We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food - No atmosphere”
Review of Brasserie Leopold

Brasserie Leopold
Reserve with
Brasserie Leopold is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 183 Restaurants in Ixelles
Price range: $17 - $56
Cuisines: Belgian, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Brasserie Leopold is a traditional restaurant and has been serving high quality food at a reasonable price for more than 30 years.We have a daily 2 course lunch menu from 21.00 Eur with a glass of house wine from 4.50 eur. Food is traditional Belgian and international with a modern slant - Carbonnade Flamande, Tomate crevettes, solettes, rabbit etc.Vegetarian and vegan options daily. The wine list and up to date menu can be found at our brasserie-leopold.be website Our motto ? Its always a pleasure !
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good Food - No atmosphere”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were there on a Sunday evening, as we were staying at the Hotel. The food was very good, however, there were only 7 people in the restaurant which could possible seat 80 -100, as a result there was no atmosphere, not the restaurants fault, perhaps background music would take the sterile atmosphere away?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WillBill55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Brasserie Leopold, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear WillBill55
Thank you for spending your hard-earned money in our Belgian brasserie style restaurant. I am happy to hear that you ate well and that the food and service were good. Whilst it is true we can seat 220 people, the restaurant is so arranged that we have 6 different areas, which form cosy quiet areas, with seating for maximum of 30 customers each. I am sure one of the reasons that you were eating with us on a Sunday evening, is that we were actually open. To my knowledge we are the only restaurant that offer 7/7 service in the area :), so maybe your 'sterile' comment is a little harsh ? Nobody else has ever used that word to describe our establishment.
We look forward to serving you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    54
    21
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyneham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food and generous portions”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

A very good meal - 3 courses and a bottle of wine for around 50 euros each felt excellent value compared to Brussels prices generally. Could not fault the quality and presentation of the dishes and all ingredients fresh.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Brasserie Leopold, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Andrew A
Many thanks for your kind comments. I agree with you - we offer high quality freshly made food, well presented at a reasonable price :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraainem, Belgium
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food, quiet atmosphere”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was our second visit to Brasserie Leopold for my husband and me. We thoroughly enjoyed both our visits. The Lasagne is amazing. The steak and fries also a good choice as well as the Flemish Beef stew and fries. Tender with great depth of flavor. The service is wonderful, especially by Belgium standards. The waiters there are attentive and the food comes fairly quickly. Most enjoyable is the quiet atmosphere which allows for conversation and savoring of the evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Brasserie Leopold, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear CarolA
Greta to hear we looked after you well enough on your first visit, that you decided to come back and even more happy to see that the second time things went just as well !
Good service (for Belgium :) )and high quality food in a good atmosphere are what we are all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Go here to try the Tagliatelle”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a quiet little restaurant attached to the hotel. I had a rump steak (which was very good) and my Wife had the vegetarian Tagliatelle, she was so impressed with it that she recommended that I sample some her dish, it was just divine, I suspect that it had a truffle sauce; one of the best dishes I have ever been served in a Restaurant, most unexpected and for a very reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julianeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Brasserie Leopold, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear julianeagle

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your meal at our Brasserie. We are very proud of the good service, the high quality freshly made food and the great prices we offer.

The tortellini (not tagliatelle) that your wife had is one of our most popular dishes, made with fresh truffle oil, mushrooms and a creamy sauce and the steak (in fact all our meat) comes from the same butchers that supply most of the Michelin starred restaurants in the city...We prepare it a bit more simply but the quality....

Glad you found the place quiet. It is the low season during summer, so most places close for 2-6 weeks. We stay open 7 days a week, keeping the good folk of Ixelles/Elsene well fed :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great evening”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Lovely night had by both me and my husband on my birthday. Used a very good value Groupon voucher. We had the beef steak and beef stew and lovely house wine (red).
Nothing bad to say - hope to come back again soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Asya86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Brasserie Leopold, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Asya86
Thank your for your very positive feedback on your experience at our Brasserie. We think we provide great value for money and I am glad you agree !! House wine at 14 eur a bottle can't be bad.
We look forward to welcoming you back. Our next new seasonal menu begins at the beginning of October 2013, until then it's summer salads and our classic Belgian dishes...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Leopold also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Brasserie Leopold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing