We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for 1 night in Brussels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Handy for 1 night in Brussels”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We selected this Ibis for cost factor and convenience for using the Eurostar. As per previous reviewers, the Ibis is literally a stones throw from the station. Its approximately a 10 minute walk to the Grand Place and we had no problems in walking there on both days we were in Brussels. This Ibis was clean and well presented with a huge comfy bed and a large room, we were very satisfied. No tea/coffee making facilities but not to worry, this was not a problem for us. The hotel and area was quiet at night and we got a fantastic nights sleep whilst we were here. The bar is particularly well staffed with a good range of Belgium beers and great service. Snacks and nuts provided complimentary when you order a drink, a nice touch. In essence, if you are going to Brussels and you don't mind a little bit of walking then I would recommend this hotel. I would not be put off by the reviews of high crime and undesirables at the station, we had no problems at all and we walked through a few districts complete with tourist map and had no issues. Ladies - there are a lot of cobbles in Brussels - take some flat comfy shoes/boots!

Room Tip: Fifth floor room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    944
    485
    107
    52
See reviews for
380
521
281
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Overnight stay. Arrived later in evening to a queue at reception, one person dealing with customers.

Room was OK. Free WiFi...hooray! For something like £110 per night, I should think it free.

Room very quiet, nice comfortable beds and lovely and warm.

Shower had no soap in dispenser, so had to step out and take from sink! One paper cup looked used as it had a dribble running down it.

Didn't have any food during this one night stay. I don't recall any tea/coffee facilities in room, but then I was not looking for them.

Very handy for train station and buses etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amia_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our room was much larger and more comfortable than in any ibis I have previously used. The hotel is very conveniently located for train, team and metro.
My only complaint was about the incredibly slow service in the bar/ restaurant. Staff were far from busy but ignored us: one staff member stood ignoring us for a fully twenty minutes: I honestly thought he had fallen asleep as he was not moving much.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viideokilledme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here this weekend with a large group of friends on a stag Doo.
Location is great and service in the hotel reception and bar was good also.

Rooms were big enough and clean, overall very comfortable and cleaned on the second day to good standard.

Although the location is very good, jut a 2 minute walk from the main station and Eurostar , the immediate area of the hotel is not the safest place, there's a gang on the corner linked to the coffee shop who stand there all day and night, looking suspicious and not friendly.

If not in a group I'd recommend getting a taxi in to town, but convenience wise the hotel is good

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

It wa a disappointing stay. On arrival it looked much better than the ibis uk branches.

The room was fine and the location Smwas as expected. Service upon check in was good but it went very down hill from there.

You need a separate access card to Ho to the bar bathroom and the bar staff themselves are very recalcitrant in providing it.

Overall I felt like a tolerant visitor rather than a guest and I would not recommend this hotel unless you plan on avoiding everything except your room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulRickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint-Gilles hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Brussels Midi
0.7 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#5 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,006 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brussels Midi Station
Novotel Brussels Midi Station
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
679 reviews
1.1 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi

Property: Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
Address: Rue d'Angleterre 2/20 | Sint-Gillis, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi hotel is located just a few steps from the south entry to the railway station, from which international trains such as the Thalys and Eurostar depart. The famous Grand Place and Notre Dame Du Sablon church are 2 km from the hotel. Book one of our 225 spacious air conditioned rooms and benefit from our amenities, a restaurant, a bar with snacks available 24hrs, pay parking and a meeting room for conferences. Business guests will appreciate use of WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi Hotel Saint-Gilles
Accor Brussels Centre Gare Midi
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing