We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!”
Review of La fringale

La fringale
Reserve with
La fringale is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 83 Restaurants in Saint-Gilles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I had pizza. It was really good. Service good too. Prices reasonable. We were here with group of 8 and service worked.

Helpful?
Thank Pasi P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    43
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy and comforting”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Cosy restaurant, seated very close to other guests which we don't normally like, but in this place it just seemed to add to the experience. Staff very attentive - warmed breads and olives as soon as we were seated and then more breads brought soon after we ordered; wine topped up for us; quick clear-always and next course brought etc. Menu in French - manager able to explain items to us in English when needed. We shared 'cheese croquettes' to start, followed by 'gnocchi aux quattro fromages' and 'aubergine parmigiana' for mains. Very cheesy (a bit 'samey' after a while, but not bland) and if I were to go back a second time (and hadn't had pizza the night before) i would try their wood-fired oven cooked pizzas! Overall, a pleasing experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good fresh Italian food”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed very near this restaurant so it was convenient as we were tired the evening we visited it. The food was tasty with the pizza made fresh right in front of us. The restaurant was quiet and the atmosphere would have been improved with some music. Staff were almost over attentive because there weren't many diners in. Overall, warm, cosy and good food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norfolkteacher2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really good (if atypical) aubergine parmigiana”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I had a really fantastic aubergine parmigiana at this restaurant, which is one of my favorite dishes (and never to be confused with eggplant Parmesan, the breaded dish). It was most definitely a Belgian take on the dish, with different cheese(s)than I've had before when ordering this in other Italian restaurants, but whatever they use, it was delicious - hot, gooey, perfect! One of the best meals I had in my 10 days in Belgium and Amsterdam. The pizzas others around me ordered looked perfect too!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E_from_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where I feel at home in Brussels”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Rocco, the owner, is a true professional!
homely feeling, extra care and attention to detail.
Very wide menu and you would not believe how nice are the traditional Belg mussels they serve considering it is an italian restaurant! Good pizza cooked in a traditional wood oven, homemade warm bread with tarallucci to accompany your meal, excellent crepe suzette he makes a la minute with ice cream & seasonal fruit.
Also, sometimes mid week he gets extra fresh products from italy.
Indeed i am a regular, always a pleasure to pay him a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VMB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La fringale also viewed

Saint-Gilles, Brussels
Saint-Gilles, Brussels
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to La fringale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing