We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Brussels Midi station (Eurostar), but go elsewhere if possible (area not good, strong cigarette smell)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Brussels Midi Station
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Close to Brussels Midi station (Eurostar), but go elsewhere if possible (area not good, strong cigarette smell)”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed in Brussels for a couple of nights before heading somewhere else on the Eurostar on vacation.

On the plus side, the hotel is clean (a plus in Brussels) and close to the station. The internet works (it is free for 24 hours). The staff member at reception is friendly, but a little undertrained. There's a hairdryer that works, although there is no shampoo and conditioner--just all-purpose soap which is fairly industrial in its effect on hair.

To be frank, I would not choose this hotel again, although it might be fine for someone who needs to be very close to Brussels Midi train station (which includes terminals for the Eurostar and TGV), doesn't want to go anywhere else, and doesn't need food or toiletries.

Problems:
1. Although I asked for a non-smoking room and mentioned that smoke is a problem because I have asthma, the smell of stale cigarette smoke is very strong. You'll have to take my word for it that I'm not like the princess with the pea. We're not talking a mild whiff. This is a smell that is overwhelming. My clothes smell and my eyes are streaming. It is not possible to open windows or turn on a fan.

2. The location is not ideal for someone on vacation. It is not convenient for eating out or seeing Brussels and in my opinion, it is not an area that is great for lone women. There are some dodgy characters hanging around on the street corners and outside the train station. I usually feel pretty comfortable walking around alone, but the atmosphere is a little threatening. I was followed, shouted, and touched at by at least four or five different groups of men while simply crossing the street and walking one block to the station to find food.

3. There is almost no food available in the area. There may be a couple of cafes open during the day along the street and in the station, but they seem suited to people who need calories--not an enjoyable experience (and my standards are not high; I would have no problem eating McDonalds if it were available). There is a supermarket on the next block from the hotel, but it closes early. There is a restaurant in the budget hotel next door, but it is only open late and the food is not appealing. During that day, it might be safe to walk to restaurants, but after dark, I think walking anywhere would not be a good idea. Also, it is tough to find restaurants in this part of the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bzz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    337
    111
    29
    15
See reviews for
102
247
63
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haute Savoie, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Very convenient for transit travellers to Luxembourg. The train goes direct from Gare Midi, which is just across the road from the hotel. The room we had on the 7th floor was spacious and nicely designed. Although it is on a main busy road, it was absolutey soundproof indoors. The area is not so good to walk at night and the cost of breakfast was overpriced. We paid 80 euros with Booking.com and happy with our room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
192 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I specifically selected and hotel with free wifi on Hotels.com, and I got this only option near the Midi station, so I booked it even if it was a bit extra expensive then my budget. As I checked in I have been told that "in December" the wi-fi is on charged and asked for 12 more euros per day. I could get an offer from Italy for 9 euros/1 week, but I did not because I was supposed to have it included in the rate for free. I really felt tricked. I was also offered for the free use of a computer, which I think it was ridicolous, since I was supposed to use some of my telephon app, and we are no longer in 1990s when all you needed was to "check your email". This really spoiled a part of my holiday. I was also unhappy as many other hotels are in the same street, and I could use their free wi-fi outside. My friend stayed at the Ibis Hotel, one block closer to train station, and paid almost as much as me for a double room with free wi-fi (I was in single)
The best feature of the hotel is the cleaning stuff. It was the first time that an housekeeper makes me the bed as I left it in the morning, with double blankets, instead of doing it the standard way.
The room was large and modern, but the architect was not so smart to place an electrical plug near the bed.. so forget if you want to charge your phone and keep it near to you for the alarn or anything else during the night. Courtesy set and minibar were a bit poor for the hotel standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Modern, clean, comfortable and conveniently located across the road from Gare du Midi train station. Convenience to the station would be the only reason to stay in this hotel as the neighbourhood does not have a lot going for it. We had an early morning train to catch, so the location was perfect. It was a 20 min easy walk to the city centre. The European sized pillows were way too soft, but maybe that is how things are done in Belgium. Oh, and don't forget to pay the city tax when you check out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelsyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Clean, efficient hotel but having arrived late all I wanted was a hot drink in my room before sleeping but no kettle provided. Despite that, good bed, quiet apart from heating system that woke me in middle of night. Good quick check out as well and friendly helpful staff.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a trendy hotel. Modern in all respects. Efficient staff. Underground paid, but secure parking. The bedrooms were clean, large and well decorated. The breakfast room was very large and continued with the trendy theme. Good range of food. Cooked breakfast was prepared on demand, so it was freshly cooked. It extended out on to a simple, but big garden.

The location near a busy railway station, was a bit edgy. One had to walk under the railway lines to get to the city center, which was a 20 min. walk away. On the other hand the access to the station proved useful in getting around the city, which is pretty big actually.

An relatively expensive hotel for a family, with a €3.60 per person city tax..

Room Tip: There are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

As the title says, not a lot the hotel can do about the buildings around it be we found the hotel to be clean modern and great for transport links. Room large and very clean.
Ideal for eurostar base but a bit of a walk to brussels main square etc

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatchamBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Brussels Midi
0.2 mi away
Pullman Brussels Centre Midi Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
#11 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
#41 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#5 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
1.0 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Brussels Midi Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Brussels Midi Station

Property: Novotel Brussels Midi Station
Address: Avenue Fonsny 5-7, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium (Formerly Hotel Cascade Midi)
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Brussels Midi Station 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Brussels Centre Midi Station, located opposite the Gare du Midi train station, arrival station for Thalys, Eurostar and ICE, and just 1.2 miles (2 km) from the Grand-Place of Brussels. In addition to its 93 spacious and air-conditioned rooms, the hotel proposes free WiFi, a bar and a secured underground parking. The Novotel Brussels Centre Midi Station is ideally located if you wish to discover Brussels, not far from The Square, The Egg, European Community, Expo and Atomium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Brussels Midi Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Brussels Midi Station Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing