We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautifully peacefull rural retreat perfect for...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Mouse House

The Mouse House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Mouse House
Telephone 01258 881386 Telephone 07802586615
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The Mouse House
Telephone 01258 881386
Telephone 07802586615
Email: paul.hill.foxhills@hotmail.co.uk
Lulworth Cove
Cerne Giant
Chesil Beach
Corfe Castle
Durdle Door
Gold Hill
Lyme Regis
Minterne Gardens
Portland Bill
Swanage Railway
Abbotsbury Swannery
Weymouth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Milton Abbas, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kier0787
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cute place, in need of love and TLC”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
4
people found this review helpful

I booked this place with the excitement of staying in a lovely area of the country, in a cute cottage almost in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by countryside and a farm.

All this looked very promising as the reviews were great, and communication with the owner was great, he seemed like a nice guy.

So, we stayed in the mouse house from 20th August for a week, and upon travelling down, the owner had emailed me saying that they were going to be away when we arrived so gave us a heads up where the key was etc....odd that you wouldn't be there to welcome your guests, but ok.

We arrived at the mouse house, and it really is as cute as the pictures make out. We let ourselves in, and slowly, the smile was wiped off our faces.
I don't want this review to come across as completely negative, as we did enjoy our stay, but there are A LOT of little things that add up to putting a damper on things.

So I will start with the positives, the property is really small, but in a good way, you walk into a hallway area that leads out to a small courtyard with a table and chairs, lovely to sit at and enjoy a glass of wine! Also, off of the hallway is the main part of the property; you go straight I to the living area, and then the bedroom is positioned at the back of the cottage, with a kitchenette to the right. Also to the right corner there is the shower room/WC. All is lovely, and what you would expect, until you look a little closer, or try to use certain things, you realise there is a lot of things missing, or wrong with the place.

Sorry, but the list of negatives is longer than the positives. But like I said, I don't want this to take away from what a great place it is, you know what it is like when there are a lot of little things, they add up to bigger things that just annoy you more than anything.
The easiest way to reel off the negatives is in a list:

No welcome pack
Thousands of leaflets dumped in chest of drawers (some up to 6 years old)
Wifi REALLY bad
Floors hadn't been swept/cleaned
Floor in hallway is damaged/coming away from the joints
Dining table in hallway dirty
Lid on kettle broken
Hot tap in kitchen broken (this did get fixed whilst there)
There is a hole in the wall next to one of the windows
There is no blind in one of the windows (the remnants of a broken blind are still there)
Really needs a fresh lick of paint as there are marks and knocks all over the place
Terrible black mould and soup scum around the door of the shower
Toilet seat completely broken
Really distasteful sign next to the toilet addressed to women on their period

Just to touch on the wifi again, we don't go on holiday to spend our lives on the internet, but when a place is advertised to have wifi, you expect it to be half decent! The wifi may as well not be there the signal is so bad, you only really get a good enough signal in the kitchen as the wifi is actually situated in the owners house next door!

So in summary, and to hopefully end on a positive, the property is sweet, and could be great, but just needs a lot of love put back into it. We would also highly recommend the Milton arms down the road which serves gorgeous food! And the service is wonderful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The condition of the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rf0x2016
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautifully peacefull rural retreat perfect for either a fairy tail weekend or a longer stay to explore Dorset /Devon”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Mouse House for seven nights and used it as a base and platform to go out and discover the many delights that Dorset and Devon have to offer. We wished we'd booked for 14 nights and were loathed to leave. The accommodation is compact but intimate and has more than enough space for a couple with everything you could need for a perfect stay .The owners Paul and Sally are extremely nice , friendly and down to earth people and have good local knowledge as well as advice on the best pubs and eateries of which there are plenty situated close by. If your looking for an idyllic countryside hideaway to spend quality time with that someone special then the "Mouse House" is definitely for you . Thank you Paul and Sally we can't wait to visit again soon :-) Rob and Ria .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location and privacy
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stone67
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted somewhere that was central to a lot of the wonderful attractions in Dorset so we could explore and the Mouse house was perfect for this. Great little place for a couple to stay, with lots of character in a picturesque setting, especially if you like peace and quiet.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizardShe...
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Compact and comfortable and clean.”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in the Mouse House. A very compact property, but offering all you need for a comfortable stay. The tiny kitchenette is well equipped, and the microwave oven doubles as a convention oven which suited our needs, we were able to cook simple meals if we wished to, though we did choose to eat out some nights in a few of the local inns offering good food. ( the closest inn unfortunately is currently undergoing renovation ). The bed was very comfortable and the shower room clean and tidy.
The Mouse House is behind the owners own house and away from the road and is in a very peaceful situation . We didn't need to contact the owners during our stay but they were on hand if needed. A lovely propery for a couple in a beautiful part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coziness.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R T
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It’s an excellent place to stay with your partner. The cottage is self-contained so we enjoyed cooking our meals when stayed there. Though the cottage is not that far from the main house, you still have your privacy. The location is close to many of the towns around Dorset. I would definitely recommend this place. The hosts where lovely and chatted with us often.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general look and feel of the cottage
Liked least: The hotwater unit kept cutting out
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralangley...
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Accommodation, a real home from home”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My husband and I and our dog George stayed one night, Perfect, good facilities, easy walks for the dog. Paul was really helpful. Very peaceful location. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
263PAM
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful retreat!”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Paul and Sally were friendly and helpful, the accommodation and facilities excellent. Lots of good walks in the neighbourhood. A great place to unwind and relax!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing