We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cocoliso Island Resort
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Cocoliso was recommended as a good beach break for a couple of nights by staff at our hotel in Cartagena's old city. Once we got there, we couldn't figure out why. For the price, the rooms and grounds of the hotel could use a complete overhaul. Everything is probably 25 years old and worn. The beach is basically nonexistent, with a few lounge chairs propped up on a concrete wall. The pool is ok, but nothing special. The room, though clean, reeked of bleach. The linens were scratchy, the furniture falling apart, there was no hot water and the power cut out intermittently. For nearly $300 per night, the quality was very poor. It's supposedly all-inclusive, but they charge additional high prices for drinks - even bottled water. To charge $4000 cop for water at an all-inclusive in a place where the tap is unsafe and there's no other source of drinkable water is a scam. Once you're on the island, you're stuck there until 3pm the next day with no beach, a gross room, expensive drinks and nothing to do.

All that said, the staff was wonderful. We almost felt bad to leave after one night because we didn't want to hurt anyone's feelings. From the front desk to the restaurant staff to the housekeepers, the service was friendly, warm, and accommodating. It's just a shame they have such wonderful people at such an overpriced, awful facility.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    98
    61
    22
    41
See reviews for
84
139
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

I ended up at Cocoliso Resort with my friend after a tour of Colombia. We were very tired after sleeping in tents and shelters, we needed some resort-like couple of days. We decided to stay at the Cocoliso and we were not let down. Although we were the only 2 guests sleeping there (august is a low season period in Colombia), staff looked after us perfectly making sure that nothing was missing. This resort is on an island as part of the Islas del Rosario. Every comment on sea and beach are useless...just paradise. The hotel is very good, the room was huge and with every comfort. Food is nice and the chef let us decide what he should cook. We could have beers and cocktails at anytime. Simply great, I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

We went to this hotel basically after finding over the interne that this was the most advertised and price accessible hotel in Las Islas del Rosario.

It is a big complex in comparison with the other hotels on the islands.

It is not a 5 star hotel but will do the job for a night or two max!

There is no beach at the hotel; instead you will find a nice pool and amazing sea pool, worth the try.

In the hotel they offer mini diving course which are amazing, recommended!

Food is also really good.

We paid 550.000 COP for two for one night; it included transportation and all meals.

The rooms are kind of old but are ok for sleeping.

In order to get there you have to get at 8am to the port and you will return the next day at 3pm if you stay.

Overall it is good for a night, worth for its cost

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie7fR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

Really felt ripped off and like in prison. Don't believe the nice pictures from the brochures even photoshop would not explain the difference...no beach, dirty swimming pool. We didn't dare to try the lunch and decided instead to quickly runaway from this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ermauroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Islas de Rosario hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

Took the boat from busy cartegena and went to cocoliso for a day trip. Loved the slow vibe and laid nature of the complex compared with the hustle of boca grande. Not a modern resort, more a charming love boat feel. Will certainly be going back but next time for several nights. Food was fresh and authentic. I'd recommend the cocoloco cocktail - delicious!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_B_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2009

I have traveled to Colombia many times to visit family. This time I went with my sister and a friend to explore. We LOVED Cocoliso. We went based on the recommendation of the owner of the hostel we stayed at in Cartagena, Hostal Leonella in Bocagrande. Great advice. We stayed overnight; paid 230.000 pesos incl tax. What a bargain! The speed boat that took us there was fast, clean and safe. When we arrived at the resort approx 1 hour later, it was like stepping onto Fantasy Island. Our host Manual waited on the dock for us. We went during low-season so we were one of two groups staying for the night. There were many others staying for the day only. It was great because we got personalized service. The room was clean and ample. My only complaint was there was barely any water pressure to shower with but we managaed. It was only for one night. We got a free welcome drink...so delicious. The grounds were beautiful and so much to explore. We negiotated a speed boat tour of the islands during sunset. We paid 80,000 pesos for 90-minutes with locals. Fabulous views. We got some great pictures. Dinner was EXCELLENT! I am not particularly a fish eater but Manuel had a parmesan-encrusted fish made for us that evening with coconut rice and fresh vegetables that was literally the best meal I've ever had! I'm from New York and I've eaten in some pretty good places but I will never forget that meal. Mmmm. Later that evening we hung out at the lagoon then in the small but comfy beach. The next day my sister went snorkeling and enjoyed it with Davey, the instructor. Maria and I went on a canoe ride through the mangroves then we walked over a mile back through natives villages. We saw the local women making purses out of snack food wrappers. It was so crafty. Of course, we bought some for way cheaper than what they're sold for on the internet or in stores! We just loved our stay and were so sad to leave that afternoon. We plan on going back but never during the busy tourist season. We want the island all to ourselves! Manuel is definately the best host ever! My pictures can be seen on FaceBook and I'd be glad to give more advice on where to go to in Cartagena, as we did so many other things!
You can find me on FB: Rose Serrano Amberstone

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosierules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton in Cartagena (beautiful and very clean) but booked a day trip to the Rosario Islands to Coco Liso resort. We were so disapointed. We took a boat from the main port in Cartagena at 8 am, the ride was fine. A little cramped but ok. It took an hour. We didn´t cruise around the islands at all so we didn´t get to see much of them. We pulled up to a junky dock and were instructed we would be served lunch at 1 and leave the island at 3. It felt like prison. After renting grossly expensive and very poorly constructed towels,we went down to the very tiny beach which was so infested with bugs we couldnt enjoy ourselves. We went into the water via some very rickety ladders. Everything was old and in need of repair. Vendors hasseled us there though we werwer told it was private and that wouldn´t happen. We headed toward the pool hoping to escape the bugs. The pool was so dirty you could barely see thru the water. It featured an old shoddy slide like the kind my granparents had in their pool in 1970. The lunch was cafateria food and we dared not eat it for fear of becoming sick on the boat on the way back. I didn´t actually see a room, but judging from the grounds they coulnd´t possibly be nice. We just sat in hammocks trying to sleep until our time to leave. We felt really ripped off (80,000 pesos each)and wished we would have never left our nice Hilton.

  • Liked — the ginger ale i drank
  • Disliked — Old, junky grounds
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KellymarieChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islas de Rosario
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Pedro de Majagua
Hotel San Pedro de Majagua
#1 of 1 in Isla Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#17 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#31 of 149 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Sport Baru
Hotel Sport Baru
#2 of 4 in Isla Baru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
18.9 mi away
Hotel Caribe
Hotel Caribe
#29 of 149 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coralina Island
Coralina Island
#1 of 4 in Islas de Rosario
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoliso Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoliso Island Resort

Property: Cocoliso Island Resort
Address: Bocogrande Cra 1 #4-18 Ed. Maray L-1, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Islas de Rosario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Islas de Rosario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocoliso Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Islas del Rosario, a 1-hour boat ride from Cartagena, Hotel Cocoliso features a restaurant, bar, an outdoor pool and private beach area. The resort offers panoramic sea views and free Wi-Fi in public areas. Providing a tranquil environment, the suites in Hotel Cocoliso Resort feature private bathrooms, cable TVs, air conditioning, minibars, and balconies with garden views. Guests can order regional and international dishes at the restaurant or book massage sessions. Water sport activities can be arranged in the area. Room service is available and laundry services can be requested. Hotel Cocoliso Resort is a 20-minute boat ride from Baru Island and 45 km from Rafael Nunez International Airport. Room type: Junior Suite This suite features a private bathroom, cable TV, air conditioning, minibar, and a balcony with garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Cocoliso Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoliso Hotel Islas De Rosario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing