We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay at the Renaissance Brussels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay at the Renaissance Brussels”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

As background I'm a Marriott Rewards Platinum Elite member so I do get some benefits that may not be available to all travelers. At the Renaissance Brussels the Club Lounge is closed right now, my benefits were - free wifi, evening happy hour for Marriott Rewards elite members, free breakfast at the restaurant.

My impressions:
1. Overall nice location with easy terminal-to-terminal access from the airport by bus (21 and 12), and 20-25 minute walk (and of course, public transport options) to the Grand Place. 5-8 min walk to Metro station, another 3 minutes to Parc Royal for outdoor running trails. Good places to eat within easy walking distance. On a side note, taxis in Brussels seems really expensive to me - I spend a fair amount of time in Vienna, taxis in Brussels seems to be 2-3x what they would be in Vienna for the same distance.
2. Lobby is small and seems to always be crowded. Seems like the hotel is quite busy right now.
3. Gym is very good and free. Also has a pool. Appears to be open to the public for a fee, so a high standard.
4. Lounge is closed as others have mentioned. I tried the evening happy hour only once, but it wasn't very appealing to me - quite crowded, wasn't much to eat, a few different wine and beer options.
5. Breakfast is in the main restaurant and free for elite members (EUR 25 for the full buffet if you need to pay for it). Even though crowded, the selection in the buffet is good, and the service was reasonable.

So overall location is not as central as the Marriott Brussels (which is literally 5 minutes walk from Grand Place), but works quite well if you prefer a quieter neighborhood or good access to the airport by public transportation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the inside garden if you want a quieter option.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing the Renaissance Brussels hotel for your recent stay in Brussels and for taking the time to share your comments. We would like to thank you for your loyalty with Marriott. Indeed, as Marriott Rewards Platinum Elite member, you enjoy some benefits including free internet and access to our Club Lounge where you can enjoy a generous continental breakfast, drinks and some light snacks in the evening. We would also like to clarify that, for the moment, the Club Lounge is not closed but, due to some refurbishments, it has been relocated to a private room at the back of our Parnasse Bistro where the same benefits are available. The location of our hotels is ideal for a quiet stay, being next to the major European Institutions and 5 – 8 minutes’ walk away from the closest metro station. The square Luxembourg is also a two minute walk offering several bars and restaurants. We appreciate your lovely comments regarding our Fitness Center as we are one of the few hotels which has a pool for our guests to enjoy. We hope to welcome you again next time you will be in Brussels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    697
    234
    80
    33
See reviews for
215
562
89
436
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This Marriott Renaissance is very well located - not too far from Grande Place and Le Palais Royal, but distant enough to have all the serenity. Walking from the hotel to the said places take about 15 minutes, and for us it was quite a pleasant walk. The Premium with garden view room we stayed in is quite spacious and it costs us 87 euros per night. At this hotel, and only at this hotel in our European trip, which includes so far stays in London, Stockholm, Copenhagen and Amsterdam, we benefited complimentary in room wi-fi and parking as a Silver guest. The hotel also has indoor swimming pool and large gym with several nice equipments. The service is always great at the front desk. The only inconvenience is when you want to get ice you'd have to come down to the lobby or call the front desk for them to get it up to your room. We'd certainly stay at this hotel on our next stop to Brussels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing the Renaissance Brussels hotel for your recent stay in Brussels and for taking the time to share your lovely comments. We are happy to hear that you were very satisfied with our location, service at the Front Desk and Fitness center as, indeed, our hotel is one of the few in Brussels which provides our guests with a pool access. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, good location, excellent service and staff really helpfull. Breakfast is also very good and starts early in the morning, we had to leave hotel at 7am, so this was very convinient. Closed to the Midi station

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yioula_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Renaissance hotel for your stay in Brussels and for taking the time to share your lovely comments. We are happy to hear that you were very satisfied with our service and that our staff met your expectations. Please come visit us again next time you will be in Brussels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhinebeck
Level Contributor
153 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel. The hotel is well run, extremely clean. It was well staffed with knowledgable, friendly and helpful people. This location is near the Parlimentarium - a business district so it's quiet at night. There are plenty of restaurants and pubs within walking distance. It's also just a 3 minute walk to the bus stop that goes to Central Brussels and specifically the Central Train Station. We took several day trips so that was helpful and made traveling easy. It is a 10-15 euro taxi ride from the station to the hotel or a 3 euro bus ride. You could also walk - but not with luggage. Others may prefer to stay at their sister hotel - Marriott in Central Brussels to be closer to things but this was our preference. Great restaurant near the hotel is Cafe Enzo - an excellent Italian restaurant is cooked to order and it's just a 2 minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 544 which was quiet and had a beautiful view. Not too far from the elevator and not too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comment with us. We are glad to see that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. We truly appreciate your comments about our knowledgeable, friendly and helpful staff and the cleanliness of our establishment. Indeed, the hotel is ideally located in the European Headquarters where you have plenty of restaurants and bars’ choices. Thank you for your restaurant recommendation, this will be useful for all our future discoverers. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our last evening as our vacation essentially involved arriving and leaving Europe from Brussels.

On the front end of our trip, we stayed at the Brussels Marriott. The Renaissance is in a nicer part of town, but a bit farther from the places you might want to see as a tourist. The hotel is nicer for its amenities and the surrounding area, and tends to have more business travelers.

- The executive lounge was far nicer both in decor and how fresh it looked. The evening snacks with cocktails were incredible tastes of chicken, beef, couscous, cheese and munchies. The bar was nicely stocked, as both the food and the liquor were refreshed by the attendant on duty.
- Our room's furniture, bedding and carpeting were relatively newer and in better condition.
- It's quiet and there is no street noise!
- Hallways and other common areas look like they were recently refreshed.
- The bathroom is tiny, but there is a full bathtub, while the Marriott had a shower stall about the same size as what's found on cruise ships.
- When guests needed a cab, the bellman actually runs to the nearby plaza to hail a cab if there are none waiting outside the hotel, which impressed us.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelForever58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We would like to thank you very much for choosing the Renaissance Brussels Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We thank you very much for your lovely comments about rooms and our club lounge. Our aim is indeed to provide our guests the best we can. We truly appreciate your comments in regards to the overall look of our hotel as, indeed, it has been recently renovated and we are constantly keeping an eye on the good shape of our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Renaissance Brussels hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
718 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stay here frequently during my business travels and it's cool.

Retro decor, spacious room, ample choice for breakfast, quiet area (next to the EC Parliament) and served with good public transports as well as taxi.

Room Tip: Choose the corner Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Many thanks for your nice comment and your loyalty with Marriott. We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with our services and our location in the European Headquarter. Thank you for your lovely comments shared regarding our decoration, spacious rooms and large breakfast selection. We are looking to welcoming you back soon at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were there for 2 nights e route to Amsterdam then to Italy. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The suite room was spacious for family of 4 with 2 teenagers. Club lounge was included in our stay which was nice. Minutes walk to the center. Quiet neighborhood. Love!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesvacation97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with us. It is very nice to hear that you were pleased with the suite and our club lounge. Indeed, our hotel is ideally located in the European quarter and some minutes’ walk form the square Luxembourg where you can have the bus to the city center. Please come to visit us again when next time you will be in Brussels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.1 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#3 of 16 in Ixelles
332 reviews
0.8 mi away
9Hotel Sablon
9Hotel Sablon
#14 of 199 in Brussels
283 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#16 of 199 in Brussels
4,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
994 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Brussels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Brussels Hotel

Property: Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Address: Rue du Parnasse 19, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Business Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Family Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Brussels Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Brussels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brussels Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Brussels
Renaissance Brussels Hotel Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing