We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure and simple - catastrophy!”
Review of Monty Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monty Design Hotel
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pure and simple - catastrophy!”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I have travelled to 25 European states, spent hundereds of nigts in various hotels but never in my life I have seen a ''hotel'' like this. Filthy, noisy, with no elevator, no reception... My happiness was complete the moment I seen the pitfall for bugs next to the minibar... That is what you get during the day. And during the night, when the metro passes, the entire building trembles. In the morning you eat breakfast at the same table with all other tenants, as if in Big Brother house. Oh, did I mention - all of them are taking bread and croissants out of the box with their hands? But once is for sure - I will definitely remember this place - so that I NEVER EVER return here again! p.s. this joyful experience costed me 135€ per night!?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IvanaZagreb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    33
    43
    23
    29
See reviews for
12
36
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed in the Monty Hotel for 2 nights in September 2011 (room 101; 2 adults and 1 child of 3 years) and we were at first very pleased with everything:
The room seemed to be clean and in good estate, the breakfast buffet was very good and all employees were friendly, polite and helpful.
Public transportation is available.
The hotel is situated at a big road. We had a room on the backside, which was ok concerning noise, however the traffic could be heard and in the morning (so I assume that on the front side of the hotel it might be much louder, especially if you want to/ have to leave a window open for fresh air).
Free WiFi and free coffee/tee were very nice add ons.
(The price was quite high from our point of view with >100 EUR per night, but this seems to be "normal" in Brussels).

The only problem (which made this stay a very bad experience with long lasting effects) was the following:
already after the first night my wife and I had a lot of itching stitches and my wife nearly had not slept at all. We thought we had let in mosquitoes trough the open window.
The second night, I also nearly did not sleep, we got many, many more bites both all over our bodies (fortunately our son sleeping on a third bed was not affected at all), all of them itching and some of them got really tumid.
When we put on the lights at 3AM, we found one bed bug (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bed_bug) sitting on the bed-head of my bed, which we could catch in a drinking glass.
In the following hours, we could hardly sleep at all.

The next morning we informed the hotel manager, which looked concerned and said he had never seen such animals before. He promised to contact an expert and not let the room to other people.
We just arrived today from the hotel, so we will see how to find a solution for all the troubles we've had (no sleep, itching bites all over) - but the worst thing is, that we had our open suitcase directly next to the bed so we fear to have brought some of the beasts at home.
So when coming home we had to seal all our luggage in plastic bags and contact a vermin expert to find out how to be sure that there are no remains left in our belongings, which maybe was and is the most annoying part ot this problem. :-(

If technically possible [this is my first review on tripadvisor, but I've often profited by the information given here so I want to warn everybody, that even good hotels can have very bad surprises], I'll try to update this review when we finally found a solution.

All information sources say that the presence of bed bugs does not necessarily mean a lack of hygiene, but that they can be everywhere and distribute rapidly...

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Jürgen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Woluwe-Saint-Lambert hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We often choose design hotels for our weeked escapes.Unfortunately most of the design hotels contain one or two design features.Suprisingly Monty Small Design Hotel really deserves to be a reall Design Hotel.Almost every item is from a designer such as Ron ARAD, P STARCK, İngo Maurer......
We have read about this hotel on National Geographic magazine.
The breakfast was really good and the staff is excellent.
We stayed in 104 and our friends stayed in 102 .The rooms are confortable, the wifi works excellent and you dont have to pay for it (mostdesign hotels charge it as extra).
We definately will be back...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SarahJohn00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
167 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

I know Brussels can be expensive and so decided to try a lesser known hotel for my one night stay.
This is a converted terrace house and looks ok, in fact the place has a reasonably nice appearance. The rooms are small and very basic, and to many guests I am sure that will be fine. The sound insulation is not good and between the passing traffic on one side and the creaking stairs on the other, I felt like I had gone back to my house-sharing days.

WIFI was included which is always a plus. Good variety of dining options nearby.

Breakfast is served at a communal table and is good, and the staff are very helpful when required. I just had the feeling that for my €110 euro, I could have done better, and got a better nights sleep.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

A few minutes from Central Brussels by metro station Georges Henri. Situated on a busy intersection with restaurants and a few shops nearby. The hotel is a very interesting place to stay as an old townhouse. The lounge/reception is spacious with a computer which is free of charge for guests to use although it does offer free WIFI. Breakfast is taken around one large table just off the lounge and I found this to be well stocked with a good choice of breakfast goodies. The bedroom and bathroom had everything I needed for my stay.Room temperature was adjustable by the thermostats on the radiators. It offered all I needed to ensure a comfortable stay. Tip take ear plugs in case you get a room at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Turmstrasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2010

plus: Stylish hotel, great location (restaurants and shops nearby), tastefully decorated room with free WiFi, free coffee and tea 24/7

minus: Room a bit cramped, staff rather cold

All in all, absolutely OK for its price

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thanasis1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Service people in this small boutique hotel are very nice. Moreover, I liked the idea that all guests are having breakfast together around o n e table. Rooms are tiny: Mine was in the attic and covered some 12 sqm incl. bathroom. Even though it was March, Brussels was extremely cold at that time (freezing) which affected the room temperature as well. Rates appear to be normal Brussels prices.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dkdklmpsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woluwe-Saint-Lambert
1.1 mi away
Ramada Brussels Woluwe
Ramada Brussels Woluwe
#2 of 4 in Woluwe-Saint-Lambert
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Montgomery
Eurostars Montgomery
#1 of 1 in Woluwe-St-Pierre
302 reviews
1.2 mi away
FunKey Hotel
FunKey Hotel
#21 of 199 in Brussels
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Tangla Hotel Brussels
Tangla Hotel Brussels
#1 of 4 in Woluwe-Saint-Lambert
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Hotel Brussels
3.0 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monty Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monty Design Hotel

Property: Monty Design Hotel
Address: Boulevard Brand Whitlock 101, Woluwe-Saint-Lambert, Brussels 1200, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Woluwe-Saint-Lambert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woluwe-Saint-Lambert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monty Design Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Monty Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monty Design Brussels
Hotel Monty Design
Monty Design Hotel Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing