We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot for lunch”
Review of Shake Hands

Shake Hands
Reserve with
Shake Hands is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: Belgian, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
107 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Had a long layover in Brussels so I contacted a good friend about doing lunch and catching up. We went to the Shake Hands which was near his home. The food was wonderful and the service was also very good, it was a bit pricey but then you are in Brussels. Strongly recommend you break bread here if you are in the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    44
    31
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family favourite”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

This is hands down my favourite restaurant in Brussels. It won't change your life food wise in that it is as others say a Belgian brasserie. But if you want a real taste of Belgian food, great quality, and excellent service, this is the place to go! I have been going with my family for many years now and we have celebrated engagements, birthdays and promotions. The staff go out of their way to make us feel welcome, are accommodating to children, and this is now a family favourite!

Helpful?
Thank Brusselsfoodie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great wild”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

The concept is a bit strange. First of all, the name does not seem to fit the place very well. Secondly, the terrace under the glass house does not seem very cozy. Nevertheless, the inside is very nice with the fire burning, the service was excellent, the weld meat we had was great and the prices correct. Would come hear again!

Helpful?
Thank Pieeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“good solid belgian food but expensive”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a typical belgian brasserie where one can eat basic but good food such as steak frites. Quality of the food is good and the service is very attentive and friendly. the place looks nice, classic with a clientele towards the higher age brackets. Despite all this I think the prices are too high given we are very much in the suburbs and the food is not very elaborative.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hopj3p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraainem, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Well...average”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Small but decent selection of beers, food was also decent but uninspiring. Overall...not likely to see us again for dining but could easily enjoy just a beer or two and watch the trams go by.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shake Hands also viewed

Woluwe-St-Pierre, Brussels
Brussels, Belgium
 
Woluwe-St-Pierre, Brussels
Kraainem, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to Shake Hands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing