We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Amour Fou

L'Amour Fou
Ranked #14 of 177 Restaurants in Ixelles
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ixelleirs and Bruxelloises have been hanging out at l'Amour Fou since 1984. Today, it's your local spot for sipping high quality cocktails and homemade pastrami sandwiches.
belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Refreshing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

A friend of mine introduced me to this place that I found refreshing in terms of concept and atmosphere. The food is correct, but the nice thing is that you can go any time of the day to have a drink, or during the week to enjoy a nice live band playing some music. It has this nice welcoming feeling about it that makes you wanna come back. I also went on a saturday night, they had a DJ playing some trendy music.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkbreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    142
    53
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Can't go there without having a burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We like the place, the decoration is nice, the staff friendly and the burgers delicious and original: beef, chicken ... fried potatoes, sweet potatoes, onion rings... goat cheese, cheddar, guacamole...
I never succeeded to try something else on the menu.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris-Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very professional staff, polite and efficient, and the food and drinks are delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We were there last night to celebrate a friend's birthday. We were thinking to stay there for some drinks only. But we've ended up staying there for dinner!
The staff: Very professional, polite and efficient. A friend asked for bloody mary which was not on the menu, and the staff accepted the order nicely.
The drinks: The cocktails are delicious. Great mixing. I had Mai Tai (the cocktail of the week) and it's sooo delicious. On our table we also had Gin Fizz, Mojito Raspberry, Capirinha Raspberry, Mojito Lime. No one complains but sipping on the drinks happily
The food: We started off getting hungry and getting the entree and light snacks. At first we had the 'Charcuterie Belge'. It is slices of salami, it came with bread and butter! Then we ordered Nachos Locos. It's reaally good.. big portion of tacos with guacamole, sour cream and salsa and melted cheese. We saw the other table eating their burgers and we thought that we must have them.
Our table ordered "Bobo", "Moine", "Cheeseburger" and " Cheeseburger with Bacon"
For Bobo, it's a beef burger with goat cheese on top, and served with sauteed sweet potatoes. I find that the portion of sweet potatoes is too small. And there is no fries came with it. The Moine comes with 3 onion rings. Again, it's kinda small for side dish. So we had to order extra fries. It's just that we expected fries with every burgers. But we were not disappointed. for extra, the fries are home-made, still with the skin, and so crunchy. The staff also explained to us nicely becausewe were so edgy when we discovered that there is no fries with the burgers.
However, the cheeseburgers came with fries. But everyone gets what they wanted without waiting too long. So we were happy.
We didn't get to see their desserts. But from the menu, the Finnish Heaven and the moelleux au chocolat looks promising.
We will definitely come back and experience other things in the menu!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nyanyasyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a relaxed dinner with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Warm welcoming service, the place has a vision, ethical and culinary standards, opennes to art and music, .. The best hamburgers I ever had. Fresh, refined yet: Burgers! You need to take your time when you go there, you might wait a little for the food to come, but personally, I like that: it's more quality time with friends, and besides: most restaurants working with fresh and natural ingredients need time to make their food (or so they say, well to me it makes sence). The little beetroot salads, and special carrot/cheese mixture: all those little dishes that "surprised" me, in a very positive way.
Nassim, the man who runs the place, is doing an amazing job. (If you get a chance to talk to him: it's an exceptional personality)

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joyky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Inflexible service but good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

Been here a few times since renovated and we like the food. But staff need to understand the menu better - we were not allowed to order onion rings (as a supplement!) as we had burgers that came with frites!! Likewise not possible to have poulet instead of beouf burger (even though on menu. Please be flexible!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank curtains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Amour Fou also viewed

 
Ixelles, Brussels
Ixelles, Brussels
 

Been to L'Amour Fou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing