We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent location, great rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A-XL Flathotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A-XL Flathotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“decent location, great rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

the room was great. we didn't need any service but the receptionist was friendly. lots of nice places to eat in walking distance.
the hotel itself is on a side street with not much going on but everything is walking distance.
great for budget travellers

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank aandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    23
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
13
16
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Our apartment was large & well equipped. Staying here is a bit like being in a residential block of flats-pretty nondescript. Little garden nice if yr on ground floor. But if you need tourist info, maps, guides, etc, this does not have it.

that is all.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebrewerswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

In my opinion, AXL Flathotel offer the best short-term, serviced apartments in Brussels.

The rooms are big, clean and modern, there's free wi-fi, great location in a cool neighbourhood, and the staff are really helpful and friendly.

It's the only place I stay when I have to visit Brussels and I always recommend it to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

I stayed at the AXL for 8 days in November 2011, and have only good things to say about this place. Well maintained rooms, with a daily cleanup and free wifi. Rooms have all the basic amenities, kitchenware was more than adequate too - with a microwave and a refrigerator.

The location is brilliant - two market streets (the high profile avenue louise, and the budget shopping Matonge area) run parallel to the hotel. Fernand Cocq is the nearest bus stop, and this served as the landmark for us for cab instructions. The central station is only about 5-7 min away by bus.

The hotel is run by a Bulgarian lady, and the staff was very polite and helpful.

I think it would be difficult to get a better value for money stay in this location. Recommended.

PS: call the hotel and bargain for the rate, you may be able to get a better deal than booking straight off the internet (we did!).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prateek_Sanghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Hotel was much better than I expected.

I had a street facing studio that most hotels would describe as a "suite"! Room had large comfortable warm double bed and separated by a wall was a living area with couch, desk and large flat TV. A little kitchenette and bathroom rounded it off.

I was in Brussels for a conference at the EU and it was a short, easy to find, 15 minute walk. There is an express bus to and from the airport (30min/€3 each way) which was very handy.

Staff at the hotel were most friendly and accommodating and really I can't say a bad word about the place. I'd definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: There is a lovely garden at the hotel and I'm sure a room facing it would be quieter. I had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dust2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

I must say that it is difficult to find a clean and not so expensive hotel in the heart of Brussels but we were really surprised when we discovered AXL Flathotel! Clean, specious, comfortable rooms, nice garden view, excellent location and above all very kind, ready to help staff. I highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

I stayed in a very nice apartment in the attic. Great courtesy and attention from the reception staff able to recommend places to dine or shop to buy souvenirs.
Overall, the assessment is very positive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petta69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
1.1 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Brussels, European Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Housingbrussels
Housingbrussels
#1 of 8 in Schaerbeek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel
Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel
#8 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.4 mi away
Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-XL Flathotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-XL Flathotel

Property: A-XL Flathotel
Address: Rue de la Croix 45, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A-XL Flathotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in a green and quiet setting and yet very close to Avenue Louise – fine restaurants, trendy bars and fashionable boutiques – AXL Flathotel offers a wide choice of studios, flats and apartments (from 25 sqm to 90 sqm) fully equipped and designed to make your stay enjoyable, with reduced prices for stays of longer duration.For one night, a few days or several months, enjoy the comfort of our apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your A-XL Flathotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A-XL Flathotel Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing