We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family owned hotel, friendly but not five star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manos Premier Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Certificate of Excellence
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Family owned hotel, friendly but not five star”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I stayed at the hotel while on a training course. My company regularly uses the hotel, not least of all because of the conference centre across the road from the hotel.

The hotel is an old building and furnished in a traditonal, classic French style. The staff are friendly and helpful, speaking good English and French.

The first night I stayed in Room 71. This is a double room at the front of the hotel. It comes with a full length bath, which is unusual for many hotels. All the furnishings and fixtures are beginning to look a bit tired, but not unacceptable. Good feature in all the rooms is the iPod alarm clock radio, allowing you to play your own music, Unusually this hotel doesn't have duvets but instead uses sheets and blankets. The television in this room (and my next room) were temperamential. Only if you turned them on at the set and not by the remote control did you get a picture. You got sound only if you turned it on by the remote.

The reason I had to change rooms is that the noise of the cars, and particularly the trams, went on late at night and started early in the mroning. If you choose to stay at this hotel request a room at the back. The noise was a particular issue as it was warm, the air conditioning was not efficient so I had to open the window. In room 50 there is one window which is below eyeline and whilst quite wide very narrow, so the room is not particularly light.

The room I was moved to was room 50. This is a duplex with only a shower, not a bath, and a very narrow spiral staircase leading up to the bedroom. It is not appropriate for anyone who is carrying any excess weight, is infirm or for young children. The room can also been seen into by drinkers in the beer garden. However it was a lot quieter and the quality of sleep from the comfort of the bed, the temperature of the room and the light was good.

The hotel has a nice, bright dining room with a skylight over the length of it. The furniture is, again, in the classic French style. Breakfast is the usual fare, though everyday the bacon was cooked until black. I guess the chef has never eaten bacon.

Lunches and dinner were all of a high standard and the wines were good. Service was poltie, friendly and helpful.

There is a good bar and seating outside for eating and drinking. Bit of a cardinal sin in Belgium the Belgian beer was not served in the right glasses, but fine if you didn't know!

Overall a good hotel, but not a great one.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    87
    38
    15
    11
See reviews for
28
132
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Let me pre-empt this review with our previous hotel situation... an absolutely revolting 2-star hotel in Paris (we had no choices other than to stay there since it was a biz trip and the 3rd district was sold out). We saw the Turkish spa pictures on line and made a bee-line for some well-deserved pampering.

From the moment we walked in we were so very thankful for exploring another country. The staff is impeccable and the manager Jon is 1st class!!!! They go above and beyond for you as a guest and it was so refreshing after our Paris experience. We are a semi-mature couple (early 40's) who prefer nicer hotels and while this one had "Old World Charm" we still very much enjoyed our stay. As noted in some other reviews, a few pieces of furniture was a bit withered, but that is the charm and hardly affected our stay one bit. The executive suite is worth the extra money, as is the beautiful Turkish spa.

And let me expand on the spa: menthol steam room, sauna, hot tub (lukewarm and the chlorine was intoxicating once the jets were activated... but I was told by the masseuse the intense chlorine smell is not normal, perhaps chemicals were just added). We decided to stay and dine at the hotel and the food was fabulous - the asparagus cappuccino was most memorable! I was sad to see that the restaurant was lacking patrons because the food and service were both wonderful. If you are a champagne drinker, the Chaudron Brut Grande Reserve is magnifique and just 12 euro.

The breakfast (which came with our room) was a bonus with an amazing array of tasty breakfast items. Very impressive. However, I would recommend covering the enormous fruit bowls after noticing a mosquito in my fruit liquid (he seemed very pleased).

We were grateful for the noon check in time and 2p check out time. I recommend inquiring with the front desk about the late 2p check out when you check in. Leaving at 2p afforded us the time to relax in the spa post-massage. Our experience was A+ and we would come back to Brussels to stay at Manos Premier and definitely book a chocolate tour (Neuhaus is the best). Should I open a hotel in the future, Jon would be the best candidate for the manager position. Thank you for a fabulous stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onedivainatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Went there on a romantic weekend. The location was not great - however the hotel was, though a little quirky, a very special. I would recommend it to who is ready to make some small concessions on "perfection" to stay in a more personal place.

We booked a very suite that was filled with antiques, as is the rest of the hotel. The breakfast room was very nice as was the breakfast. Last but not least, the spa was amazing - would go back to the Manos Premier just for that!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Stayed here for a weekend with wife and infant. Location was not great, not terrible, about a ten minute walk to the high end shops, and more like 20-25 mins to the city center. Room was good value and nice size, but curiously lacking in amenities (ie. no kettle so had to call the front desk at all hours to make the baby bottle.) And no elevator to the room, which was a slight inconvenience with luggage (and had to leave the pram in the lobby.) The public spaces are very nice - breakfast is great, the bar is cool, nice spa - and the service was friendly. But all round, not exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedgie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Superfast check-in - just got the key and wi-fi acces code, room is somehow like staying at your granny´s, but charming and calm. Perfect breakfast, plenty of food to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PragueJirka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2009

The staff are charming and the entrance hall is glitzy. It goes downhill from there. This hotel is of the type we used patronisingly to describe as East European - save that Eastern Europe has now vaulted past.

For example, in no particular order:

-The room was cold and the temperature control unresponsive

- Of 6 bulbs on the chandelier, only 4 were working

- Lavatory roll in holder 2/3 used

- No wi-fi connectivity and no help available

- Our reservation was lost

- 1.5 metre (4'6") double bed

- Cigarette end in scruffy window box on balcony

- Freezing restaurant for breakfast on the Monday (it had been closed on Sunday)

We had the weekend deal (€150 incidentally) but I would have been incandescent at the standard rate of €315)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RagsOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

Very elegant hotel with wonderful service. A true gem in Brussels.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marcopolowow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.6 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#14 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,478 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Be Manos, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
#22 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manos Premier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manos Premier Hotel

Property: Manos Premier Hotel
Address: Chaussee de Charleroi, 100-106 | Sint-Gillis, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Gilles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Gilles
#9 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manos Premier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Manos Premier,a long standing Brussels establishement with luxurious guestrooms and suites,function rooms, spa, fine dining restaurant and one of the top location in Brussels This Brussels luxury hotel has enchanted its guest for over 30 years impressing discerning travellers with a selection of accommodation options: including grand apartment suites, luxurious one bedroom suites, stylish rooms. Our gourmet restaurant provides the finest cuisine and wines in an elegant dining environment As a guest, you too will be delighted by this charming classic boutique hotel and the many pleasures it provides. Our service is second to none, and our staff and concierge team ensure your every need is met. All to ensure you receive one of the best hospitality experiences in Brussels. Our location is just off fashionable Avenue Louise and in walking distance from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Manos Premier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manos Premier Brussels
Hotel Manos Premier
Manos Premier Hotel Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing