We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location”
Review of Hotel Skalni Mlyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Skalni Mlyn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Blansko
Reviewed June 9, 2014

It's great to be able to stay in a hotel in a National Park where these spectacular caves are.

When we enquired we were surprised how cheap it was, from memory about US$60 with breakfast.
It was quite a nice room with wifi and cable TV, although no English channels. We could park the car outside, and reception is 24 hours. Our only issue was the remote for the TV, which we couldn't get to work.

It was convenient for us because we missed the last tour of Katerinska cave, so it meant we could stay the night and see the cave before moving on in the morning. We also had a good meal in the restaurant out front.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 47 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nice hotel in great location. You are coming here to visit the caves and the abyss, and since that is the case staying at the hotel that serves as the base of operations for visiting them makes sense! Clean rooms, not overly big but very well maintained. We came inDecember so only a small portion of the hotel was occupied or heated. Wifi only works in the section by the restaurant and front desk, the area over the tour center has no wifi so if that is an issue make sure you ask to stay in the right section. Free breakfast was good, typical Czech standards of service (not great) but no biggie. Nice place

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank addrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Fantastic location. Right at the start of the entrance to the caves. We got a good deal on the room, so excellent value. Very quiet at night. Great wifi. Very nice attached restaurant and bar.

Love the surrounding area. Absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigt3365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I visited the Czech Republic and were booked into the Skalni mlyn hotel just outside Blansko. We stayed for three nights and we would recommend the hotel to anyone. The rooms were spotless and well appointed, the staff, despite language difficulties, were attentive and the service they provided was impeccable. The food was excellent with a varied menu, it could not be faulted. The wine was mainly selected from the Moravion region and was simply divine. The area itself is designated an area of outstanding natural beauty and it contains a cable car to reach the local hills and has a marvellous underground cave system plus an underground river, which provides trips through the caves. All reasonably priced. Price wise it worked out that meals were between 3 - 5 pounds sterling beer and wine £1.30 for a half litre of beer and the same price for 0.2 litres of wine. All in all an wonderful place to stay
J & G

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjmanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have spent 4 days in mentioned hotel with my friend. We spend most of the time walking around in Natural Park with all wonderful caves. Location of this hotel is perfect for this purpose.

Room in hotel was clean and sufficient for part of our vacation. One thing was disturbing in the room, which was only one power pocket available, with laptop, tablet, two mobile phones and battery charger was difficult to keep all devices running. Internet connection was questionable quality, some devices were fine in whole room, some had problem with connectivity.

Hotel has two restaurants, first was serving breakfast and lunch and second was for dinner and bar. Most unfortunate thing in this hotel is that evening restaurant was smoking area. You cannot have your dinner without being disturbed with smokers. Only option is to have dinner outside of this restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanKosatko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Physeter_catodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank AlexandraMakkoveeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blansko
1.8 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 5 in Blansko
26 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Hotel Macocha
Holiday Hotel Macocha
#3 of 5 in Blansko
5 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Sladovna
Hotel Sladovna
#1 of 1 in Cerna Hora
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#20 of 56 in Brno
37 reviews
2.5 mi away
Statek Samsara
Statek Samsara
#1 of 14 in Blansko
26 reviews
2.9 mi away
Penzion U Golema
Penzion U Golema
#5 of 14 in Blansko
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skalni Mlyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skalni Mlyn

Address: Skalni mlyn 96, Blansko 678 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Blansko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Blansko
Price Range: $58 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skalni Mlyn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Skalni Mlyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing