We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost in the labyrinth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Leopold Brussels
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lost in the labyrinth”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stay frequently in this hotel because it is close to the European Parliament and other institutions I have to visit regularly. The rooms are moderate and the price is not too bad. This time their regular rooms were all occupied and they gave me an appartment with even a second floor and extra bedroom. However, the devil is in the details. Though impressive at first sight, one soon notices the mediocre quality of materials used. Lose tiles in the bathroom and so on. This hotel is a myriad of rooms, corridors, secret elevators. You feel lost in a labyrinth. Still, friendly service and a good breakfast buffet with nice and fresh croissants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meeuwsenmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Meeuwsenmj
It was a pleasure to read your positive comments about our hotel and to note you are one of our many regulars
I think the charm of our property is exactly what you describe - different lifts, corridors, all the rooms are different etc. Individual and characterful !
We have started a room renovation programme and over the next months I hope you will notice the difference in all of the room types. How about asking to see some of the renovated rooms next time and we can book one of those for you, just by the lift, so there will be no getting lost :)
Looking forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    382
    164
    71
    32
See reviews for
94
400
39
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

been to brussels for couple of days (march 2011) for some meetings and I was lucky to visit this hotel
very clean and professional service ... the only drawback was the TV channels which are mainly german and french speaking channels (local tv channels)

Room Tip: actually all the rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fakhruldeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Fakhruldeen
It's always a pleasure to read that we have looked after our guests well. We do our best to give a personal and individual service
Interesting you should mention the TV channels - we have just switched to a satellite provider and now have 100 or so international channels, including several Arabic langauge ones and our 'pay tv'' is also free
We also have free wifi in the public areas and very high speed professional connection in the rooms for 10 eur per 24 hours
We look forward to looking after you again in your home in Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile


We were a bit worried after reading some reviews on this hotel, however we could not fault it. Great location, polite staff and a comfortable room. Breakfast was good, catered for all tastes. We arrived early for check in but it wasn't a problem our room was ready. There was some great restaurants in the area so we didn't need to go into tourist areas in the evening.


Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Sue J
Thank you for your honest review of our hotel
Judging by your comments you have found some of the reviews on Tripadvisor less than credible. Of course, like every hotel we are not perfect and get things wrong from time to time but as you have seen we provide a high level of service, comfortable rooms, a great breakfast and all at a reasonable price
It's only a pity you didn't try our brasserie restaurant !! Maybe next time
We are looking forward to your next visit to your home in Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just got back from a lovely weekend break in Brussels. Can't fault the hotel. Great location, very near the EU parliament and museum. We walked into the centre of town on the first day which took 20/30 minutes, but used the metro the rest of the time - the hotel is very near to a metro stop which made getting around very easy. We were upgraded to an Executive Room which was lovely - very spacious and clean with a comfy bed and TV with a few English language channels including BBC 1 and 2. Breakfast was perfect... I stuck to the croissants and fresh bread and cheeses which were delicious, and the breakfast room was very pretty. I particularly liked the fact that they change the decorations according to the season. We are the kind of people who like to experience foreign culture and don't want to simply experience 'Britain abroad', so we liked the Belgian breakfast, and also the Belgian square pillows, which were actually really comfy - I'm thinking of converting!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becomingbindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear becomingbindy
It's very kind of you to write such a positive review about your stay with us.
We try our best to make our guests feel at home but as you noticed we try and introduce a little local flavour - Belgian cheeses at breakfast, local cuisine in the restaurant and square pillows !!
BBC 1 and BBC 2 are currently available on the TV, as well as CNN and BBC 24. We are in the process of adding free 'pay' TV (if that's possible !) and some more UK channels, including sport. I am glad you liked the decor - we spend a lot of time and effort to be a little bit different and decorate with the seasons.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The location, in walking distance to the Eurpean Parlament is worth mentioning. In short: nice hotel in a pleasent neighboourhood; the rooms need some refurbishment being outdated; the bathroom is excellent; the breakfast is ok, in a beatiful garden (!); service is ok.
The wifi is not free and slow. If possible, I would call it a 3,5 star hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ioan1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear loan
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel.
As you say, great location, pleasant neighbourhood ! We are renovating all our rooms at the moment and have already completed a refurbishment of our reception area - hope you liked it ?
We have one of the most beautiful indoor orangerie gardens for our breakfast and offer free wifi - not sure why you think it wasn't free. We have a very high speed professional option which is payable
We look forward to welcoming you back to your home from home in Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, great location (few minute walk from the nearest metro station with easy connection to eurostar) and excellent value! Stayed for a long weekend and walked into the city centre each day (15 minute-ish walk).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSaunders91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear LSaunders
Many thanks for your kind comments about our hotel. We aim to provide excellent value for money with great friendly service. We seemed to have done just that. We look forward to your next visit to your home from home in Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Nice hotel with very friendly staff

We had room 217 which was classed as an exexcutive room (not sure why) - it was a nice big and clean room with a really powerful shower !!!!
The security of the room door was a slight concern though....

Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice.
The hotel bar closes at 11.30 pm - could maybe do with being open a little later !!
Its about a 15 minute walk to the Grand Place although there are buses you can use.
The walk is very nice as you pass many nice buildings
Would definately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gchc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear gchc
Great to read your lovely comments about your stay with us
217 is graded as Executive because it is quite a bit bigger than our Standard rooms. As I have mentioned elsewhere we are in the process of redecorating and refurbishing rooms, so it will be even better for your next visit !
Thanks for your positive feedback regarding staff and breakfast - I will pass on your comments.
We close the bar normally at 1130 to midnight (or later) depending on customers but we were a bit quiet last week, so maybe the barman thought he didn't have any customers!! I will have a word to make sure he keeps it open a bit longer
We look forward to your next visit to Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.2 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#3 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#12 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Brussels Hotel
0.1 mi away
Stanhope Hotel
Stanhope Hotel
#20 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leopold Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leopold Brussels

Property: Hotel Leopold Brussels
Address: Rue du Luxembourg 35, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#3 Green Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Leopold Brussels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run independent 4* hotel convenient for European Parliament and Brussels' historic centre. 107 rooms and suites for business and families - triples, quads and apartments for families. Excellent restaurant with local fresh cuisine. Glass-roofed inner terrace garden for meals and extensive buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MyHotelShop, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Leopold Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopold Hotel Brussels
Hotel Leopold Brussels Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing