We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location near Gare Midi/Eurostar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Brussels Midi Station
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location near Gare Midi/Eurostar”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Clean, efficient hotel but having arrived late all I wanted was a hot drink in my room before sleeping but no kettle provided. Despite that, good bed, quiet apart from heating system that woke me in middle of night. Good quick check out as well and friendly helpful staff.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    349
    113
    30
    15
See reviews for
106
255
65
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
392 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a trendy hotel. Modern in all respects. Efficient staff. Underground paid, but secure parking. The bedrooms were clean, large and well decorated. The breakfast room was very large and continued with the trendy theme. Good range of food. Cooked breakfast was prepared on demand, so it was freshly cooked. It extended out on to a simple, but big garden.

The location near a busy railway station, was a bit edgy. One had to walk under the railway lines to get to the city center, which was a 20 min. walk away. On the other hand the access to the station proved useful in getting around the city, which is pretty big actually.

An relatively expensive hotel for a family, with a €3.60 per person city tax..

Room Tip: There are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

As the title says, not a lot the hotel can do about the buildings around it be we found the hotel to be clean modern and great for transport links. Room large and very clean.
Ideal for eurostar base but a bit of a walk to brussels main square etc

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatchamBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

One of the new hotels rising around the Gare du Midi. I stayed there because I needed a hotel next to the station and Park Inn was fully booked. Still, Cascade Midi proved to be a good alternative. First of all, it's squeaky clean and comfortable. Rooms are spacious, bathroom is also very nice.
What I didn't like was expensive internet access. Finally I decided not to use it (I needed only half an hour, no reason to pay a daily rate), but others were not impressed with the connection.
I had a breakfast at the hotel restaurant and it was sufficient. No idea about the dinner menu.
Obviously the neighborhood is not impressive, but one can't blame the hotel for its neighborhood.

Room Tip: Make sure that you are not getting the room with windows on Avenue Fonsny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polarwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

modern hotel across the street from the Midi station in Brussels. Ideal to get to Bruge and Gent. We could walk to the Main square, but, chose to use train. 5 min from station. HIghly ethnic area as are so many train stations. Lots of options for middle eastern kabobs and such with a grocery store on the same street.

clean and modern. comfortable stay. would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappygoluckyPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as a last minute option and a treat. However the photos made the place look amazing. What we received wasn't. We were charged for parking which a normal car would struggle to get down to and normally blocked in. The room was suppose to be a large room but felt very average considering your paying a premium. Basics such as Internet is an extra, no coffee making facilities and bathroom has a funky smell.

We stayed on a Saturday night and felt very unsafe outside in the area. Its next to the train station and location is a bit rough.

HOWEVER the bed was amazing! Best nights sleep I have had in a very long time.
The next day when we opened the window there was a HUGE Sunday market which was brilliant and made up for the previous night.

Overall we wouldnt stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel is next to the train station and in a bit of a ruff area. We didn't feel safe there at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicoVDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Where should I start ? Maybe with the hotel :D Nice, comfortabe but that about it. The reception staff was friendly. Internet cost 12 € extra not good. very big rooms a plus. The view from our room was scary, empty half torndown houses all around. there is no nice reception were you can sit and I'm not sure I would want to anyways. Could'nt find any nice place to eat dinner so went into the trainstation and bought fast food and stayed in the hotel all night. When we tried to look for the busstop to charleroi (the reason why we choose to stay in this location) we were disgusted by the surroundings and I was very close to throw up several times. This seems to be the place for homeless people to live and use as a toilet. they are even encouraging this behaviour with an ecotoilet outside the trainstation. but many people seem to like having a poo on the walls of the tunnels that we had to go trough to get to the busstop. garbage everywhere .Just absolutely disgusted. Even in the hotel they have locked front doors and signs warning about thieves. But the good thing is that the hotel is superclean and ok inside and it it close to the busstop. But if you have children or want to go outside and stroll around Brussels I would choose another location and take a taxi to the busstop if you are leaving before the trains start to go in the morning like we did 4am. Would not recommend anyone to be out walking that early in the morning around that area. Surrounded by homeless people drinking and shouting wherever we turned and I was very relived when I was on the bus without stabbwounds or robbed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank resegalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Brussels Midi
0.2 mi away
Pullman Brussels Centre Midi Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
#10 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
#36 of 199 in Brussels
684 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Brussels Centre
Novotel Brussels Centre
#28 of 199 in Brussels
2,788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Brussels Midi Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Brussels Midi Station

Property: Novotel Brussels Midi Station
Address: Avenue Fonsny 5-7, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium (Formerly Hotel Cascade Midi)
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Brussels Midi Station 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Brussels Centre Midi Station, located opposite the Gare du Midi train station, arrival station for Thalys, Eurostar and ICE, and just 1.2 miles (2 km) from the Grand-Place of Brussels. In addition to its 93 spacious and air-conditioned rooms, the hotel proposes free WiFi, a bar and a secured underground parking. The Novotel Brussels Centre Midi Station is ideally located if you wish to discover Brussels, not far from The Square, The Egg, European Community, Expo and Atomium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Brussels Midi Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Brussels Midi Station Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing