We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect on all counts”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Gilles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suite Home Stephanie
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Provence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Almost perfect on all counts”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We booked this place thanks to the reviews on TripAdvisor and did not regret it. It was a little difficult to find thd key when we first arrived as either it was not explained on the instruction sheet we printed before our departure or the info ws missing. However a quick phone call solved the problem. I must add that if we hadn't had our mobile we would have had a problem. It is important to keep the print out with you as there will be code you will have to pin in and this could change during your stay.
The location was perfect for us as we were only 10 minutes on foot away from our daughter. Otherwise the tram was a minute or so walking dista ve from the appartment.
The suite we were allocated was lovely, modern minimalist furniture , a small but functional kitchen area.
The bedroom communicates with the bathroom and the toilet has two doors so is accessible from the living area s well as thd bedroom.
The only things which could be improved are the pillows which were not very comfortable. Personally Ihave a preference for parquet rather than carpet. Finally bring your own shower gel becsuse only one bar of soap was provided. There was no soap in the toilet which is not very hygenic.I suppose this was intentional because the tap didn't work anyway

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PELISSANNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    33
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
29
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This place was a very pleasant apartment to stay in. Upon arriving at the door, we regretted immediately that we weren't staying longger! :)
We stayed in the suite and it's a studio apartment so there's a bed area, a couch (leather) area, dining table (small square glass top) and a kitchenette. There's also a terrace you can chill out in if it's not too cold out. It's very clean with a fridge, cofeemaker, microwave, stove, utensils and dishes. There was also 2 free pods for the cofeemaker.
Checking in was a bit weird because there's no reception, you just get your keys in a box inside the gate. Checking out was weird for us also: we just put the keys on the table and left (as instructed).
2 negative things that bothered us: the toilet and shower areas are on opposite sides of the unit. Some people (like us), find that a bit inconvenient.
Another thing: The shower had no door or curtain! It's just a small elevated space with walls, with an entrance (you can see it in one of the photos in this review). When you turn on the light in the shower, the exhaust fan above the shower also turns on. That means the hot air is immediately sucked out. If it is cold, even if you take a hot shower, you will feel cold as soon as you step out of (or turn off) the water. Unlike in an enclosed shower where you have time to dry yourself and wrap in a towel before stepping out in the cold.
Also, the lack of cover in the shower can create some pretty awkward situations with people who are sharing the unit and are not intimately related.
The TV is a flat screen, but does not turn enough towards the bed area such that the person by the window will not be able to see the television screen properly while in bed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Pros:
* Excellent value
* Common sense approach to hospitality (Our plane was landing early in the day, and instead of merely allowing us to dump our bags, since the apartment was unoccupied anyway, we were allowed to check in early. A HUGE relief). Also, all our queries were always answered very promptly.
* Lovely, comfortable, spacious, quiet apartment, ("Suite Dream")
* Excellent utilities (e.g. 32" TV, DVD player, Nespresso coffee maker, microwave, dishwasher, iron, ironing board, refrigerator, cooking hobs, utensils etc.),
* WiFi quality was excellent (and free)

Cons (very minor):

* The cleaners didnt show up one of the days. (We really missed our daily free Nespresso capsules that day :-) )
* The door to the balcony wasnt working. BUT, we didnt expect a balcony anyway so it was really going to be an unexpected bonus
* One soap was provided. We had to ask the cleaners for a shampoo. Would have expected a few more.

Overall: EXCELLENT. Will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiffkroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We are frequent travelers to Brussels for business and pleasure. We know Brussels quite well. After reading the reviews, we decided to book. Our first night unfortunately was ruined by the bar next door having played very loud music until 6:00 am the next morning. We promptly asked to be moved to another room that following morning and the manager, Laurent Goldenberg promptly accommodated our request to be moved to a quieter room. We stayed a total of six nights and were more than pleased with the large, modern and clean apartment. The location is great as there are many very good restaurants, good shopping and of course our favorite bakery , Paul's just down the street. The metro Louise is just a few steps away. There is no need to have a car and although we had a car for a few days, there is also available parking in the area.

The manager, Laurent Goldenberg was extremely accommodating and rectified any problems that we incurred. Although we did not see the manager, he responded quickly to our inquires. We have already recommended the Suite Home Stephanie to some good friends and we are looking forward to our next stay. We only hope that Suite Home Stephanie will not always be fully booked. In the future, if we are not staying with friends, we will definitely stay only at the Home Suite Stephanie.

Many thanks to Laurent Goldenberg for making our stay such a pleasurable one.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wegeforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I picked this hotel based on Tripadvisor's review.

Good location, top value at €85/night.
Excellent room, equipped with kitchen, fridge, microwave, plates,etc,etc.
Flatscreen TV, great bed, good washroom!
Great for a one night stay, a MUST if you are staying in Brussels multiple nights!

And my hotel, Laurent Goldenberg, was the nicest, most efficient and accommodating person I ever found in my travels.

A little tip: if you are travelling with lots or heavy luggage, ask Laurent NOT to give you a room on the top floor. It is nice (that were I stayed), but the elevator only goes to the floor below and then you have to take a fairly narrow and steep stair.

This is where I will stay next time I am in Brussels!

Room Tip: A little tip: if you are travelling with lots or heavy luggage, ask Laurent NOT to give you a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isis080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

In spite of the name, this is not a hotel but an apartment in an apartment building. Although we walked from the flat to central Brussels twice, it is situated quite far from the sites of Brussels, in a shopping and residential neighborhood. The apartment is nicely decorated and very clean BUT...The comfortable bed is in one room with a huge, elegant shower and a lav sink (not a separate bathroom), while the toilet is way down the hall, past an unnecessarily large kitchen (12 cooking knives?), around 2 corners, near the entrance to the flat. Since we have never needed to take a shower in the middle of the night but regularly use the toilet, this layout was less than ideal.
There was insufficient light in the bedroom and makeup areas. The apartment was quiet, however. Overall, the apartment looked pretty and was reasonably functional for the three nights we spent there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank barbaracu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

From the moment we reserved the apartment online, right through to checking out, we have nothing but a great experience. Laurent, the only manager handling all three different Suite Homes was nothing less than hospitable and is quick to respond to all our queries and needs.

We were given the Maisonette to stay and we were more than pleased with it. Very large room with an en suite bathroom and a handy washer and dryer. Downstairs, more than enough space for the two of us with an equipped kitchen, dishwasher, oven and yes, the Nesspresso machine! Unlike other apartments we stayed throughout Europe, we were pleasantly surprised by the "kitchen fairy" who came daily to help clean up. So it's a full serviced apartment, which is great!

Suite Home Stephanie, compared to the other three, was the best choice for us as it's conveniently located near the shops and boutiques, as well as the tram and bus services.

Worth mentioning is the easy check in and check out which we had no problems at all. We just had to make sure that we check the label on the keys and the door code and it's done! The wifi connection, which is a must for travelers, is already included in the rental cost.

All in, this is the best apartment we've stayed in for a week and we will definitely stay there again if we visit Brussels. We highly recommend it to all types of travelers! And do say hi to Laurent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbraCaBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.1 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#5 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
#27 of 198 in Brussels
1,522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Manos Stephanie
Hotel Manos Stephanie
#12 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Brussels City Centre
pentahotel Brussels City Centre
#4 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
803 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels Louise
NH Brussels Louise
#96 of 198 in Brussels
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Home Stephanie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Home Stephanie

Property: Suite Home Stephanie
Address: Chaussee de Charleroi 51B, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Gilles
#2 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Suite Home Stephanie Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing