We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice self catering hotel/apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very nice self catering hotel/apartment”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed there for a week, mixture of a conference trip and a weekend with the OH, found the reception staff polite and helpful and the room was comfy and clean. No complaints about the bed/kitchen area or bathroom really other than a slightly strange noise which came from the shower while you were using it. TV even had a few channels in english (CNN and BBC) which was nice. Location wise it's about 20 mins walk from Brussels central station although it's easy enough to get around on the metro (and there's a stop basically next to the hotel). Few shops and restaurants just outside the hotel including a supermarket just around the corner which is handy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_Mint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    161
    75
    25
    12
See reviews for
72
98
27
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

In Brussels for a business trip planned late and with my "priority" hotels booked out, the citadines Toison d'Or offered the most convenient alternative, in particular being placed 50 meters from an underground stating ("Louise") connecting directly to the Souther station and at (slightly long, 1.2 kms) walking distance from the European Commission district.
The hotel itself is nothing special, offering self caterig (with a kitchen) mini-apartment relatively small, but complete. The room is cleaned and towels replaced once a week (more, paying an extra) which is ok if you stay one or two nights. Wifi (not exceptionally fast, but I've seen much worse) included, breakfast on the expensive side (but inside the underground station there are plenty of options). Quiet during the night.
For Brussels, it's on the cheap side of the price range..
All in all, a good backup option.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guido C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spangdahlem, Germany
Level Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Our family of four (sons ages 5 and 3) stayed in one of the apartments and were very pleased. The suite was large, and though minimally furnished with dated furniture, everything was clean and comfortable, including the queen-sized bed and pull-out couch. The walls are a bit thin, but we requested and received a quiet room in a quiet area of the hotel. The commode was in a room separate from the shower and sink, which I appreciated, and the kitchenette included a microwave, two hot plates, a fridge, a sink, a dishwasher (!), and dishes, glasses, and pots & pans. Since the kitchen was so well-equipped, we were able to bring our own breakfast foods and skip the €14pp breakfast. Underground parking is available for €17 per day, but be warned - if you have a wide car, you may have difficulty navigating the narrow turn into the lower level. The hotel is right next to the Louise metro stop, as well as the Louise stop for buses and trams (including the city sightseeing bus), which is wonderfully convenient. The staff were competent, and although they weren't rude, they weren't particularly friendly either. Overall, this is a solid 3-star option, and the apartment layout makes it ideal for families. I would imagine the smaller rooms would be more than adequate for individuals and couples as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcmcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spangdahlem, Germany
Level Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Our family of four (sons ages 5 and 3) stayed in one of the apartments and were very pleased. The suite was large, and though minimally furnished with dated furniture, everything was clean and comfortable, including the queen-sized bed and pull-out couch. The walls are a bit thin, but we requested and received a quiet room in a quiet area of the hotel. The commode was in a room separate from the shower and sink, which I appreciated, and the kitchenette included a microwave, two hot plates, a fridge, a sink, a dishwasher (!), and dishes, glasses, and pots & pans. Since the kitchen was so well-equipped, we were able to bring our own breakfast foods and skip the €14pp breakfast. Underground parking is available for €17 per day, but be warned - if you have a wide car, you may have difficulty navigating the narrow turn into the lower level. The hotel is right next to the Louise metro stop, as well as the Louise stop for buses and trams (including the city sightseeing bus), which is wonderfully convenient. The staff were competent, and although they weren't rude, they weren't particularly friendly either. Overall, this is a solid 3-star option, and the apartment layout makes it ideal for families. I would imagine the smaller rooms would be more than adequate for individuals and couples as well.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lcmcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Next door to Louise Metro Station close to bars and shops. The Hotel could do with additional desk staff for check in, but maybe I was just unlucky arriving just behind a party of Spanish children. The room itself was clean and tidy, although the bathroom has seen better days. I was able to walk from the hotel to the business area with the use of a map supplied by the hotel. I did not eat there as it was easy to walk out the hotel for breakfast and use a local cafe.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkBReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Noisy, dirty, old style, price DOES NOT correspond to the quality!
Request of the guests - ignored.

I will never stay at this hotel again and next time this about different hotel chain...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Irina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I have stayed in the hotel on a business trip and enjoyed it immensely. Location is perfect - close to metro, so you can easily go to any part of the city. It might be a bit noisy if your windows look over the avenue, but mine were looking over the side street, so it was ok ;) The room amenities were perfect - a little kitchenette with everything you need and even a dishwasher, a flat-screen TV with USB port, which was a pleasant surprise, WiFi transmitter in every room so the quality of connection was absolutely wonderful. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean... In short - c'etait parfait :) No critical remarks towards the staff - everyone was helpful and nice. You can borrow umbrellas and shopping trolleys from the hotel :) And the room rate was better than I expected. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: There is a small supermarket (Delhaize) around the corner, open from 8 to 8, in case you need someth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruzhania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.2 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#5 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,006 reviews
1.3 mi away
Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels
0.4 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels Stephanie
NH Brussels Stephanie
#2 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vintage Hotel Brussels
Vintage Hotel Brussels
#1 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel

Property: Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel
Address: Avenue de la Toison d'Or 61-63, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Toison d'or Brussels is located near the Jardin d'Egmont and the Avenue Louise which is lined with world-class shops. You will love Brussels for its numerous museums (Brueghel Museum as well as the Ancient and Modern Art, just to name 2) and its splendid architecture. This native land of Tintin also boasts of a wide range of gastronomic delights. Located south of the capital, just two steps away from the Justice Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Toison D'Or Hotel Brussels, Belgium
Citadines Toison d Or Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing