We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Konigswinter, Germany
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great value”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was our first time in this hotel. The hotel was very nice. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Check in took a little longer than normal but hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. There are definitely hotels closer to the Grand Place but this hotel is only a 20 minute walk, a short bus ride, or a 10 Euro taxi ride after the busses quit running. This was one of our most enjoyable stays in Brussels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDs1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    693
    231
    79
    33
See reviews for
212
559
89
431
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

It is the hotel our family stayed in some 5 times in the last 12 months. It is perfect for a short 2 night stay as a city retreat over the weekend. The staff is extremely accomodating and allocates us the best room to fit our needs. If you return, they will value it. This time we stayed in executive suite with plenty of space for additional bed for our daughter and chat with our friends from Holland whom we also encouraged to book the room in here. They were equaly pleased with the service they received and will also be coming back. Everybody from reception through housekeeping makes sure you are comfortable and unrestrained. You feel like tipping all the time. Executive lounge is very relaxing with always the same but very good wine. Big standout in Marriott chain with great value for money over the weekend. Will call again soon.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pekao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
188 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I was here for a conference and the staff was great. Multilingual, of course, and the front desk and bell staff were fantastic and quite helpful.

Not many options for dining and the restaurant is quite expensive. The food our group was served was good, but there is no snack bar or gift shop for a quick bite. Room service is also pricey of course.

The fitness center is amazing. There are a LOT of machines and I never had to wait for a treadmill.

I would not say there were a lot of places nearby to eat, and you are on the fringe of the city. As a female, I felt safe walking around the area which is very important.

Mattress was a little on the firm side. Plenty of channels in many languages although I could not find enough Olympic coverage.

Room Tip: This is a quiet location so most rooms would be okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This has been one of the worst Marriott hotels I have stayed at. I am a platinum elite member with the Marriott rewards program and have had the oppurtunity to stay in some truly amazing places. This was not one of them. From the first encounter I was met by rude, unproffessional, and argumentative staff. The rooms were average at best but were much worse due to the inability to control the tempature and the inability of the staff to address any concern that was brought to them. The breakfast was ok once you ran the gauntlet of scowling unpleasant staff asking for your room number before greeting you. To top it all off the night we stayed the hotel decided that it would be condusive to relaxation to have a dance party that could be clearly heard on the fifth floor. When it was asked of them to turn down the music they replied that this will go on for a while so there is nothing we can do. It was an event coordinated by the hotel which apparently lost all control over the DJ and could not direct the flow of the night. At 2300 hours and three complaints the dance club finally stopped. When checking out the following morning I was asked how my stay was and told them it was horrible. I told them I just want to leave the hotel and do not want to discuss it. The woman would NOT allow me to check out until I explained why my stay was bad. I actually had to plea with her to just let me leave the hotel because I was becoming so frustrated. several of the other people in line to check out were clearly just as frustrated and began to express their agreement with the complaints I was raising. When the receptionist saw the mob turning on her she couldnt check me out fast enough! Overall HORRIBLE. I will never stay here again. My connecting hotel stay was at a Renaissance in Switzerland and I was very pleased to find that the attitude and lack of customer service was exclusive to the Brussels location. There are several good hotels in the area that I would recomend over here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hotel was reasonable and the staff friendly at the time although the food I had was the worst I've ever had in Belgium. My main problem was that after settling the remainder of my bill in cash on check out (the main charge was prepaid through Eurostar) I was subsequently charged another 25Euros on the credit card that I given details of on check-in. When I rang to query I was told it was for breakfast that I thought was included but then was put on hold while they looked into it further. Someone else then came back to me who didn't know what my query was. When I commented on the cost of my call from the UK to Brussels they agreed to ring me back but it seems I am still waiting for the call! I looked for an email address to contact them but could not find anything. Ok I could accept that it's possible I misunderstood the room rate in booking through Eurostar and 25Euros is not a vast amount but the response to my query from a hotel that is not the best value means that I will certainly not be going back there.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us from your recent stay at the Renaissance Brussels hotel. As you can imagine we are dismayed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us mainly due to the fact that no one has come back to you regarding your issue. This is absolutely not the Marriott service we strive to provide and I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused. I would be more than happy to assist you personally in the matter. I kindly invite you to contact me directly by email on rhi.brubr.guest.relations.supervisor@renaissancehotels.com . We would like to thank you for your lovely comments shared concerning our friendly ambassadors. I look forward in hearing from you and genuinely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

My fiancée and I have stayed at this hotel many times since 2011. In fact it is our defacto hotel when visiting Brussels. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and has a metro stop within a 5 minute walk that is only 3 stops from the Grand Place and all of the sights/activities. Only issues with the hotel are that the parking and breakfast are overpriced and the bar shuts down too early. I would recommend this hotel for weekend stays as during the week it is a bit pricier as it is close to the EU HQ.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dgedutis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Renaissance Brussels Hotel is one of my favorite hotels in Brussel. The location is not so great for tourists but great for members of the EU and for business. I find the staff to be very friendly and helpful. As an Elite Member I always feel welcomed. The rooms are large, good lighting and nice beds. The executive lounge is small but does offer a good breakfast, The roomservice is very good and the prices are very reasonable. Parking is available next door. All together a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumeirah23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.1 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#3 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.8 mi away
9Hotel Sablon
9Hotel Sablon
#13 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#14 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#12 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Brussels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Brussels Hotel

Property: Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Address: Rue du Parnasse 19, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ixelles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Business Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Family Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Brussels Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Brussels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brussels Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Brussels
Renaissance Brussels Hotel Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing