We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such helpful and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Leopold Brussels
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My mother and I arrived on Friday evening and were shown to an Executive Room on 5th floor where some rooms are currently being upgraded. Our room was a good size and had all we required, although was not one of the modernised rooms. Excellent air-con unit which was useful. We were not disturbed by the works at all, although being a weekend stay the builders were not present. They were in evidence on Monday morning however! There is something very comforting about being able to watch BBC world news, BBC1 and BBC2 in your room and we appreciated this. Breakfasts were buffet style and excellent, with everything you could wish for from cereals and fruit juice, fruits and yoghurt, cakes, cheeses, cold meat, lovely and different breads, cooked breakfast with scrambled eggs, bacon, beans, hard boiled eggs,pain au chocolate, croissant etc etc. We also enjoyed dinner one evening in the hotel which again was excellent and good value (as Brussels is an expensive place to eat out we found). The location was great and the City Sightseeing buses run from the square just below the hotel which is very convenient. However, what really made this hotel special for us was the wonderful level of service from all the staff. Imagine my disappointment on arrival to discover the batteries in my camera were flat. Not a problem, Richard arranged for them to be charged while we had breakfast. We were looking for a special road in Brussels and not only did Richard check the area for us, but printed a map and added directions of how to get there. I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again and look forward to a future visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoW967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear JoW967

It was a pleasure having you both as our guests in Brussels and thank you for your kind words. I will make sure all the relevant people get your thanks !

We are doing a lot of renovation works at our hotel in order to modernise and make it even more comfortable. Of course, we try to disturb our customers as little as possible with the noise and dust

The TVs are all brand new flatscreens designed to be environmentally friendly and have around 60 channels, including from the UK, Russia, China, and most European countries

It is also good to see that you enjoyed our excellent brasserie restaurant - fresh food at very reasonable prices. As you say eating out in touristy areas is generally a bit pricey, so we offer a comfortable, convenient and value for money alternative

We pride ourselves on the very high level of service our staff offer and try to go that extra mile to help where we can. I have noticed that during the summer (low season in Brussels) most hotels have a student on Reception (alone) and close their restaurants - not much service in evidence there !

We really look forward to welcoming you back soon - just make sure to contact us directly so that we ensure you get the room you would like

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a 3 night stay and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were extremely helpful and many thanks to the evening receptionist who helped us order a meal which was delivered to he hotel. On a Sunday evening, there are not too many restaurants open and it is at least a 25 minute walk to the main tourist area of the city. By day however, there are some lovely cafes on the doorstep. The room was very comfortable although the air conditioning did not seem to be very effective. A set of drawers would also have been useful to supplement the wardrobe.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Susan S

Thank you for taking the time to post your very positive comments about your stay with us. We always appreciate feedback that helps us improve as well as that which gives our hardworking staff a pat on the back

It is true that on Sunday evenings in August, like many big cities, a lot of the restaurants take their holidays. We do, however, have our own brasserie that stays open throughout the summer and we have a limited menu of some Belgian classics on Sunday evening...That siad there are quite a few restaurants open on a Sunday within 10 minutes of the hotel

I have just had another check for the aircos, as we have had new ones installed in the rooms over the last 6 months. The temperature in the 2 rooms you stayed in is regulated to 19c. That seems a decently cool temperature for summer ...

There are 4 shelves in the double wardrobes in each room. To put in a chest of drawers would make the room too crowded. We are renewing all these style of rooms and are putting in a total of 6 drawers in new wardrobes and cabinets

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home from home in Brussels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I booked a late trip to Brussels and stayed from Monday to Wednesday. When I arrived at the hotel around 5pm, the reception staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was a good size, clean and had a good view of the Parliament. The bathroom was clean and had a bath and shower over.

I took my breakfast each morning and really enjoyed the variety of food on offer. I chose to eat my evening meals at the hotel too, and was very happy with the options, the price and the amount of food in the meal. Again, the staff were very helpful, friendly and provided an excellent service.

The hotel itself was very central and only a short walk from the Metro. I was able to walk to all of the major attractions, such as the many museums, Mannekin Pis, the parks and the palaces.

I wouldn't say this is a negative, but the only thing that surprised me about the hotel, was that there wasn't a kettle with tea and coffee in my room. In the room booklet it does say you can ask for a kettle, but I assumed there would be drink facilities in the room, other than the mini bar.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Thank you for helping make my trip to Brussels a memorable one!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jon7W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Jon7W

Great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of the service all our staff offer. We think it makes the difference between us and most of the (chain) hotels !

We change our Brasserie menus frequently and try to add new dishes each month, whilst keeping the classics. I know we have the best price quality on offer in the area - 2 course daily menu at 19.50 eur and house wine at 14 eur per bottle

Thanks for your feedback on the kettles in the rooms. We do have them in the Suite rooms and, as you say, we can bring them up to you room on request in all other rooms...

We all look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Brussels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We found the Leopold very good - we had a 3 night stay, room was clean and quiet although compact (as you would tend to expect in a city location).

The staff were all friendly and helpful with directions and information, breakfast was excellent and the location is good. It is a 20 min walk into Grand Place but it is a scenic route that takes you past museums and the Royal Palace, its 5 mins from Troon Metro station and a taxi back from Grand Place costs around 10 or 11 Euro.

There are currently some building works going on at the hotel but we weren't disturbed by this and there didn't appear to be any work going on before 10am. The brasserie and orangery are very nice, and offer a nice place to sit for a drink during the day too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear MSCarlisle
Many thanks for your kind comments about your stay with us. it is always nice to hear that we get most things right!
We have invested a lot in staff training and in having a high level of personnel in the hotel, unlike many of our chain competitors who leave students alone in charge of reception !
Our standard rooms are 16m2 but 50% of our rooms are higher category and are larger. It's always worth paying the small supplement for even more comfort and space. We are doing some renovations to the hotel and already have redone reception, lobby and the bar/brasserie. By the end of the month we will have 25 completely new standard rooms and more will follow in the next 6 months
We look forward to welcoming you back to your home from home in Brussels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

the hotel is either a 9 euro seven minute taxi journey or a two euro 5 min metro journey plus a 5 min walk, definitely worth purchasing a 24 hour metro card price 6.50 euros, as is a 15 minute walk from the town downhill going but uphill getting back and after a few beers not good, hotel clean & tidy, staff friendly, breakfast good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear neilg
Thank you for your comments about your stay in Brussels at our hotel.
Just to clarify what you have written : in holiday periods with no traffic we are a 9 eur and 7 minute taxi ride from Midi/Zuid station where international trains and the airport train arrives. This can be double the price and more than double the time at peak hours.
We are very centrally located and are next to the European Parliament. Grand Place is about a 15 minute walk as you suggest, or a 10 minute bus journey - both journeys are through the historic parts and parks of Brussels, passing the King's Palace and various musea...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Leopold Hotel for a long weekend and cannot recommend the hotel highly enough. The staff are friendly and efficient, the rooms spacious, clean, well-equipped, bright and comfortable, breakfast excellent with a wide selection of food and drink in beautiful surroundings (I love the retractable roof, when it was open we could smell the breakfast from our room which is a great way to wake up!) and location perfect - close to the EU/EC buildings, the metro and within walking distance of the city centre. We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdamRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear AdamRH
I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in our home from home in Brussels. Thank you for your kind comments - I shall pass them on to our hard-working staff.
The breakfast Orangerie Terrace is lovely in the summer with the roof open. I just wish the weather was like it is now, more often ! We also serve lunches there.
We have just renovated the room you were staying in (as well as the others in this bloc) and are busy with the rest. Hopefully we will have all new rooms within 6 months. We are also busy repainting the bar/brasserie...
We are looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Brussels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We would just like to say how we enjoyed our recent 3 night stay at the Leopold. Our arrival was met by very friendly reception staff. Also thank you to Richard who was kind enough to show us to our room, which was lovely and spacious. Breakfast was a treat with plenty of choices, in beautiful and relaxed surroundings. All the staff were friendly, but Carina especially, made us feel so welcome with her cheery and friendly manner. A well run hotel, spotlessly clean and a pleasure to be in. We will definitely be visiting the Leopold again - wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Thomas P
Many thanks for your kind comments about your stay with us. I will pass on your thanks to all the staff but particularly Richard and Corina
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Brussels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.2 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#2 of 15 in Ixelles
524 reviews
0.9 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,096 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#14 of 199 in Brussels
1,598 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#71 of 199 in Brussels
2,809 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leopold Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leopold Brussels

Address: Rue du Luxembourg 35, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ixelles
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range: $83 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Leopold Brussels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run independent 4* hotel convenient for European Parliament and Brussels' historic centre. 107 rooms and suites for business and families - triples, quads and apartments for families. Excellent restaurant with local fresh cuisine. Glass-roofed inner terrace garden for meals and extensive buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Leopold Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopold Hotel Brussels
Hotel Leopold Brussels Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing