We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spent as much time out of hotel and area as we could HORRIBLE”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
bury st edmuds
1 review
“spent as much time out of hotel and area as we could HORRIBLE”
Reviewed June 27, 2010

would no way recomend this hotel, room was so hot window opened a few inches onto a wall ,mould round bath,poor lighting,holes in walls,pipes coming out of floors,found toothbrush behind bed so not been cleaned,remote control for television was held together with selotape did'nt work,paintwork distgusting.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryhedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    25
    37
    30
    32
See reviews for
16
30
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Rooms are small but clean. The entrance from the main road is not clean . Breakfast given is ok for the money we pay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarath62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

The hotel is clean and the staff is very polite. The location is very bad. In the night it seems to be very dangerous, it is near the train station (Bruxelles Midi). The room is small but clean.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mihai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Having missed my train and fast approaching mid-night I had to find a hotel in hurry and ended up staying here since it was one of the first ones I came across. The price sounded reasonable (€55), but on reflection this was way over priced. The receptionist was pleasant and spoke English, but the hallways were samll dark and dingy. The room was clean, but sparse. The bed sheets were singed by cigarettes, the curatins had holes in them and the sheets were marked, although clean. The room was cold. The bathroom (en-suite) was terrible. The toilet seat was broken and the bathwares were heavily stained and old. The Shower was a handset attached to the bathtaps and was obvioulsy very old. At least there were clean towels and soap, which was the highlight of the accomodation. I would strongly not recommend anyone, no matter the circumstances or budget, to stay here. The area looked dodgy although I had no trouble.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint-Gilles hotels

Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

This is the worst hotel I have EVER been to. Do NOT stay here! It was dirty, dingy, and quite frankly, dangerous - we felt uncomfortable from the moment we arrived. The hallways are dark, narrow and dimly lit. There was no lock on the door, and when we went down to the front desk to ask to move rooms because of it, the receptionist didn't want to let us. The bathroom was dirty too - someone's hairs were still in the shower! We refused to stay there because it was dirty and unsafe, but the receptionist demanded payment because we hadn't canceled ahead, and started yelling at us. The hotel is also located in a very dodgy area of town. I would NOT recommend this hotel at all!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Very good location and price. Clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniBulgaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

This is not a two star hotel but maybe an half a star.
When we did the check-in nobody speak a word of english but we did manage with our little french.
The elevator was very small, if you carry a big case it didn't fit for 2 persons.
The room was very small too with no closet and surprise... no toillete!! Yes, the toillete was on the corridor!!
The price for a double room was 180€ without breakfast due to an international fair in Bruxelles.
Don't go to this hotel. It's very expensive for the location and quality, even with normal price which is about 80€.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlospt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.0 mi away
Hotel Midi-Zuid
Hotel Midi-Zuid
#20 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
0.4 mi away
Van Belle Hotel
Van Belle Hotel
#5 of 6 in Anderlecht
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Floris Ustel Midi
Floris Ustel Midi
#2 of 6 in Anderlecht
936 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: Boulevard Jamar 21-23 | Sint-Gillis, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De France Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing