and the main road in Chaiyaphum. We will definitely return to the Siam River, we really enjoyed our stay there.

Relative to the price we paid, we would have to rate this resort as excellent.

The only thing I would mention just to help other travellers is that if you are a light sleeper, bring some earplugs with you as the local cockerels kick off at about 6am daily!

Room Tip: Book a room on the 1st floor with balcony. The ground floor rooms are smaller and do not have balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGasMeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Rating it only average because hard to know what to say. Our room was clean and staff were friendly and helpful. We hadn't booked in advance, just rode in on our motorbike from Nong Khai and needed a place to stay. It's a large hotel complex, catering mainly to conventions I'd say, which made the place feel somewhat empty and desolate. Otherwise all ok - dinner lovely (except strangely the rice was served cold?), breakfast ample (again cold food, no food warmers under bain maries). On checking in we asked about the availability of a massage. Reception made a quick phone call and said yes, it could be done. Booked one for 6pm. Thinking we'd head downstairs at 5 mins to 6pm and there was a knock at the door - our massage duo had arrived! Unprepared to do an oil massage so had to go away and come back. What was supposed to be two 2-hour massages turned into 1 1-hour massage and 1 1.5-hour massage, done side by side on the double bed. Expensive and odd!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kylie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The overall location was okay the room was average the bed was comfortable and the staff were helpful. The bar and dinning area was great except for being over run by smelly cats. Unfortunately neither my wife or I like cats at any time but while having a few drinks and some karaoke while being inundated by cats was a turn off for us. Otherwise we would have possibly had a better experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GClad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We only spent one night at the Siam River resort, and a fairly short one at that as we checked in well after midnight. We took a family sized room which had both a double and a single bed in it. I can't really fault the room, it was basic but large and clean and everything worked. OK, so the room is not the last word in luxury - tiled floors, hard mattresses and a feeling that the siting of light switches and aircon was designed by someone who had never actually stayed in a hotel before but these are minor matters and for what you pay the place is good value.

One disappointment, although reading another review perhaps not, was that breakfast finished at 9.30 am. Given that there is not much to do in Chaiyaphum after the sun goes down it is probably perfectly reasonable to assume that all guests are up and about long before 9.30 am, indeed as a separate reviewer points out, the crowing cockerels may make certain of this.

Having mentioned things to do: Chaiyaphum town itself has little to keep one occupied unless you have a particular liking for shops selling agricultural machinery and tractor parts. However head out of town going north to Tat Ton National Park and into the hills beyond. There is actually nothing to do there either, but that's sort of the whole point. Proper rural Thailand at its gentle and untouristy best.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Hatter10-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Good stay for 1 or 2 days. Good restaurant and rooms. Only the breakfast is very poor. We tryed to get a massage but there was nobody to help us, strange....
But overall a good stay and sleep, try to sleep in the big building where the reception is because you don't hear the chickens in you room....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TourIsaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Havebeen advised of the circumstances as to why only guests were allowed to use facilities, this has reverted back to how it was and we are all happy again. They have been advised that farangs do not like being mislead. Breakfast still crap though.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobR0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaiyaphum hotels
0.3 mi away
Dee Prom Hotel
Dee Prom Hotel
#1 of 7 in Chaiyaphum
16 reviews
0 mi away
Lertnimitra
Lertnimitra
#2 of 7 in Chaiyaphum
18 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sirichai Hotel
Sirichai Hotel
#4 of 7 in Chaiyaphum
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tonkoon Hotel
Tonkoon Hotel
#5 of 7 in Chaiyaphum
7 reviews
0 mi away
Phusuay Namsai Resort
Phusuay Namsai Resort
#3 of 7 in Chaiyaphum
1 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pocket Park Chaiyaphum
Pocket Park Chaiyaphum
#1 of 9 in Chaiyaphum
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam River Resort

Address: 55, Bannakan Road | Nai Muang, Chaiyaphum, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chaiyaphum Province > Chaiyaphum
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Chaiyaphum
Price Range: $27 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Siam River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing