We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and original”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hambro Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hambro Arms
Ranked #2 of 3 Milton Abbas B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good and original”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Original hotel and restaurant in a beautiful village.

The dinner was excellent, good food, service and wine. Also breakfast very good.

Our family room was o.k. The extra sofabed is rather uncomfortable, even for kids. Our room had a connecting door to another room, with resulting noise. There was one large spider in the room.

Overall: it's a very charming, old place and the pros including the restaurant certainly make up for the small disadvantages.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank G Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    46
    16
    16
    8
See reviews for
22
97
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We decided to eat the Hambros Arms since our local pub in the next village, has had 2 changes of manager in as many weeks and had run out of beer (again). We received a very warm welcome and, whilst there were not that many people around, the atmosphere was welcoming and friendly. The service was spot on, the food was cooked to perfection and we will most certainly return here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, can't see what all the moaning is about, lovely and clean, food was lovely, friendly people, the locals were also friendly. Very pretty village. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank essexgirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Hambro Arms on the nights of 21 & 22 September 2012. On arrival we were warmly welcomed, shown around and taken to our room (1) by ‘Mark’. He then seemed to be everywhere for the rest of the evening. Serving, taking orders and generally running the place with a smile. We had a very good dinner and were looking forward to our stay.

The bedroom was good but why do hotel’s, in a double room only placing one chair?

The morning of 22nd presented a different picture not of the room but the bathroom and service at breakfast.

The bathroom was filthy. The bath waste was blocked with hair and soap scum. Before we could use the shower I unblocked the waste using fingers and a teaspoon! (I hope they have changed the spoons with the cups since!) The walls and door frame seemed to have been covered in some type of dirt spray and there was nose waste around the mirror. The extractor fan on the ceiling had done its job but was now full of fluff and blocked in many places. Oh yes, lifting the cheap plastic toilet set cover revealed hinges full of dark dirt and hair.

We tried to report the problems to the ‘Duty Manager’ but were told there was no one and the two staff on duty were not interested. So we had breakfast, please remember when reading the any menu at the Hambro Arms that it is only a guide even if the offering is plural (2 sausages, fish cakes) you will only get what you are given and be told the menu’s wrong.

I also find it very strange that on the Friday when we arrived there were no shops, supermarkets or wholesalers open in Dorset! To be told that a staple of breakfast (baked beans) was not available as they had none was not acceptable. It might have helped if the waiter had said, we’ve run out of baked beans can we add extra mushrooms and or tomatoes. Of course I could listen to the excuse provided by ‘David’ on Sunday morning breakfast (if only Saturday had been this good) that most of the staff were very hung over on Saturday as it had been ‘Fred’s’ birthday on Friday.

We meet ‘Fred’ after breakfast and I took him to the room to see the problems. In the time we had been having breakfast housekeeping had been and gone to the room. ‘Fred’ was amazed and said it would be sorted and he would spoil us on Saturday evening.

Neither happened! The bathroom walls were partly cleaned to head height. Everything else was the same.

I spoke to ‘David’ Saturday evening about the room and the poor service at breakfast his response was ‘well no one has complained before and I don’t know anything about it’.

‘David’ was the breakfast waiter Sunday morning and what an improvement. It showed what the Hambro Arms could and should be at all times.
I took ‘David’ to see the problems as he appeared to think that we were moaning for moaning. He agreed that it wasn’t right and would speak to house keeper.
No apology then or when we left.

Reading the Food Hygiene System employed by the local council the Hambro Arms only scored a 3. If the same system was used for the room I would score it as 3 and the bathroom a 1!!

A very disappointing stay, as the Hambro Arms can, as shown during the stay be outstanding (food always hot and well cooked if a little slow leaving the kitchen, service from most of the staff good but is it a fact that as they are dressed in black they can’t smile!) but all too often it lets itself down on small but very important points.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at The Hambro Arms in Milton Abbas for two nights whilst we visited The Great Dorset Steam Fair. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room and bathroom were spacious and clean. The breakfast was very good with a good choice. The village of Milton Abbas is picturesque and we had a lovely walk up to the Abbey. We would recommend the Hambro Arms to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Hambro Arms in Milton Abbas was to be our bed and breakfast accommodation for a few days whilst we visited The Great Dorset Steam Fair and the Beautiful Dorset area. The staff at The Hambro Arms could not have been more friendly and helpful. The accommodation we stayed in was just lovely, it had the Olde Worlde feel about it but with modern facilities too! We loved it! The village of Milton Abbas is definitely unique, it has to be seen to appreciate its charm! A peaceful night's sleep was guaranteed! The breakfast outstanding! The restaurant serving excellent food piping hot, just superb! We recommend the Hambro Arms to anyone!Well done to you all for making our stay so enjoyable, nothing was too much trouble and we were always met with a friendly smile! The traditional ales served straight from the pump were the icing on the cake! You do need your own transport to stay at this location,it is essential!We hope to see you again!

Room Tip: Our room was room number 2 it had a kingsize bed which was so comfortable and very quiet every night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeewillikersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Order placed at 7:06 pm, food arrived at 7:55 pm. Not a complicated order, two steak & chips and two fish & chips. Food adequate but not worth the 50 minute wait! Complained to the waiter about the delay twice but this brought forth no food. After we had eaten the waiter disappeared, our empty plates were not removed and we were not offered desert or coffee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hierocles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Abbas
5.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
15.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Woodland Views
Woodland Views
#1 of 3 in Milton Abbas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hambro Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hambro Arms

Property: Hambro Arms
Address: The Street | Milton Abbas, Blandford Forum, Milton Abbas, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Milton Abbas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Milton Abbas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hambro Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hambro Arms is located in the picturesque and historic village of Milton Abbas, in the heart of beautiful Dorset. Milton Abbas, which features on many picture postcards of Dorset, is a 'chocolate box' village, with identical thatched cottages and a unique history. It is believed to be the first 'planned village' in England. The bar and restaurant with rooms, offers exceptional food and newly-refurbished bedrooms offering all of the charm of the historic building with modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hambro Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hambro Arms Hotel Milton Abbas
Hambro Arms Milton Abbas, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing