We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel for a short stay in Brussels” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pantone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pantone Hotel
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for a short stay in Brussels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is a very reasonably priced, clean and fun hotel. It is in a very safe location and within easy walking distance to tubes to get to all the main attractions of Brussels. It is a very trendy hotel, with all the essentials you need.
We thought the breakfast was quite expensive, but there are plenty of cafes close by which are good to sit and watch the early morning start.
The avenue this hotel is off, is one of the best places to shop in Brussels, and there are some lovely designer outlets within 5 mins
All in all - we would definitely come back. An excellent family hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markdgoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    460
    163
    36
    25
See reviews for
99
441
74
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Unfortunately I only stayed here for 1 night, but would have been happy staying a bit longer. This is a 'cool', funky, unique and modern hotel. The room was small, but spotless. The green and red toilet paper was a highlight, along with the matching toiletries! The only negatives were that the windows didn't open (I like fresh air) and the air conditioning wasn't very strong. The remote displayed that the temperature was 18C, but felt more like 25C. The temperature couldn't be set lower than 18C though. The bed was a big king size and super comfortable. This was the best sleep I had the whole week I was in Belgium! A word of warning, the room did not have a phone, so you will have to use your phone or a travel alarm clock to wake up! There were a ton of electrical outlets, which is not usual in most European hotels I have stayed in. The location is a few blocks from Ave de Louise, in a very residential and quiet area. Not great if you want to spend all your time at the Grande Place, but perfect for visiting the sights in the Upper Town. I would highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, on a higher floor for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Small, quiet, averagely priced hotel with a touch of style. We got two type of rooms: double, which was really small and twin, which was spacious and stylish. Obviously, you may have two different experience resulted from the room you get. Twin was remarkably clean, very large comfy beds and soft lights provided excellent sleeping conditions regardless there was a balcony party on some upper floor. Enjoy free wireless internet in the room and clean bathroom amenities with colourful toiletries. Staff was friendly and helpful 24/7, and definitely received an "extra point" from us for room upgrade!

We did not paid for breakfast as considered it slightly expensive, there is a grocery store in 50 m (to the right from entrance) and there is a dozen of cafes and restaurants in the quarter near Louise metro station (to the left, ca. 400m) to have more solid meal.

The only thing that put pressure on our stay was the distance between the hotel and Historical Centre, surely it is reachable by walking but really too far (ca. 3km) and there were no convenient transport connection. If you come by car, expect parking problems nearby the hotel.

Room Tip: In a non-busy season ask for twin room, it is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheese13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

If you are on a tight budget this hotel should be sufficient, but given a choice I'd not recommend it.

I tried to check in very early in the morning. I knew check in time was at 3, but the man working at the desk seemed positively shocked that I'd even attempt to check in so early. I was rebuffed and sent away. They must get a large number of visitors from North America arriving early, so he should not have been so surprised. He did hold my bag until 3pm check in time arrived.

The room had no AC the first night because of a system failure. My TV stopped working on the last day. The room itself was not much to speak of, it had the Pantone design feel which was neat, but didn't make up for the lake of substance to the room. The pillows were the very cheapest you can buy at IKEA for $1, part of the bathroom counter was peeled off. I also had the door handle fall off in my hand when using the stairwell.

Breakfast is overpriced at 15Euro, but not much is open before 8am nearby if you are in the area. I also did not find it to be all that close to the metro.

I gave it 3 stars because of the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spinkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This place touts itself as being a "design" hotel but design-conscious it is not. I've stayed at plenty of boutique hotels with innovate eco-friendly design, interesting light systems, and furniture with more concept than this place. This place is a GLORIFIED HOSTEL. The only design aspect of it is the coloured toilet paper and the shag carpet.

The bare bones: The hotel itself is very budget but it is good value. You get what you pay for: a mediocre bed and a working bathroom.

The lobby is nice enough but once you get into the elevator, walk down the halls and enter your room, you see that the hotel didn't try to do anything else. Everything is dingy and dirty. The lights flicker, the ceiling in the hallway is all fluorescent lighting and there is all sorts of garbage in the ceiling so you can see every little thing. We had the "green" floor and when you walk out of the elevator, you feel like you're walking into an abandoned office building. The lights are NOT green; they are a very faded yellow/chartreuse. Not welcoming at all.

Customer service is non-existent. We checked in with a gruff young man who seemed bothered that we were even there.

We had several problems throughout the stay:
1. On the second night, the air conditioning stopped working. We called down to reception and they sent someone up. They offered to change rooms and when we said we would, they said that the a/c was out for the entire building. It remained this way for the rest of our 4 night stay. The windows are very clumsily designed. They are kind of like hopper windows but with a very, very small opening at the top. The curtains are so heavy and they don't go all the way to the sides that they hang over the window and constantly close it.
2. The TV stopped working on the 3rd day. We eventually got it working again by playing around with the wires.

Anyway, I give this place a 3 because of its price and its location. It's not downtown but its close to everything (including a Villo system right at the doors) and public transit. It's also only 2 stops from Brussels Midi which is where the Eurostar goes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supascoopa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Good location, friendly and helpful stuff. Very cozy and trendy rooms with good view. Breakfast was pricey (15 euros) but excellent and more like brunch, couldn't imagine anything else I would need.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elli124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Overall a good value for the money and a professional reception desk team.
Everything looked pretty new and in good condition. The location is quiet enough, the city center can be reached by walking around 20 minutes and the nearest metro station is 5 minutes away. There are also two shops, 25 meters far from the hotel (one opened over night), where you can find bottled water, drinks, chocolate, cigarettes, fruits and so on. Or if you need a bigger shop, there is a Carrefour Express at less than 10 minutes walk.

We didn’t have the breakfast included, but it could be bought on the spot for 15 EUR/person. You can have breakfast at the ground floor, in the lobby, but this is the only meal available because the hotel does not have a restaurant. Hot drinks, wine and some other few beverages were available at the reception desk all day long.

We stayed in room 307, third floor, a standard room with double bed, without terrace, but you may have the choice to upgrade for a larger room with terrace access by paying an extra 20 EUR/day.
A small entrance hall having - at the opposite end - an opened storage place: some shelves with a hanger bar above. On the floor, below the shelves, sits a small safe deposit box.
On one side of the entrance hall was the bathroom door and on the other side the opening towards the room.
The room was small and limited to the bare necessity. Except the bed and the two bedside tables there was no much space left but only for a small table and one chair.
The glazed area was much of the exterior wall, but only one window was designed to be (only partially) opened.
The mattress was comfortable enough but the blanket and pillows had synthetic filling and made us sweat. Lying in bed, you could watch the 24” TV set fixed on the opposite wall, some local TV stations and few news channels. Wireless internet connection was also available and worked well.

The bathroom was pretty small, and had a small bathtub with glass screen.
There was no window and ventilation was made through a vent hole without fan. To get some better results, we had to leave the bathroom door opened as well as the window.
We had a hair dryer by the mirror, one liquid soap dispenser, shower gel and shampoo bottles and colorful toilet paper.
The radiator placed on the wall above the bathtub served also as (the only) towel holder, but you could hardly fit two towels on it, due to its small dimensions. Anyway, it was inappropriate to host the four towels we had (out of which two large and two medium size). With no proper ventilation and not much of a holder, our towels never had the chance to get dry. Hopefully they were replaced each day with clean (and dry) ones.
We got some smell of mold in the bathroom unless plugging the sink and the bathtub.

The hotel, the room, bedding and so on, were all clean and tidy. Towels and bedding were replaced each day.
We keep pleasant memories of the young team from the reception desk. They always have been very kind and helpful. Grateful thanks to each of them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
1.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
1.6 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#55 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
1.2 mi away
Motel One
Motel One
#25 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Brussels Midi
1.5 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#59 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pantone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantone Hotel

Property: Pantone Hotel
Address: Place Loix 1, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint-Gilles
#6 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pantone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Pantone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pantone Hotel Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing