We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business traveller's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Very nice rooms, good breakfast, and friendly service. I stayed at this hotel many, many times over the past ten years. In a quiet area, close to EU. Close walk to several restaurants, or an easy drive into city center.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Reagan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Many thanks for your loyalty with the Renaissance Brussels hotel. We are always delighted to have you stay with us. We thank you for your lovely comments shared regarding our nicely appointed rooms, large selection of breakfast items and our friendly service. We would like to wish you a Happy and successful New Year to you and your family! Please come visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 1,592 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

On a quiet street very close to the European Parliament and across from the Gare Bruxelles-Luxembourg. Not brilliant for the main tourist sights, which are a fair schlep on foot, although there are several bus stops around Place du Luxembourg one block over.
Ample parking off-street, or a 12 or 21 articulated bus between the airport and Rue de Trèves on the edge of the Place du Luxembourg. To/ from the bus stop is only a few minutes on foot if you're lightly loaded and a single ticket only €3.50 from the machine (€6 from the driver), but beware the bus journey : get a seat or you're in for 40 minutes of swaying, creaking, jolting misery as it toboggans around every roundabout in Brussels.
The hotel itself was a surprise. I expected another warmed-over Marriott relic, but while it wasn't the Marquis in Dubai the staff were great and the place was immaculate. The reception surpassed even the Amsterdam Marriott for friendliness, efficiency and helpfulness and I observed similar attention given to non-French speakers. MR gold got an upgrade to the club level (1st floor), free wifi - I had three devices running simultaneously and speeds over 400kB/s - and free American breakfast each morning as the lounge was closed at weekends, which is apparently the norm. Peered into the lounge in passing and it looks to be very small. If it's anything like the lounges I've seen in other European Marriotts recently I'd probably skip paying extra for access. Didn't try the restaurant or bar in the evening; plenty of other places to eat nearby.
The room was a good size with a street view over the front of the hotel. I usually spec a high floor but there was practically no street noise through the weekend and given that the hotel's surrounded by buildings of roughly the same height I doubt a high floor would offer you much.
Pretty standard Marriott interior : bed felt firm; enough storage for a short stay; as many channels as you want; work desk; nice lounger and footrest by the big window; empty minibar (there are a couple of mini markets off the Place du Luxembourg for water and snacks). A couple more power points would be nice; other than that, no complaints. As for the bathroom, though : tiny. Minimal toiletries and shower/bath combi, both of which I expect. Spare toilet roll holder at shin height bang in front of the toilet, which I don't expect and didn't appreciate much.
Complaints ? Niggles, really. No flannels first night, I really would appreciate a comped bottle of mineral water on arrival, and I like a 24-hour gym because I work weird hours. None of these is a deal breaker; the location was ideal for my business, the staff were faultlessly polite and cheerful and the price was right. Happy to return.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank voronUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

We would like to start by wishing you and your family a very Happy New Year! Thank you for staying at the Renaissance Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for sharing your experience with us. We thank you for provided the essential travel information. This will be very useful for all our future discoverers. We would like to also express our gratitude for comments shared regarding our friendly and efficient ambassadors and our spacious rooms. This is the Marriott service we so strive to provide. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our divine Marriott beddings. We have taken notes of your comments regarding the additional power points, bottle water in the room and the opening hours of the World Class. Please come visit us again next time you will be in Brussels and do not forget to recommend us to your friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Had a great weekend break away in Brussels and the Renaissance hotel was ideal. I go on many city breaks across Europe and this hotel is one of the best I have stayed in. The rooms are big, the bed is comfortable and the staff are very helpful and polite. The only downsides were the room was a bit stuffy and no free wifi in the room but that is not a huge problem as it is available lobby. The area the hotel is situated in is also very nice with no bother what so ever.

The hotel is not far from the centre and is easily walkable as we did it several times. It is a pleasant walk past the Royal Palace. If walking is not for you then a bus can easily be found to take you to the centre.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mas00069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Renaissance Brussels hotel. We are delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and sincerely appreciate your lovely comments shared. We are thrilled to hear that you will recommend us to your friends. We are excited about having the pleasure of accommodating you again at the Renaissance Brussels hotel! Happy New Year to you and your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The location of Renaissance Hotel was not the most convenient for me but all the other hotels were booked. The surroundings are rather quiet in the evening although there are a few restaurants and a supermarket nearby. It's about 15 minutes' walk to the main EU buildings (apart from the Parliament which is closer). Unfortunately, the airport bus didn't go that far in the evening, so I had to walk from Berlaymont.

I got a nice room upstairs - the usual furniture and stuff but with some extra attention to details. The room faced the yard and was quiet. What I didn't like were the pillows; one was too thick and the other one too thin.

Breakfast was included in the price - normal good choice + fresh waffles.

Renaissance is one of those typical business hotels in the EU area with one difference: downstairs there is a sports club with a pool, and it's free for the customers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maril_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance hotel for your recent stay in Brussels. We are located in the European Quarter, very close to the Parliament offering a quiet environment. The Luxembourg square is a two minute walk away where you can find several bars and restaurants. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your garden view room. For your next stay with us, please do not hesitate to request for a change of pillows which we will happily provide you with. We offer a large selection of American buffet where you can also prepare your own waffles. This is to allow our guests to discover the delights of Belgium. We also offer free access to the World Class center where you can enjoy a large work out area, a sauna and also the swimming pool. We look forward in welcoming you back soon! Happy New Year and all the best for 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I chose this hotel as a Marriott Gold member, even though it's a bit of a hike to the city center. My friend and I were visiting Saturday and Sunday nights for a quick two-night stay in Brussels, and this was about 60 euros cheaper a night than the Marriott at Grand Place.
The service was excellent, and we were warmly welcomed even though arriving a couple hours early. Pierre-Yves offered excellent advice for getting around Brussels, and for a day trip to Gent.
The rooms were comfortable, with nice twin beds and spacious accommodations. The bathrooms were clean and good quality. My only complaint would be the heating/air conditioning system, as it seemed to always be warm in the room despite turning down the temperature setting, plus the bathroom had no ventilation. I actually did not sleep well one night because it would not cool down in the room.
As a Marriott Gold member, I had free WiFi, which is a charge for standard guests, but it worked just fine. I also had club lounge access, but this was closed on Saturday, and didn't open until Sunday evening. Even then, this was a small lounge, and didn't offer too much, though I can't complain about complimentary Belgian beer. The breakfast selection in the lounge was also average at best.
The location is about 20-25 minutes walking to the city center/ Grand Place. It can be a bit confusing if you're new or not good at navigating European cities, especially without phone service. During the weekend, the European Quarter is pretty dead, and many restaurants were not even open. However, we enjoyed the walk through the Royal Palace area and Sablon to get to city center.
If I were staying for business for the EU institutions nearby, this would be a really good choice. I'd probably want to stay in the city center if on another personal trip though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback concerning your recent stay at the Renaissance Brussels hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to thank you for your great comments regarding our comfortable spacious and clean rooms. As you can imagine I am disheartened to hear that the air condition system was not working correctly in your room which meant you did not sleep well on one of the nights. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused. We provide free Wi-Fi in our public areas and Wi-Fi in the room for a fee. For our Elite members this is of course included for them. We are located in the European Quarter very close to the Parliament offering ideal transportation links to the city center from the square Luxembourg. It is a 20-25minutes walk to the city center however you pass through several highlights including the Royal Palace, Magritte Museum etc. Please do not forget to recommend us to your friends and come visit us very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here for a short weekend break at beginning of December. Service with a smile from reception, which is always good to see. Very efficient check-in. Big comfortable rooms and very very clean. Great location, just a short bus ride into the centre. Hotel bar at night had reasonable priced drinks and again great service.
Short queue in morning for breakfast but well worth waiting for as there was plenty of choice and food was hot.

In conclusion great location, very clean and all hotel staff greeted you with a warm smile.

Room Tip: Hotel is in quiet area so no road noise. We stayed in 404.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howardboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your recent stay at the Renaissance Brussels hotel. We are delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations with us mainly with the service you received with a smile. We would like to thank you for your lovely comments shared regarding our clean and comfortable rooms. Our Schengen bar is open on a daily basis from 10am to 01am. Do not miss our Happy Hour and our cocktail of the week! Please come visit us again next time you will be in Brussels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Enjoyed a great stay at this hotel last weekend as it was very comfortable and relaxing.

We stayed in a club room which was very comfortable and had good quality furnishings and fitments,all of which were immaculately clean.
The reception staff were exteremely helpful and polite, they even recommended and booked a table for us at a local restaurant which as superb.

Breakfast was self service with a good selection ie bacon,eggs,fruit,toast etc plus the usual continental fayre.

The hotel is about a 10 minute taxi ride from the Grand Place where there is an abundance of restaurants, cafes, historic buildings and of course chocolatiers!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank where_next_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Many thanks for your recent stay at the Renaissance hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you appreciated your stay with us. We would like to thank you for your lovely comments regarding our comfortable clean rooms, our helpful ambassadors and our large selection of American breakfast. Please do not forget to recommend us to your friends and we are looking to welcoming you back among us! Happy New Year to you and your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.1 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#2 of 15 in Ixelles
440 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#17 of 199 in Brussels
4,770 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Brussels, European Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
9Hotel Sablon
9Hotel Sablon
#15 of 199 in Brussels
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#16 of 199 in Brussels
1,534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Brussels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Brussels Hotel

Address: Rue du Parnasse 19, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Family Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Business Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range: $61 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Brussels Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the energy of Belgium's capital city from sophisticated accommodations at Renaissance Brussels Hotel. Enjoy staying in the heart of the European Quarter at our hotel in Brussels located near famous destinations in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Brussels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brussels Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Brussels
Renaissance Brussels Hotel Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing