We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just returned from a lovely holiday in Belgium. Got a great deal direct on the Renaissance website for £99 per night bed and breakfast for two nights for two people. I had asked for a top floor room and they had done this. Room was a great size and modern in decor. I know someone has mentioned a small bathroom in their review but I think it was no smaller than other bathrooms in similar quality of hotels. Perfectly adequate for our needs. Lots of storage space in the room-drawers wise and a very good size safe compared to normal. There was a very good selection of food at breakfast and the breakfast staff were very friendly. Generally most staff were very friendly so I am surprised at the review mentioning surly staff. The hotel isn't in the centre in terms of the main tourist square but we liked the area as it is a little bit quieter and not full of tourists, certainly on the evening it was quieter outside than I have experienced in some hotels. There is a little area with restaurants a couple of minutes walk next to the Parliament-I'd recommend the London Cafe for lunch! The metro is not too far-though it is easier to get a taxi with suitcases and then use the metro for getting around during your trip. Unfortunately the metro machine was dodgy so I ended up buying two tickets as there was no-one around to help. It is a little daunting-may not seem that safe at first but we managed ok. Not sure I would want to get it late at night though. We had a day trip to Ghent via train, it was only half an hour away and has some beautiful buildings as well as a nice tea shop called The Wally Tea Rooms which does a fab belgian waffle! I would recommend using the tram in Ghent as the centre is far from the station, get off at Korenmarket. With regards to the hotel I would stay here again and will be looking out for Renaissance in other cities.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ditsydorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Many thanks for your comments and feedback concerning you recent stay at the Renaissance Brussels hotel. Thank you also for your advice concerning transportation in Brussels as well as in Ghent and providing us with local gems. This is very useful for all our future discoverers. We appreciate your comments about the staff friendliness. We look forward to welcoming you soon at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

561 - 567 of 1,641 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel Friday to Sunday.reception staff where very helpful and friendly .there is a small swimming pool which we used before a day of sight seeing .this hotel is not really near any of Brussels attractions, but they can be reached via the metro or on foot.beware of the 100 euro deposit they take off your credit or debit card for any extras you may have.we had nothing extra charged to our room,but 6 days after returning home I'm still waiting for this money to be returned to my bank account.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Many thank for choosing Renaissance hotel for your recent stay in Brussels and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We would like to thank you for your lovely comments regarding our helpful and friendly staff. Indeed, we are one of the three hotels in Brussels to have a pool. We are happy to hear you had the opportunity to use it. Indeed, all our guests are required to provide a guarantee for their stay and depending on the credit card used it can take form three to five working days to have this amount released. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should this amount still not be released. We sincerely hope of exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

OK so maybe if you get a deal this place is OK but otherwise it is shockingly poor value. Food price in restaurant is totally over the top as well for basic cuisine, one exception they have amazing desserts - I would skip anything else and give all your calorie intake to these. Paying for wifi is another insult as is nasty instant coffee in the room and no water. I expected far more. Yes the staff are nice and the rooms pleasant but I hate being ripped off.

Room Tip: avoid top floor water pressure is low for showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familycat022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Renaissance Brussels hotel.
I am very dismayed to learn that you were not satisfied with your stay with us and we did not exceed your expectations.
We have taken note of your comments about our restaurant and the internet provided. Thank you for your lovely comments shared concerning our lovely desserts and our friendly staff.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the room quality and the comfort of the bed and hope to have the chance to exceed your expectations on your next trip to Brussels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was in Brussels for business and stayed in this hotel for one night. The room was very nice and the bed was comfortable.The hotel is a bit far from the city centre as it's located close to EU quartier. You can easily reach the office buildings by foot. The staff at the reception was friendly and a wide ranging breakfast is served in the mornings. I could recommend this hotel for anyone travelling for business.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannah4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Many thanks for your recent stay at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the recently renovated rooms with modern equipment and amenities, as well as the famous Marriott bedding. Thank you for the lovely comments shared concerning our friendly ambassadors.
The location of our hotels is indeed excellent, being next to the major European Institutions and 5 minutes by foot away from the closest metro station.
We will be glad to welcome you again in our hotel in your future trips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Located a good 20 mins walk from the old centre of Brussels, but I chose this hotel because it has a car park and parking is free for weekend guests which is a bonus. We secured our room at a good price via the internet, which included breakfast.

Car park not well signed, but easy enough to get a space. Check in was slow. We were allocated a room on the sixth floor - it was clean and tidy but really small - as was the bathroom. I wouldn't have wanted to stay more than one night.

Breakfast choices were plentiful but I found a lot of the 'hot' food was cold and / or substandard, a disappointment. The waitress serving us was surly and inattentive.

Overal the hotel represented value for money, but I would not stay here again - even at the cheap weekend rate. Next time will spend more and hope to find more pleasing service and ambience in a hotel closer to the old town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HerefordshireSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel and for taking the time to share your comments and feedback. Thank you for your lovely comments about our rooms being clean and also about our vast selection of breakfast buffet. I am very sorry to hear that your check in took took time and that our breakfast staff was not attentive. This is not the Marriott Service to strive to provide. We have taken your feedback as an opportunity to improve our spirit to serve. We hope you will visit us next time you are in Brussels and we hope that we will exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were in Brussels to visit our daughter so we wanted somewhere cheap, safe and comfortable. The hotel did not let us down. Because the room rate was so low it did not include breakfast but the concierge showed as a cafe which was just 5 mins away and which I loved as I felt part of the city. Although visiting to see the sights I was satisfied with the location as within easy reach of buses metro and also very quiet location so sleep factor excellent.
The only gripe I had was the expense of the internet. We had just got back from Africa where internet access was free why not in an European country next to the EU parliament?
Another problem we had in Brussels was machines failing so credit cards could not be used, be prepared to have another source of funding.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel. Indeed we are located in the European Quarter, near the Parliament but as you mentioned from the square Luxembourg very close by you have access to buses for all over the city and lovely bars and cafes. We do provide one hour free of internet per day for all our discoverers. Please come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My daughters had organised a weekend here for my birthday.
From start to finish the hotel and staff did not disappoint. Complementary Fruit and wine delivered to our room with quiet+ efficient service.
Special thanks to Josef and Lazar for prompt and courteous attention to detail. Brussels was fabulous and we hope to return soon.
3 girls loud!

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanaandPapa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Renaissance experience with us. We thank you for choosing the Renaissance hotel for this special occasion of yours. We are delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations by courteous and attentive to details. We will ensure to pass the compliments to the ambassadors mentioned. Please come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.1 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#3 of 15 in Ixelles
545 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Brussels City Centre
0.6 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#18 of 198 in Brussels
5,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#69 of 198 in Brussels
2,835 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pullman Brussels Centre Midi Hotel
1.2 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Brussels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Brussels Hotel

Address: Rue du Parnasse 19, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ixelles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Business Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range: $99 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Brussels Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the energy of Belgium's capital city from sophisticated accommodations at Renaissance Brussels Hotel. Enjoy staying in the heart of the European Quarter at our hotel in Brussels located near famous destinations in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Brussels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brussels Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Brussels
Renaissance Brussels Hotel Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing