We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Individual hotel”
Review of Hotel Neufchatel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Neufchatel
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

This is a superbly designed boutique hotel. I've stayed here a couple of times and it is a little out of the way as I need to make my way to the EU quarter which is about a 50 minute walk a tram/metro ride. However it makes a nice change. The attention detail is charming, e.g. the monogrammed plates and cutlery. One time I had the basement room which opened into a charming garden. The cold breakfast is really good. If booked through a work travel agency it's worth checking that they have drawn the payment as both times they hadn't which meant that it was a bit if a faff checking out. Otherwise this is a good place to and there's loads of good restaurants nearby around St Trinite church and the surrounding streets.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank johnnybowman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 281 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Typical example of fake design/boutique hotel. Good to stay for a short city trip, but not for business travellers. Rooms are small, no chair to sit, bathroom way to basic and small. Neither facilities nor aminities. Front desk staff / owner not very friendly. Way overpriced. Not close to center at all, no parking. Do not recommend this hotel to expirienced travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is modern and in a nice area of town. Difficult to park at night. The room was very small but modern and clear. Towels are cheap and thin. Breakfast was good and there is a nice view on an inner garden. You cannot sit in that garden though. We booked the hotel on 16/1/14 for a stay on 26/2 and 27/2, we paid ���327 for 2 nights. When we went back on booking.com to check if there was a gym 2 days before our stay price was ���195 for 2 nights. The owner refused to do anything about it on the first night. It is only another member of staff who gave us ���100 off at departure. We leave with a feeling of having been overcharged.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
5  Thank Frederiminvielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Gérant at Hotel Neufchatel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your message. First of all, we would like to tell you that is was a real pleasure to welcome you. We always do our best to make our guests fell comfortable and we hope it was the case for you.

For your information, the garden is closed now because it is winter time and it is a bit freezing outside.

About the price you found on Internet, we think it could be interesting to give you more information about the model used by the hospitality sector around the world.

Just as it is the case for flight tickets, train tickets, all-in trips, the hospitality sector has you use flexible rates to maximize the occupancy of the hotels.

- When a plane is gone, you can not sell the tickets for this flight anymore so you have to apply last minute rates.
- When the date of a food product is close to the expire date, you have to apply a discount to sell it.
- When you sell clothes or shoes, at the end of each season, you have to apply a discount to empty your stock.
- LaFourchette.com allows people in France to have dinner for up to 50% discount everyday because they need to maximize the occupancy of their restaurant.

There are plenty of examples and, depending on the product, you have different expire dates but as soon as this date is close, you have to apply last-minute rates. If you book/buy early, you are sure to have exactly what you want. If you wait to the last day or last minute, you take the risk to not have what you are looking for.

Having the feeling to have been overcharged could be understood but it is clearly a wrong idea to think that rates are fixed. In MANY sectors, variable rates (yield management) are applied everyday.

We tried to explain you all this during the check-out but unfortunately you just wanted to complain and were not open to any communication. By analyzing your TripAdvisor profile, we can objectively notice that 30% of your experience is "horrible" so I guess that complaining is maybe a hobby for you.

We give everyday our hearts and souls to see smiles on the faces of our guests. Even if your review is not fair, it will be a huge pleasure for us to welcome you again. Just send us an email and we will offer you our best rate.

Kind regards,

David Brainis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel was actually fine. Nice place, clean, not too expensive. I however was drawn there by the extremely high User ratings. People had a good experience and thus they give it a ten / five stars / awesome rating. It is not a "ten" it is not, "awesome", it is not a "five star" hotel. It has no pool, jacuzzi, business center, waffle/omelet chef, fresh flowers, strawberry lychee puree at breakfast. It is just a small efficient, clean hotel. The size of everything is Lilliputian - My room was very small, If you have long legs you either sit on the toilet with the door open or brush your teeth at the same time. The breakfast area which is actually in the entrance is small and at 8:00 you will have to sit with someone at your table (well not so bad unless you're an orc like me). The location is not in the hub of brussels but outside fifteen minutes walk from the Louise Metro (ah take an umbrella). The owner? / man behind the desk is not exactly "friendly" which is OK if you're an orc like me.
The Breakfast has nothing warm, and although it is not bad at all, it is not "excellent" (especially if you are an Orc like me that needs a piece of toast to wake up).
Yes it is cleanly, and the comforter on the bed is cozy. I guess it is just the extremely overpriced undervalued, prepaid cold reception of most of the other hotels that lead people to say "awesome" when in fact they meant "I didn't have a bad experience or get ripped off" like often is the case in Brussels.

Room Tip: If you find this hotel for less than 70 euros, stay there. Otherwise think of something more central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Richardlloydstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights during Christmas. The place is warm and cosy, which was very appreciated considering the cold weather.
The room was spotless clean and the matress was of very good quality, even if it was actually 2 single beds put together. We couldn't hear any noise at night.
All the equipment is brand new, with a good flat screen TV with all international channels.
The bathroom was small but very convenient, though It would have been good to have a little shelf at least to put our toiletries.
We came across different people at the reception; all were very helpful and warm and could speak as good English as French.
The best thing about this hotel is the breakfast: unlimited buffet with a great coffee machine, little pastries, cereals, fruits, toasts, ham, etc. Such a pleasure to wake up and be treated like that.
The hotel is not close to the old city center but the access is easy by tram, cab or even with the public bicycles.
I definitely recommend this hotel and would return if I have the opportunity.

Room Tip: We had room number 24. It has a view on a little garden and a lot of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petedundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Very convenient and good value. Bed was only single, thus very narrow, so not recommended for US travelers. Generous breakfast buffet with good coffee machine. Not much around, as it is residential area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. The room was nice and the service impeccable. The hotel is situated on a narrow street but it is easy to reach and just a short walk from livelier areas. If you like small hotel away from tourist crowds, Neufchatel is a good choice. Clean and quiet. Noisy neighbours might be a problem and during a hot summer would head for a ventilated hotel. But in November just fine!

Room Tip: My room was OK, but small. It had a balcony with views - best in spring time, I would assume.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.3 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,072 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jam Hotel Brussels
Jam Hotel Brussels
#11 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Leopold Brussels
1 mi away
Hotel de Fierlant
Hotel de Fierlant
#1 of 1 in Vorst
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vintage Hotel Brussels
Vintage Hotel Brussels
#1 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neufchatel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neufchatel

Address: 34 Rue de Neufchatel, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Gilles
#8 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles
Price Range: $82 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Neufchatel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated, The Neufchatel Hotel welcomes you again in an elegant, cosy and surprising atmosphere created by the famous interior designer, Manuel Vraux de S. Laranjeiro.Experience the comfort and warmth of our unique 20 rooms equipped with high quality and design furniture, free highspeed WIFI, interactive LED TV and rain shower. Buffet breakfast and business services such as printing and scanning are also free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Neufchatel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neufchatel Hotel Brussels
Hotel Neufchatel Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing