We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, well situated budget hotel.”
Review of A-XL Flathotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A-XL Flathotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Ixelles
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I stayed at the AXL for 8 days in November 2011, and have only good things to say about this place. Well maintained rooms, with a daily cleanup and free wifi. Rooms have all the basic amenities, kitchenware was more than adequate too - with a microwave and a refrigerator.

The location is brilliant - two market streets (the high profile avenue louise, and the budget shopping Matonge area) run parallel to the hotel. Fernand Cocq is the nearest bus stop, and this served as the landmark for us for cab instructions. The central station is only about 5-7 min away by bus.

The hotel is run by a Bulgarian lady, and the staff was very polite and helpful.

I think it would be difficult to get a better value for money stay in this location. Recommended.

PS: call the hotel and bargain for the rate, you may be able to get a better deal than booking straight off the internet (we did!).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prateek_Sanghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 73 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2011

Hotel was much better than I expected.

I had a street facing studio that most hotels would describe as a "suite"! Room had large comfortable warm double bed and separated by a wall was a living area with couch, desk and large flat TV. A little kitchenette and bathroom rounded it off.

I was in Brussels for a conference at the EU and it was a short, easy to find, 15 minute walk. There is an express bus to and from the airport (30min/€3 each way) which was very handy.

Staff at the hotel were most friendly and accommodating and really I can't say a bad word about the place. I'd definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: There is a lovely garden at the hotel and I'm sure a room facing it would be quieter. I had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dust2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I must say that it is difficult to find a clean and not so expensive hotel in the heart of Brussels but we were really surprised when we discovered AXL Flathotel! Clean, specious, comfortable rooms, nice garden view, excellent location and above all very kind, ready to help staff. I highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I stayed in a very nice apartment in the attic. Great courtesy and attention from the reception staff able to recommend places to dine or shop to buy souvenirs.
Overall, the assessment is very positive.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petta69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Great location, great price, close to amenities, large room.Offstreet parking is free,the hotel also have parking and laundry room.The room had very comfortable bed, together with kitchenette, desk, tea/coffee making facilities, multi-channel TV , internet access (no extra cost).Because I travel a lot on business it really makes a difference.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossi46Brussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very roomy, nice bed, the bathroom and kitchen are very nice. The location is quiet and close to the 71 bus stop in one side and to avenue louise in the other.
The staff is extremely nice and helpful.
On the other hand, It is a bit cold and not well isolated (but that is very common in this city).
There's free wifi, but is not at all high speed.

Room Tip: Pay extra and look at the garden, I think is worthy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ec_grs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Its been a while, I was planing to write a review for the Hotel, but I couldn't find a time as how i was busy on last couple of month after returning from Brussels.
A great hotel with all benefits, Very good room service, No disturbance, fully equipped Kitchen was on my apartment and also good laundry machinery.

Room Tip: Please ask a room which not near to the school where located near the hotel. sometimes children noic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dilanthaonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.3 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,049 reviews
0.5 mi away
Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel
Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel
#7 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Leopold Brussels
Hotel Leopold Brussels
#5 of 15 in Ixelles
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beau Site
Hotel Beau Site
#13 of 15 in Ixelles
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,052 reviews
1.4 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-XL Flathotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-XL Flathotel

Address: Rue de la Croix 45, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range: $109 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A-XL Flathotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in a green and quiet setting and yet very close to Avenue Louise – fine restaurants, trendy bars and fashionable boutiques – AXL Flathotel offers a wide choice of studios, flats and apartments (from 25 sqm to 90 sqm) fully equipped and designed to make your stay enjoyable, with reduced prices for stays of longer duration.For one night, a few days or several months, enjoy the comfort of our apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your A-XL Flathotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A-XL Flathotel Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing