We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced and bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Shake Hands

Shake Hands
Reserve with
Shake Hands is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: Belgian, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over priced and bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I had to almost beg for a menu. Service was slow. They served the wrong bottle of wine. Head waiter is almost disdainful in his attitude. Great shame it is so close to where I live - perhaps I'll need to walk further in future...

Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbo-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    44
    31
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, Kent
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Food was average and I have to agree with previous reviews about the service - my poor mother, who was trying to get some very tough duck replaced, was ignored to the point that it was embarrassing. I am sure it is very pleasant for a drink on the terrace and there was quite a nice atmosphere in the place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang01622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Great spot spoiled a bit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Service was not as good as SHOULD have been - even for Belgian standards. Good enough with the drinks but slow with the food despite a small crowd at 1900 taht evening. Taste was not inspiring.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank better_beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
182 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I used to eat here regularly the, after a couple of bad experiences, put it on my black list. But I went back recently and have not regretted it. It's back on form. It's near Place Dumon, where there is a terrific market Tuesdays, Fridays & Saturdays, and a stone's throw from Stockel metro station. The menu is fairly traditional, but the cooking is great. They have a reasonable wine-list. We go for the lobster. Not as spectacular as Le Homard Rouge in Ghent, but delicious nonetheless. My only minor quibble is that the service is a bit patchy. Frequently the waiters forget to top up your wine glass. Worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megahose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Mediocre At Best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We've been twice to this place - once as a couple and the other in a group of about 30 people. It is a hit-and-miss kind of place. Nice venue on the street near Stockel Square - open windows in a veranda in good weather, quite charming. Now for the critique - you can run into the very worst of Belgian waiter here - the type who consider your being in their restaurant as taking away from their loafing around time. There is - so they say - no tipping in Belgium as it is included in the price, yet at Shake Hands the waiter went out of the way to indicate the amount of tip and how to do that with a credit card (he knew we were not Belgians). He was aloof and uncaring that first visit (just the two of us). However, to be fair the food was super, albeit pricey. The second time with the group it bordered on a disaster as they just did not seem capable of handling so many people at one time. The food was poor and many of us had to wait as they ran out. The meal was not good at all. But - get this - the service was really very good as they tried hard to compensate for the shortcomings. We will not go back to the Shake Hands - for the price (expensive) you can get far better a short walk away.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jbmcnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shake Hands also viewed

Woluwe-St-Pierre, Brussels
Brussels, Belgium
 
Woluwe-St-Pierre, Brussels
Kraainem, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Woluwe-St-Pierre, Brussels
 

Been to Shake Hands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing