We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

While a bit out of the way the quality of the hotel staff and property was more than one would expect. I unfortunately fell ill a couple of days into our stay and the staff was more than up to the task of assisting. They called a 24 hour pharmacy, got my wife a cab, instructed the driver as to where to go, to wait and escort her back to the hotel. The front desk employee left his station to go outside and firmly gave the instructions to the driver. Wonderful service. Great property complimented by a great staff. Train station a block away, bus to Airport a block away and could not be easier. wonderful.

Room Tip: we were facing the rear, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stkbroker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Many thanks for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel. I was delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations and will be sure to share this feedback with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Brussels in the future and hopefully you will have the opportunity to enjoy our facilities as well as Brussels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    696
    233
    80
    33
See reviews for
214
562
89
434
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at this hotel with my family, and glad to report everything was great. We had adjoining rooms (two adults in one, two children in other), which we asked for, and the breakfast was superb.
Although just on the outskirts of the City Centre, we walked to the centre in about 25 minutes. Also, just round the corner is a bus stop, and a tour bus which we used. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Just one tip for the leisure facilities: 1. The swimming pool is great, but females have to walk fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaypee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Many thank for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at the Renaissance Brussels hotel. As you can imagine I am pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations during this stay. This is the Marriott service we strive to provide! Looking forward in welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Business hotel with more character then typical business hotel. Higher quality accommodation without luxury prices. Solid location, a block from a square with a lot of Belgium bars and restaurants (Thursday nights were "live"). Short walk to the main Brussels square/Museums. I read other posts and they mentioned watching your stuff while checking in at the lobby. I will say, there random people hanging in there that didn't seem like they were staying there. So, just keep a look out.

They do have a parking garage that is free for hotel guests, which is GREAT. But, if you have never been to Brussels, it was not the easiest to find. We drove from the airport, had Google and iPad maps and neither had the street names the same. The location was the same, but it is a small, tight city. So beware of all the one-way streets (and fantastic arguments with the spouse). There is a restaurant a block away called "The Staff". Just unbelievable. Will write that review on their Tripadvisor page.

Room Tip: Go to The Staff restaurant on the other side of the square that is around the corner from the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing Renaissance hotel for your recent stay in Brussels. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. Indeed we are ideally located in the European Quarter, close to the Place du Luxembourg where you can find various bars and restaurants. We are 20minutes walking distance from the city center and 10minutes away with the bus or metro. Please come visit us next time you will be in Brussels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel would have got an excellent rating from me but for a couple of things. When we arrived the twin room we had booked was not available and as we were 2 females not wishing to share a bed it was a problem. So they made up a sofa bed in the room for us which was OK but not that comfortable. Also the advertised robes were not available for us. However it is a very nice hotel and as it is a business hotel, weekend rates are very reasonable. Reception staff were very polite and helpful, breakfast was delicious and the pool was great. It suited us to be near the EU parliament building and it was easy to get public transport to the old town and also the airport.

Room Tip: Make sure you get confirmation of the type of room you book - ie twin or double. The breakfast is wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teddy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Many thanks for choosing Renaissance Brussels hotel and for taking the time to share your comments with us. As you can imagine I am dismayed to read that you had requested for a twin room but unfortunately this was not available. I am happy to hear though, that this was resolved promptly by providing you with a larger room where the sofa bed is available. Bathrobe and slippers are available to all our guests upon request. We appreciate your lovely comments regarding our polite and helpful ambassadors, our swimming and the large selection of breakfast buffet. Please come visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have stayed twice in the last couple of months. First for two weeks and the last time for a week. Both times on a club floor because of my Marriott status. I wouldn't necessarily pay extra for the club floor. The breakfast in the club lounge if acceptable, but the breakfast in the restaurant is more varied. The club lounge has limited hours, its open until 7:30PM. If you get there in the last half hour, quite often the food is gone and the beer selection is sparse. If you have a long day of work, you miss it all. The rooms on the club floor are a nice size and modern, the bathrooms a little small, but average for Europe. The bed was comfortable. The staff were pleasant , they provided a good map and good directions to the surrounding area. Reception was always busy, but the service was reasonably quick.The location is very convenient to the Parliament and a 20 min walk from the city center. I enjoyed the chocolates with the turn down service. my only minor complaint is that the housekeeping was a little inconsistent, never bad, just seemed like a different person serviced the room every day. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Renaissance experience with us. We appreciate your lovely comments regarding out pleasant staff member, our spacious and modern rooms and of course our divine Marriott bedding. We have taken notes of your comments and will ensure to discuss them with our Management team. We look forward in welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is an excellent hotel that is conveniently located near the European Parliament Building. It appears to be popular with business and diplomatic travels, and is well suited for this type of customer. It does have parking accommodations, a swimming pool, fitness center, restaurant, and bar. The room was very nicely appointed with all the traditional amenities, and the staff and service were superb. It is very well suited for the business traveler with meetings at the EU Parliament. The only issue was the cost!! It was 200+ euros per night, which is VERY expensive. While there were a few pubs/restaurants nearby, they were not the greatest in my opinion. We did find an excellent Italian restaurant, Enoteca Da VAlentio, a few blocks away. All-in-all, a great business oriented hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTSAILOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing Renaissance hotel for your recent stay in Brussels and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed as we situated in the European Quarter close to the Parliament and Commission we are ideally situated for all business and diplomatic travelers. We would like to thank you for your lovely comments shared regarding our rooms and ambassadors. We are glad to hear that you took advantage of our lovely fitness center and our swimming pool. Thank you for your restaurant recommendations, this will be beneficial for all our future discoverers. Come visit us again next time you are in Brussels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I found the hotel to work great for what I needed and will stay there again on my next trip to Brussels. My room was updated and a good size -- very comfortable overall. I found the staff to be very helpful and took care of all of my requests, including airport transfers. Re the club room, it wasn't huge but worked just fine. Also, the location is great if you have meetings at the Parliament or the Commission.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing Renaissance hotel for your stay in Brussels and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us mainly due to our helpful ambassadors assisting you with your request and our spacious and comfortable rooms. Indeed we are ideally located in the European Quarter, near the Parliament and the Commission facilitation the access for everyone working or attending meetings. Please come visit us next time you are in Brussels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.1 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#3 of 16 in Ixelles
328 reviews
0.8 mi away
9Hotel Sablon
9Hotel Sablon
#13 of 199 in Brussels
281 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#15 of 199 in Brussels
4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
989 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
1,746 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Brussels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Brussels Hotel

Property: Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Address: Rue du Parnasse 19, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ixelles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Business Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Family Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Brussels Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Brussels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brussels Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Brussels
Renaissance Brussels Hotel Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing