We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Moravian Carst And Brno Private Tour From Prague
3

Book in advance
from
$297.03
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Punkva Caves
from $297.03
More Info
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
193
41
15
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
193
41
15
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 249 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2020 via mobile

Our family really enjoyed the Punkva caves.. definitely call in advance to reserve as I was told all weekends in July/Aug were reserved. We had a Friday reservation but at last minute needed to change the day and they had openings! In your GPS, you go to the Tourist information center in the town Skalni Mlyn. Basically there is a hotel, restaurant, some snack kiosks, WC and the Tourist office (green building) and that is it so you can't miss it. Upon arrival we had to pay for parking and then go but our tickets. The tour is only in Czech so don't forget to get the mini-guide in your language so you understand each stop in the cave. And be sure to pay the small fee if you want to take pictures (although no one checked your sticker). You have the option to walk about 30min to the start of the tour or take the 10 min tourist train. If you take the train, you need to buy tickets from a different desk in the info center.

Once you arrive at the entrance there are a few food kiosks, WC and another info desk. You wait in the building until your tour starts. If possible try to get towards the front so you can see what the guide is pointing at. The caves are cold so bring a warm coat and a raincoat, as it is dripping in places. There are 5 stops in the caves before getting in the boat (about 40 min). You walk on wet paths/steps, all with modern handrails, but it is easy for all ages. It is mostly well lit and only for a few minutes in one section was there some loud church music. You will need the flashlight on your phone to read the mini-guide.

We have been on cave tours before but this was unique because of the boat tour. There is also a cool abyss that you visit before boarding the boats. The boat takes about 20min with a stop halfway. You definitely need to watch your head especially if you sit on the outside of the boat benches but that is part of the tour fun. You are dropped off at the starting point again.

All in all just over an hour. Definitely recommended! If the weather was nicer we would have also done the cable car. Beautiful area!

Date of experience: July 2020
3  Thank Corinne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

it was fun w/ our 3 year old. Wear a hoodie, it's cold inside the caves. we had some snacks to feed the baby, left the stroller up front & got it back later. fun.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank rostiqandbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 19, 2019

The Moravian Karst is the biggest and most significant Karst region in the Czech Republic. Within this 33-square mile area one finds the Punkva caves. which are the largest.

Our tour group of 22 visited here in late September 2019. Upon arrival we boarded a "train" that took us to the cave entrance. Once inside the mountain, we walked uphill for quite a distance amid cathedrals of fantastic stalactites and stalagmites. Religious music piped in at three different locations added drama and emotion to the visit.

After our walk, we boarded boats, traveling 1,443 feet along the Punkva River. The channel is very narrow, and the ceiling at times quite low. My husband had to keep his head down about a third of the time, so viewed the area sideways! Beware if you are tall! The boat tour concluded amidst the dripstone decoration of the Masaryk's Dome.

Upon emerging, we walked a short distance to get on cable cars that took us to the top of the gorge. There was not much to see, especially since it was misting.

All in all, it was a worthwhile experience.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 9, 2019

So others can learn from our experience and not be disappointed. We showed up at 9:30 am on the first Sunday in October. The first tour available was at noon so we could have visited the caves but unfortunately this time was too late for us. So take their advice and register for a tour if you have a schedule to keep to.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 3, 2019 via mobile

The whole area is well worth a visit with at least 5 separate cave systems to explore as well as the beautiful scenery.
This particular cave network is amazing with some fantastic structures and the mirror pool was beautiful.
The whole tour is about an hour and there are a lot of steps to climb, so not really for people with mobility issues, it seems strange to be climbing upwards in a cave, but it's worth the climb.
The underground boat trip was really interesting and you eventually arrive almost where you started, so not far to get back.
Tip for the tour is to take the tourist train from the entrance to the park, as it's a good mile or so climb to get to the actual cave.
Definitely worth a visit

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank philbertNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews