We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, great gym, poor food & service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
241 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Nice room, great gym, poor food & service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice hotel room, quiet place/street not too far from the city center. Probably the largest hotel gym facility I ever seen (they have an agreement with a regular gym club which shares the same building). For business travelers who intend to dine there, the offer is extremely limited and poor. Service too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matoux00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    689
    231
    78
    33
See reviews for
210
554
89
427
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

LOCATION-
The hotel isn't located centrally but it's near the Brussels-Luxembourg railway station. I was arriving by train from Germany so I had already purchased the transfer from Brussels Nord to Luxembourg. Very uncomplicated to do. Upon exiting the station, the hotel is not far at all. It's literally a block or so down the side street that borders the station. The area is great. Cafes, restaurants, and very small grocers are in the immediate area. Thus, there is no need to waste money on expensive hotel food. And being outside of the central area, the prices at these places are very reasonable. It was VERY hot and humid when we traveled in late July so we opted for the City Sight-Seeing Hop On/Off Bus to get to all of the major landmarks. The bus picks up and drops off a block from the hotel, which is very convenient. Walking into town is doable. About a 20-30 minute walk, which is a nice walk when it's not so humid.

Note: a taxi from this hotel to the a/p (BRU) will cost about 45 euro.

STAFF-
The staff tried to be helpful but some weren't very knowledgeable about much. I wasn't impressed with the "I don't knows" or "I'm not sure, I'm not from here" responses. Well then, find out! Customer service, right?

ROOMS-
The rooms were very nicely updated. Clean, decent size, with comfortable bedding. The reason I'm not giving this property an above average rating is because of the fact that they turn off the AC at night, which makes it very uncomfortable considering this was a summer trip. Our window couldn't be opened because it was broken so that was another negative.

I do like the area but I'm not certain I'd stay here again. I'm a loyal Marriott guest but I'm thinking this property may be managed by another company. Might try the Marriott located centrally next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is quite close to Trone metro stop and the Royal Palace is a fifteen minute walk away. Quick check-in and a very comfortable room. Our major disappointment was the breakfast.
On the first morning (a Saturday), the clearing and setting of tables was slow, coffee was left as the tables were set, with the result that it was far from hot. The cereals, cold meats, bread looked fine, but only the baked beans on the hot selection were at the correct temperature; the other items, bacon, sausage, mushrooms, etc. were barely warm. No items were labelled, no toaster or waffle maker available. I complained at the front desk and was told my complaint would be passed on. We'd had quite a good deal on the internet and had paid for breakfast as part of that.
By Sunday morning, a toaster had appeared and the items on the hot buffet were better. The toaster didn't work properly due to the thinness of the bread, unless you liked charcoaled toast. However, by Monday morning the whole breakfast experience had improved quite a bit - all food and drink items were now labelled clearly, we could order toast from the waiter, a waffle maker joined the ensemble, the hot items were hot and the room itself looked less cluttered and better organised. Although we weren't eating at the crack of dawn, we were always down for breakfast by 10:15 am and they didn't finish until 11:00, so all items should have been still freshly available.
We stayed in three hotels during our eight nights away and the Renaissance Brussels finishes a clear third in terms of breakfast: nowhere near the standards of the Melia Luxembourg or the Ter Duinen in Bruges. A cynical view would be that the hotel has lower expectations for the clientele over the weekend (i.e. not business people).
There were several really nice restaurants/cafes within five minutes walk of the Renaissance to get breakfast and that would have been a far better option. Perhaps we were unlucky, but if I stayed here again it would be on a room only basis. Don't pay for an UNSATISFACTORY BREAKFAST!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance hotel for recent stay in Brussels and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Feedback from our guests is a very important tool for us as it enables us to pinpoint our weak areas and improve them accordingly. As you can imagine, we are dismayed to read that we did not exceed your expectations with us mainly due the breakfast experience in the weekend. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. Please be assured that we took your letter as occasion to discuss this point with the Managers of the concerned departments. As service and guest experience is the most important matter in the hotel, we will take the necessary actions to improve accordingly. Our aim is to satisfy all individual needs and to ensure that all our guests will keep a most memorable experience. We sincerely hope of having the pleasure of exceeding your expectations during your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

we booked this hotel as we wanted a pool and the gym was a good bonus for my boyfriend. We got a brilliant deal, £171 for 4 nights, breakfast and internet included for both of us! Everyone was so helpful, we forgot an adapter plug and this was no problem, they helped us print documents and book restaurants. Breakfast buffet was lovely, waffle maker, cereals, toast, croissants etc. It's not in the centre of Brussels but it doesn't really matter, 5 minute walk to the metro and then just a couple of tube stops. Would definitely recommed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sox1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Renaissance Brussels hotel and for taking the time to share your comments with us. We would like to thank you for your lovely comments shared regarding our helpful, anticipating staff and our large selection of breakfast buffet. Indeed, we are ideally located in European Quarter offering easy access to the highlights of the city. Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I used this hotel for business and found it was in a good location and gave good service. Just what i expected of the brand. Its one I would visit and stay again. Well worth the price and nice place to rest the head

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1247912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
170 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent business hotel with (for Europe) large and well equipped, generally well-lit rooms, available computers for internet access and a fine breakfast. Very convenient to the main EU buildings. Unflashy but good value for money.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing Renaissance hotel for your stay in Brussels. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Thank you for your great comments on our hotel, rooms and breakfast. Indeed, we are ideally located in European Quarter offering easy access to the highlights of the city. We look forward in welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Like many others here we booked this hotel after reading the many good reviews on tripadvisor.

If you want a comfy clean modern room served by friendly helpful staff at what really is a great rate for a quality hotel then I cant hesitate to recommend the Renaissance Brussels.

Ive nothing else to add as all the other reviews tell you all you need to know.

Keep up the good work

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sciroccogts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to the Renaissance Brussels hotel and for taking the time to write your comments. We appreciate your lovely comments shared regarding our comfortable, clean rooms and our friendly staff members. We sincerely hope of having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the Renaissance Brussels hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.1 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#2 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.8 mi away
9Hotel Sablon
9Hotel Sablon
#13 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#16 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#14 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Brussels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Brussels Hotel

Property: Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Address: Rue du Parnasse 19, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Business Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Family Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Brussels Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Brussels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brussels Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Brussels
Renaissance Brussels Hotel Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing