We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not too expensive, not bad for young tourists” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sun Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not too expensive, not bad for young tourists”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I spent one night in the hotel because of late night meetings one day followed by early morning meetings the next morning (am a commuter in Belgium, but it's about 2 hours travel one way, so sometimes it is handy to sleep over).

I choose this hotel because of the price. The single room had a 1,20 m bed, a good shower, a small table, a window. Breakfast (5€ extra) is good value.

I will not return to this hotel for work reasons as there were loud guests in the corridors who woke me too often (the whole point of getting some rest between work days got lost this way), but it is an OK place for young travellers who want to visit Brussels.

It's well located for shopping (Avenue Louise, Sablon, Marolles are 10 minutes away) and for a visit in Matonge, the Congolese neighbourhood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FVM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    34
    21
    12
See reviews for
10
16
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Cheap accommodation for a four bed private room with ensuite. Simple design, nothing special, could do with a bit of renovations (eg bathroom door almost falling off, paint not the greatest). Spacious room, small bathroom (especially shower), but still sufficient. The room was very clean, and was kept that way. New towels and shampoo everyday, the cleaning staff were lovely. Unsure as to whether the kitchen was for public or private use, we presumed public as its accessible from the breakfast room and downstairs toilets...although apparently it's a private kitchen!
We arrived early in the morning after a long bus trip, and we're luckily granted an early check in, which helped us with our much needed sleep!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

This place is new, but it kind of had the feel that it was built by someone's brother and not an official contractor. Edges were unfinished, some tiles not grouted, none of the doors matched up quite right. Because my door didn't fit, light poured in all night and there are no blackout curtains which made sleeping quite difficult. Also there is a lot of construction in the area which awoke me at 6am every morning. There is no A/C, so I needed to sleep with the windows open.
I extended my stay because of changes in my travel itinerary and on the day I was originally going to check out, I intended to ask if they needed me to pay now for the first days or not, but no one was at the front desk. When I returned, the front desk employee got kind of confrontational with me about paying for the nights I had stayed so far. It seemed unnecessary since I was completely fine with this and made me quite uncomfortable. The location is good, near Louise Street and the metro station Naamespoort, but I would see if I could stay somewhere else next time since I left the place quite sleep deprived.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of building to minimize street and construction noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirtydirtyretro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

sun hotel rooms are clean but reception staff need more training regarding customer service.Reception area really dirty...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maguire2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ixelles hotels

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Great value hotel, 20 mins walk down to lower town. Rooms clean and newly refurbished but obviously done on a shoe string (Ikea furniture, toilet roll holder coming out of wall) but really very nice for the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

The hotel itself is brand new and very comfortable, the breakfast is copious and the staff is very helpful. The main drawback is that almost every building on the street are under rehabilitation. It is very convenient to the Porte de Namur metro station. Once out of the street the neigbourhood is good and only a few 100 meters from Avenue de la Toison d'Or and Avenue Louise. it is a great value for the price if you do not mind the constructions on the street.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room on the back so you do not hear the construction noise in the neigbouring bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malagamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Berger
Hotel Le Berger
#7 of 16 in Ixelles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beau Site
Hotel Beau Site
#14 of 16 in Ixelles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#72 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Hotel

Property: Sun Hotel
Address: Rue du Berger 38, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing