We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Almost perfect business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Like most people staying in this hotel, it's for a business trip, so I actually don't know the room rates (my office paid) nor whether it's "good value" relative to other hotels. What I can say is this is a VERY high quality hotel with spacious, modern and comfortable rooms and an excellent breakfast buffet (evening meals are less spectacular). Brussels is small so the location, whilst not absolutely central, is fine, particularly if you are here for business with the EU. One minor annoyance: whose idea was it to put flashing smoke detectors on the ceiling! So many little lights in the room with the TV and thermostat as well -annoying when you're trying to sleep!

Room Tip: The area is so quiet you need not worry being on the "quiet side".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djwill83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance hotel for your recent stay in Brussels and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your comments regarding the high quality of our property, our spacious, modern rooms and our excellent breakfast buffet selection. Indeed, we are located in the European Quarter, near the Parliament and close to the square Luxembourg where you have access to buses for all over the city. We have taken good note of your comments regarding the flashing smoke detectors. We hope of having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    689
    231
    78
    33
See reviews for
210
554
89
427
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cremona, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel is placed close to the EU Parliament, just behind Place Luxembourg, in a quiet street. Rooms are very quiet, fine, cleaned, sufficiently spacious and well equipped (with iron and ironing board, great LCD TV). Room service is very good as well as the assistance of the staff at the reception. The restaurant offers a limited number of excellent courses. SPA is adequate and confortable. I found the hotel sligthly overpriced mainly because Wifi Internet connection is for free in the lobby but one has to pay - not peanuts - to connect in the room. Otherwise location, confort and service well justify the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Many thanks for your reviews of the Renaissance Brussels hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the accommodation has exceeded your expectations. We are glad that you enjoyed the rooms with modern equipment and amenities, as well as the room service. We have taken note of your comments regarding the internet. I appreciate your feedback about the breakfast and would like to inform you that we do have special packages available for our guests without internet, including breakfast, internet and parking at a discounted rate.
Please come and visit us again when you are next in Brussels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

It is an ok hotel, good value for money. I do not understand the no free wi-fi policy and no internet in rooms. And if you are a light sleeper this may not be a good fit for you as it can get loud outside, or it can be that I had that luck.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djejbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Renaissance Brussels hotel and for taking the time to share your comments and feedback. We are located in the European Quarter, near the Parliament and close to the square Luxembourg where you have access to buses for all over the city. We have taken note of the comments regarding internet. We hope you will visit us next time you are in Brussels and we hope that we will exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Located just outside the city ring road, it is a 10 minute walk from the main areas. The immediate vicinity can be very quiet, but the nearby Matonge district is a bit more lively.

Our arrival was very welcoming, the reception staff were very friendly and upgraded our room. The room was, therefore obviously, of a good standard. Spacious, well adorned and with a good range of facilities. The bed was extremely comfortable, a crucial factor.

The hotel decor generally is a little dated, though the lobby bar area looks to have a good ambience (regrettably, I didn't actually use it). The room service menu isn't overly impressive (not enough choice) but we did get breakfast delivered to the room and it was very well done. The only downside was, on our second day of ordering they made a few mistakes (missed one dish, didn't tell us which coffee was/wasn't decaf).

Unfortunately check-out wasn't as good as check-in. There was a long queue and what seemed quite a slow process. We left our bags for a while and when we returned it took a little while to get then back - one member of staff was dealing with people before us and her colleague had no interest in helping. She wasn't serving anybody else, so appeared not to be putting the customer first.

Overall, I thought it was a good hotel. My gripes are quite minor and isolated to particular moments in the stay. I would recommend it provided you aren't keen on staying right in the centre.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PeterJohnCotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel and for taking the time to share your comments and feedback. We are delighted that your welcome was very friendly and we had the opportunity to upgrade you. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our spacious clean rooms and nicely furnished. We are happy to see you enjoyed our divine Marriott beddings. We have taken good note of your comments regarding the room service and will use them as a way to improve. I would like to apologize for the waiting time experienced on check out. We will be glad to welcome you again in our hotel in your future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Hotel has otherwise an excellent location if not the central place and with very good connectivity to every part of Brussels. I stayed in their Executive apartments for 19 nights and my overall experience was very good. The rooms are clean and the staff are very co-operative. There is a very good state-of-art gym although I did not utilize that service as I was often late from office. A few things were not upto the mark a hotel of such repute should have. While the bathroom and the kitchen were clean, the taps and the pipes need a bit of overhauling, the deep freezer handle inside the fridge was broken and the lampshade needed to be changed which I informed the staff and hopefully would be taken care of shortly.
Overall I would strongly recommend this hotel to my friends & colleagues who visit Brussels.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swaps2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at the Marriott Executive Apartments. Thank you for your lovely comments on our clean apartments and our friendly staff members. We have taken note of your comments regarding the taps, pipes and the fridge. Indeed we are ideally located in the European Quarter, near the Parliament and two minute walk from the square Luxembourg where you have access to buses for all over the city. We look forward in welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a week and overall it was ok, but nothing special.
The reception guys were polite and helpful, but the room was old and not successfully renovated. The bathtub needs to be changed and the toiletries supplied were nice.
Breakfast was basic and the new plates were dirty, so I had to skip approximately 5 to find a clean one to serve my food. This is not acceptable from a good hotel.
Plus the rooms need more careful cleaning as the side table was full of dust and stains, which was again disgusting.
If a few parts are renovated and they focus more on cleanness it will become a very good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and feedback from your recent stay at the Renaissance Brussels hotel. I am dismayed to hear about the incident you experienced in the breakfast room, this is absolutely not the Marriott service we strive to provide. Please be ensured we took your comments regarding the breakfast and the cleanliness of the room and shared them with our Management team. We look forward to welcoming you soon at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Renaissance Hotel in Brussels is a classic quality hotel. It is affiliated with the Marriott chain, and thereby honors Marriott Rewards accommodations. The concierge room was under renovation in August 2013, so some makeshift arrangements were provided. The hotel is off the beaten path (closer to the European sector). However, it is close to several bus stops which get you to center city. Staff at the hotel are friendly and responsive.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ELLOR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Many thanks for your recent stay at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback. We would like to thank you for the lovely comments shared regarding the friendly and responsive staff. The location of our hotels is indeed in the European Quarter, being next to the major European Institutions and 5 minutes by foot away from the closest metro station. We will be glad to welcome you again in our hotel in your future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.1 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#2 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.8 mi away
9Hotel Sablon
9Hotel Sablon
#13 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#16 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#14 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Brussels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Brussels Hotel

Property: Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Address: Rue du Parnasse 19, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ixelles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Business Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Family Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Brussels Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Brussels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brussels Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Brussels
Renaissance Brussels Hotel Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing