We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel with a nice breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Argus Brussels
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
tr
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Cheap hotel with a nice breakfast”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We have stayed for two nights in the hotel and liked its location. Close to public transportation and located parallel to a luxirious street where you can wander around with joy. The room can be called nice but the bathroom was bad and not clean (grey towels). Most of the hotels do not include breakfast in the room price in Brussels which is not the case for hotel Argus. The hotel was easy to go and cheap compared to others and had a nice breakfast. It was difficult to find the staff when you called but we went there only for the nights, so it was not a problem for us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    72
    50
    20
    6
See reviews for
16
51
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I have stayed here on and off in Brussels for the past 12 years. It still beats the competition out of sight for being confortable, friendly, breakfast included, and so close to the Place Louise Metro andn Tram connections. The other places I have tried are now charging 200 euros or more, whereas Argos has kept its prices fairly low for many years.

Brussels hotel prices are crazy, and when you get the former Hilton Hotel changing its name to "The Hotel", you start to wonder what's going on!! However, it's still Argos for me - friendly, comfortable, breakfast included, and close to tram and metro connections.....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Once you have managed to locate the hotel, we drove by car, it looks a bit disappointing from the outside. Inside reception though is quite nice and check in was quick and easy.
We had a room on the second floor. There is a lift but it is quite a small one and 2 people and a suitcase are quite a squeeze. The room had a nice double bed, but only a thin pillow each, tv, fridge, wardrobe, chair, desk and air con. Our room was above the street and we had some noise at night time. The bathroom was nice, a very powerful shower as were the other facilities. There were also tea and coffee making facilities.
Breakfast was a bit of a let down. Choice of cold hard boiled eggs, some strange bread, 2, yes 2 choices of cereal, a pastry each and what can only be described as hollow rolls. Not impressed and would not return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robwatkins82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ixelles hotels

seine maritime
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

The bedroom and bathroom weren't at all in accordance with the pictures of web sites.

- Moreover, the bath was dilapidated : mooving, so unsafe handle, no stopper so it was impossible to have a bath but just a shower ( we had to complain at the reception).

- The first morning at 8.30, no more hot water to finish a normal shower... As you can guess, It wasn't enjoyable at all to rince the shampoo with cold water!

- Also the room was so dark, (located under the reception corridor), that in broad day it was almost like night and we had no idea about the weather unless going out of the hotel.

- In addition there were still marks of presence of the previous couple who occuped the room : glitters on armchair and fake rose petal stuck under the door.

- I was about to forget : the minibar was empty.

- Two positives points : the breakfast & the welcoming of staff.

In a nutshell, if you're looking for a romantic stay abroad, it's not the right place. But if you just need a place to sleep not too far of the city center then you can go.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiya0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
416 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Having returned to Argus, I now had a room at the front. The elevator was extremely tiny, but the room was modern, sufficiently spacious and well equipped. Large closet and a water cooker (unfortunately no coffee). Good service and breakfast served with a wide enough choice (semi-buffet style). I liked it again. Certainly not luxurious compared to other hotels in the area, but a good bet in terms of price, service and facilities

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ortwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Located about 10 minutes walk from the View point. 15 minutes touristic walk to the city center. However, the street the hotel sits in is the one with all the boutiques like Chanel, Dior, Armani, etc. Nice. Quite. Ok breakfast. Good for tourists who just come to their room to sleep. The room was clean.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor. All was good apart from the fact that we had to carry the suitcases down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

The location is excellent, just off the metro. Easy walk (approx 20 min) to old center. Restaurants and other services in proximity. Nice clean renovated rooms. Noisy hallway. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sacados91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.5 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#77 of 199 in Brussels
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#16 of 199 in Brussels
4,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Le Louise
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Berger
Hotel Le Berger
#7 of 16 in Ixelles
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Argus Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argus Brussels

Property: Hotel Argus Brussels
Address: Rue Capitaine Crespel 6, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Argus Brussels 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Argus Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Argus Brussels Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing