We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Outstanding staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Manos Stephanie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Manos Stephanie
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Outstanding staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was our second stay at the Manos Stephanie, we had been here 15 years ago, and absolutely loved it. So when we planned a second trip to Brussels, we knew where we wanted to stay. The Manos Stephanie is primarily a business hotel, so our room was 180€ on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday night, but only 110€ on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. That includes an amazing buffet breakfast - more on that later. That meant even with the current exchange rate, we were paying about $200 a night- an amazing value for a hotel in a lovely section of the city, walking distance to many attractions, 2 blocks to the Metro stop, and 1 block from the tram.
Our arrival was in the morning, after an overnight flight, way before check-in time. The gentleman at the desk quickly took our suitcases, welcomed us warmly, and apologized for not having a room right away. He said it would be just a half hour before he could have our room, and suggested either going for coffee, or having breakfast at the hotel. We went for a walk, and when we returned, our room was ready.
Our room was delightful, almost exactly, as it had been 15 years before. It was large with a queen size bed, desk and chair, 2 chairs and a table as well as a minibar that actually had a little extra room for our own purchases. The available items were good, and reasonably priced for a hotel minibar. The carpeting and upholstery was fresh and very attractive. The room was well lit and had 2 sinks outside of the bath with lots of shelves and closet space. It was easy to store our luggage. The bath was marble with a tub, but needed a little refurbishing. The marble was beautiful, but the grout and caulking was very tired looking, and the lever that directed the water to the shower head was quirky- would not always work well. The towels were excellent. The heating/ air-conditioning system worked well, and we had a lovely view out our window at the back of the hotel.
The buffet breakfast (which we remembered fondly from our previous stay) was served from 7am to 10am on weekdays, and until 10:30 on weekends. It includes an amazing amount of items - eggs (scrambled or soft/hard boiled), sausage, bacon, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurt , rolls, croissants, sweet rolls, fresh fruit, bottled water, fresh fruit juice, cereal, doughnuts, waffles... And I probably missed a few. The server asks for your room number, and what kind of hot beverage you would like. Then he brings your little pot of coffee, tea... and warm milk to your table. The room is at the back of the lobby, with a very large skylight, very ample sitting, and is beautifully set with quality china and linen. The only problem is if you breakfast after 9, there might be no fresh fruit left, just the peels of melon, and pineapple to taunt you, and the bacon will be quite well- done. There might not be a choice of juice left. Even though the coffee was freshly made, it was not to our liking- but that could be personal taste.
We cannot say enough good things about the staff. They were all so helpful, spoke perfect English, and just could not have been any nicer. That was true of everyone we met during our 6 night stay. The free wifi worked perfectly, and was so nice to have. Unfortunately the computer downstairs is not hooked up to a printer, and we were not able to get our boarding passes printed despite the best effects of the staff.
As a side note, the 97 tram which is right outside your door, will drop you two blocks from Moder Lambic, (otherwise a 15 minute walk) which is a delightful Belgian beer bar - very well-rated. There are many good restaurants just a few steps away from the hotel, and lots, and lots, of wonderful shopping just down the street. Also down the block is a small supermarket, a bank, and a wonderful pastry shop.
As you can tell, we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryJane03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merav A, Manager at Hotel Manos Stephanie, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very thankful for receiving such a nice comment about our hotel.

We hope that you were happily satisfied with your stay, our staff strives to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve our standards of the hotel.
Your positive comment will be transmitted to the team.

Kind regards,

Merav Abergel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    107
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
21
93
15
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

very surprised with hotel as does not get many really good reviews. we stayed in sept for weekend and thought it really good but we did get excellent price of Euro 100 including breakfast - buffet. Not too far from old town, 15 minutes walk but there is a lift so makes it quite fast. Also restaurants within 10 minutes. Good value, worth considering. We has a large room with some views.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shamac777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merav A, Manager at Hotel Manos Stephanie, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
The whole team thanks you for such a nice comment.
Looking forward welcoming you in a near future.

Merav Abergel
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We received a really spacious room for 95 Euros per night, well maintained and clean. Its a 5 minute walk to the centre of the tourist must do's. Nice buffet breakfast included. It has a lovely little bar although its a bit more expensive than normal. Lovely dining area with a lovely hallway. I would stay here again...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveCamogli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merav A, Manager at Hotel Manos Stephanie, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

The Manos Stephanie team thank you very much for writing such a nice comment about our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you were happily satisfied with your stay, our staff strives to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve our standards of the hotel.

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next visit in Brussels.

Warmest Regards.

Merav Abergel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
649 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel has seen better days but offers very good value
Parking on premises,good wifi,spacious room ,free breakfast.
Location is conveniently close to the museums.Not that close to the Grand place however.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merav A, Assistant General Manager at Hotel Manos Stephanie, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear guest,

The Manos Stephanie team thank you very much for writing such a nice comment about our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you were happily satisfied with your stay, our staff strives to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve our standards of the hotel.

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next visit in Brussels.

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw
Level Contributor
268 reviews
268 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Reasonable location close to shopping streets and historical center. The room was good sized, clean and friendly. Comfortable bed, bath and shower room. Large screen TV. In-room cold drinks, toiletries and a hairdrier. All of the staff were really helpful and serviceminded. Breakfast is very good with lots of choice. Traffic noise intrusive on street facing rooms if window slightly open. No tea and coffee making facilities provided.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel_WRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merav A, Assistant General Manager at Hotel Manos Stephanie, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear guest,

The Manos Stephanie team thank you very much for writing such a nice comment about our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you were happily satisfied with your stay, our staff strives to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve our standards of the hotel.

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next visit in Brussels.

Warmest Regards.
Merav Abergel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Have been again in this smaller luxury Hotel decorated with many antique furniture and paintings. The suites have access to a terrace with teak furniture for each of the 3 suites.
The suite is a duplex with the living area on the ground and bed and bathroom on a mezzanine.
I like this Hotel near fashionable Avenue Louise and in walking distance to many restaurants and upscale shopping area.
Breakfast is good and served in a kind of conservatory which is also the Restaurant.
Reception staff is friendly and service oriented, the staff at breakfast however less nice and efficient.
Great service is the very well working free wifi in the entire Hotel.

Room Tip: Book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merav A, Assistant General Manager at Hotel Manos Stephanie, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear guest,

The Manos Stephanie team thank you very much for writing such a nice comment about our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you were happily satisfied with your stay, our staff strives to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve our standards of the hotel.

We will transmit the message to our Breakfast team.

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next visit in Brussels.

Warmest Regards.
Merav Abergel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed in the Manos Stéphanie July 2nd-5th 2012 attending a seminar at the European Commission (30 minute walk).Paid 150 euros( breakfast and city tax included) : corporate rate but you can actually do better on their website for some dates.
Very nice good sized room at the back; these are quieter than the front ones as there is a tram and a fair amount of traffic in front of the hotel. Good shower/bath setup with lots of hot water, AC worked well,good selection of TV channels including BBC World and very good wifi(free)in room.Breakfast buffet is very nice with smoked salmon and a good selection of cheeses and cold cuts along with the usual stuff.The excellent rating is the result of the quality of the staff who provided attentive service with respect to printing boarding passes, getting a taxi to pick me up not at the hotel but at the conference centre from where I had to leave for the airport the last day, and so on. Would gladly stay there again by myself or with my wife.
Hotel is seven minutes walk from Louise metro stop and three minutes walk from tram stops(92,94) that take you to the museums and the Grand Place( walk a bit)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter And ask them to arrange your transportation if you need an airpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancoistheEconomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merav A, Assistant General Manager at Hotel Manos Stephanie, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear guest,

The Manos Stephanie team thank you very much for writing such a nice comment about our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you were happily satisfied with your stay, our staff strives to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve our standards of the hotel.

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next visit in Brussels.

Warmest Regards.
Merav Abergel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.2 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 17 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Brussels Centre
Novotel Brussels Centre
#21 of 198 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 2,477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manos Premier Hotel
Manos Premier Hotel
#11 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Brussels Welcome Hotel
Brussels Welcome Hotel
#8 of 198 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
0.0 mi away
pentahotel Brussels City Centre
pentahotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#12 of 198 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 3,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manos Stephanie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manos Stephanie

Property: Hotel Manos Stephanie
Address: Chaussee de Charleroi 28 | Sint-Gillis, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Gilles
#4 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Manos Stephanie 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Manos Stephanie is ideally located in the heart of Brussels, just a few meters away from the most fashionable shopping and business districts such as the prestigious Place Stephanie and Avenue Louise. Our hotel is a reflection of Brussels' genuine hospitality. The lobby and corridors form a permanent exhibition of the most beautiful antiques. We provide enchanting rooms, decorated in Louis XVI style. To enhance your enjoyment, our marble bathrooms are fully-equipped with toilet requisites, a bath robe, a hair-dryer, a shower, a bathtub and a toilet. Other amenities include air-conditioning, a mini-bar, an individual safe, a radio-clock, a telephone, a desk, cable TV and a balcony in some rooms. The Manos Stephanie is committed to providing our guests with the highest standards of care and attention, something we would not be able to provide without our dedicated team of staff. Our restaurant is located in our other hotel, called Manos Premier Hotel, which is 200 m away. Our bar is on-site. We recommend you to visit the city in your free time. Here you can find a lot of tourist attractions and spend a very nice day getting to know better our culture, history and tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Manos Stephanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manos Stephanie Hotel
Hotel Manos Stephanie Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing