We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Brussels Midi Station
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just OK ....”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

A hotel located just 100 m from a metro station (Hotel de Monnaies) by definition is convenient. The metro line serving the hotel (blue line no. 6) goes directly in Expo center and Heyzel stadium. So if you are visiting Brussels for an exhibition , or a sprots event the location/ vs. the money you paying is ideal. It;s 2km , half an hour walking or by metro you have to change line to visit Grande Place.
The hotel, just acceptable, nothing special, not the cleanest I 've seen, good breakfast, comfortable beds, flat TV, no coffee machine, no mini bar. For Greek readers worth mentioning that ERT world is among the TV Channels. On exhibitions periods hotel prices are crazy in Brussels. This was cheaper, but still very expensive for what it is. Other periods I think it is quite cheap.

Room Tip: I think standard rooms are all the same. Not a noisy street anyway and nothing to see in terms of vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreas0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    337
    111
    29
    15
See reviews for
102
247
63
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed at his hotel for a weekend and used it as a base for city viewing. Overall a good hotel, however we had issues with the heating (25 degrees) that could not be changed and made sleeping a bit of a chore. Bear in mind that hotel is next to the station so can be a bit noisy at times due to trains passing right in front. On Sunday there is a general fruit/vet market right in front as well. It's just about 15/20 minutes walk from the city center and there are a few nice ways to get there. From hotel walk into town down Rue Blaes (an antigue shop road) it'll take you right into town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosMichelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotels is opposite of the Midi station which was very convenient for us as we were travelling from London via Eurostar and I had to take the Monday morning train to London in order to be at work I could not risk to stay away from Train Station.
We stayed for 2 days hotel staff was definitely friendly and helpful. Room was very clean (very very important for me) and nicely decorated size wise slightly smaller than expected.
It is not far from city centre only 20-25 minutes’ walk away area looks a bit rough but we did not feel very insecure even when we walk from Grand Place at mid night.
On Sundays there is a street market just in front of it which I had chance to go and bought lovely croissants for 70 cent and a kilo of blood orange for 1 euro after London it was bargain and They were delicious.Over all we had a very good experience. I would stay in this hotel if I travel by Eurostar for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AysYilmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
189 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Recently travelled to Brussels and this hotel was booked by my Belgian colleagues. Being a very short walk from Brussels Midi Station, where the Eurostar stops, it is excellently situated. It is also a nice hotel to stay in. The room was comfortable with all the modern facilites required on a business trip (except that they charge extra for the internet - grrr). Breakfast was very nice, a good selection. An easy stay when travelling by Eurostar. Prices not bad bearing in mind this is Brussels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salthound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights as I needed a room close to the Eurostar terminal at Brussels Gare du Midi (Flemish: Zuid = South) - all the same station :).
I took the Eurostar from London on the Thursday returning early Saturday morning so I selected a hotel very close to the station. I arrived at about 8pm and went out the main entrance beside the new restaurant/shopping complex 'Midi Station' - if you do turn around and walk back under the concourse which is under the tracks, then turn left and the Hotel Cascade is 100m along the road. (can you guess which route I took the first time!).
The area is like a lot of other rail station areas and is not the best but I guess the Eurostar is helping to raise the area's profile. I walked to and from the station and did not feel out of place.

Hotel review:
Reception: friendly and efficient and spoke perfect English. Brussels is mostly French speaking.

Lobby: TV and food served here, modern and looked OK but I did not use it as I did not have time, breakfast starts at 7 but I had to leave to catch a train earlier than that. I caught the train from Midi and in the morning there was plenty of cafe's serving fresh croissants (mmm) and coffee. The signs are very simple to follow to catch your train. P.S. I booked the Eurostar ticket which allowed any extra train trip in Belgium for free!

Room: Very modern and spacious, very clean, good facilities. The Wi-Fi was free and worked fine for me - check trains times, email and Skype to home. The TV even picked up a lot of British channels so I was very happy. Mini bar and fridge was well stocked. Bathroom was very modern and spotless although like France the shower is really designed for people sitting down :)

Checkout: Efficient, Note: they do not accept AMEX (maybe changed now) so make sure you have cash or another credit card.

The hotel's main selling point is the proximity to Midi station for the Eurostar - from Midi getting around Brussels is very simple and cheap by train but if you are visiting Brussels for the tourist thing then go to an area closer to the main tourist attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishtraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent one night here when we needed to catch the train at 9.28 am to Cologne. Comfortable night's sleep. The pillows could be better. Breakfast rather expensive particularly as there are several much cheaper options available in the station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
354 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Wifi worked well at night, but did not work in the morning.

A tax needs to be paid upon checking out, not included in Expedia rate - take into consideration.

Room was clean, nice and simple decor, modern. Shower had hot water, was comfortable. Cable tv included.

Location right across from Gare du Midi (Ziud): excellent if you arrive late at night or leave early in the morning, or must catch a train to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySL00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Brussels Midi
0.2 mi away
Pullman Brussels Centre Midi Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
#11 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
#41 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#5 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
1.0 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Brussels Midi Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Brussels Midi Station

Property: Novotel Brussels Midi Station
Address: Avenue Fonsny 5-7, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium (Formerly Hotel Cascade Midi)
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Brussels Midi Station 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Brussels Centre Midi Station, located opposite the Gare du Midi train station, arrival station for Thalys, Eurostar and ICE, and just 1.2 miles (2 km) from the Grand-Place of Brussels. In addition to its 93 spacious and air-conditioned rooms, the hotel proposes free WiFi, a bar and a secured underground parking. The Novotel Brussels Centre Midi Station is ideally located if you wish to discover Brussels, not far from The Square, The Egg, European Community, Expo and Atomium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Brussels Midi Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Brussels Midi Station Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing