We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peaceful arty guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sgt. Pepper's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sgt. Pepper's B&B
Ranked #4 of 19 Ixelles B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“peaceful arty guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

We've just returned from a fabulous two night stay at Chambres en Ville. It's the nicest guesthouse I've ever stayed in. Philippe, the owner has the balance perfect- he is there to greet you on arrival, he explains the neighbourhood and is around at breakfast. Apart from that you have peace to do as you please.
The rooms in this hotel are gorgeous, they have a wonderful sense of character, the walls are donned with Philippe's art. I was pleased to see a colleague of soaps displayed in the bathroom cabinet- they looked pretty. Our room also had a collection of old jugs.
Each morning we were greeted by Philippe in the breakfast room, we were served fresh coffee and croissoints, delicious bread. I loved the breakfast.
This is a quaint little place, a walk out of the centre. We got lost many times in Brussels, but I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
26
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Beautiful and spacious rooms in a charming house in a great location. Chambres en Ville is within walking distance (20 mins) of central Brussels in a great location on the edge of colourful and eclectic Ixelles. Plenty of great places to eat which Phillippe can direct you to.

Note this is B&B with an emphasis on simple, stylish accommodation, so don't expect lifts, TV or room service. What you can expect is an excellent and unique place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robstoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

We stayed at Chambres en ville for 3 nights on July. The owner welcome us nicely and give us suggestions for things to do and restaurants to go near the bnb.
The rooms and bathroom are large and look just like the photos on the website. The mattress was not so comfortable in our room (vie d'artiste) but it was clean. The room haven't been clean in our stay but the towells have been changed once. We really appreciate the wifi access from our room.
It was nice to sit in the backyard when we return from a long day of tourist visit.
We were'nt impress by the breakfast: croissant, bread, jam, yaourt and cheese. It would had been nice to have warm breakfast like waffles or pancakes.
We enjoy the situation, away from the very touristy area but near enough to walk to most of the places.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertoV05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

This is a unique place in Brussels with artistic decorated rooms, a great atmosphere, close to everything. Philippe, the owner, is very pleasant, helpful and is serving a nice breakfast.
When going to Bruxelles next time i will never consider anything else than Chambres en Ville.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MortenBrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheeling, wv
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

This is a B&B, not a conventional hotel. With that in mind, this was a great place from which to explore Brussels -- good location, helpful owner-manager, breakfast included and very nice. Be aware there is no elevator and rooms are on upper floors. Also, it's cash-only. But rooms are wonderfully decorated and ours was very large and roomy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bosco111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

I stayed at the Le Levant room (two single beds), and since there wasn't another occupant, I had a very, very, very large room all to myself. The ceiling is quite high, so the room felt even bigger than it already is - and there's a nice view of the outside streets from the windows.This room and the furniture and the towels are far from being new, but otherwise clean and nice. Altogether the room is just really beautiful and quaint - and in my (also very large) bathroom, there's a standing bathtub as well as a shower! Which was fantastic! I definitely recommend soaking oneself in the bathtub after a long day of work/sightseeing.

The kitchen and breakfast (included in the price) room are also beautifully decorated, and it was fun chatting with the other visitors in the morning while eating a really filling and homey breakfast. For those who smoke, there's a lovely courtyard where they have some very lovely chairs to do so. And there's also free wifi, which was particularly useful.

The location is great and pretty close to the main city areas- but then again Brussels is a very small city - one could really just get by almost walking everywhere. It's only a relatively short walk from the hotel to the Grand Place, and I never felt unsafe while walking back to the hotel late at night either.

I definitely recommend this bed and breakfast to those who are not looking for the typical generic hotel experience and am looking to stay in a beautiful place with a lot of personality that one could think of as home while traveling in Brussels. I'd love to stay at this place again just so I can see what the other rooms are like!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaver2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

At last, a place that does not make you feel miserable, lonely and bored. It's very near Trone metro station and the Schumann area, so if you are attending an EU-related meeting it's perfect. 'Chambres en Ville' is stylish and idiosyncratic - I found the headgear decoration in 'Retour d'Afrique' a bit spooky when I arrived, but I had a good night anyway! The welcome was warm, breakfast OK (croissant, bread and spreads, yoghurt, fruit), the room and indeed the bathroom vast and spotlessly clean. And at 80 Euros a night including breakfast, this is very good value for money. No TV in the room (I did not mind one bit) but they have free Wifi access - a must for many business travellers. Tourists with big and heavy suitcases beware: the staircase is fairly narrow, there are lots of stairs and no lift. The breakfast room is exactly as described on the pictures, and it feels like an art gallery. I'm hesitating to recommend this place in case I'm not able to book in future because of popularity!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 70percentcocoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.2 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#2 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stanhope Hotel
Stanhope Hotel
#20 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leopold Brussels
Hotel Leopold Brussels
#5 of 16 in Ixelles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Berger
Hotel Le Berger
#7 of 16 in Ixelles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sgt. Pepper's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sgt. Pepper's B&B

Property: Sgt. Pepper's B&B
Address: Rue de Londres 19, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium (Formerly Chambres en Ville)
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Ideal urban stopover in a cosmopolitan area” Sgt Pepper’s B&B is a welcoming guest house, ideally located in the heart of Brussels in a lively and very happening neighborhood. Our proximity with the European institutions, the Sablon and the Grand Place, guarantees you quick access to the capital’s main landmarks. Originally a mirrors factory (19th century), our house, converted over time to offer four elegant rooms. Each beatle a room and each room a different mood. We love the Beatles and we choose to share this passion with you in a creative and inspiring way. An original and unique experience… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sgt. Pepper's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambres En Ville Hotel Ixelles
Chambres En Ville Brussels
Sgt. Pepper's B&B Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing