We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to be near Parliament, check out the Leopold”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Leopold Brussels
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

My hotel choice in Brussels is based on where I do my business which is near the EU parliament. There are several chain hotels in the area, but they tend to be overpriced. I have found the Leopold to be convenient, fairly priced and the staff friendly and helpful. Definitely check it out if you are looking for accommodation in this part of Brussels.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobfromWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Owner at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Rob

Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. How right you are about our location, just next to the European Parliament and that we are a family run hotel (for more than 30 years), which is very different to the chain hotels that surround us. Yes, we have the best prices including a very full, fresh buffet breakfast and yes we have great staff. If you are looking for a trendy, sanitised, industrial style chain hotel, then we are not fir you but if your values are friendly, individual, classic style and real service at a good price, then the Leopold is a good option

We look forward to welcoming you back and having a drink and a chat in the bar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had quite high expectations of this hotel as it looked so nice in all the pictures but when I got there the actual hotel itself was not much like the photos. I consider myself a fair person and always try to see the best side of things but I didnt feel for the money that this was the best hotel i have stayed in and never a 4* as some sites claim. I have stayed in some 4* hotels in Brussels and Paris which have been beautiful and less expensive so I would really advise you to look around and not opt for this hotel before doing a bit of research.

I was surprised when we opened the door to the bedroom and found a rather bare and very unimpressive bedroom. We had a TV which showed only BBC1 and BBC2. One really strange thing that me and my boyfriend didnt like where the pillows on the bed. They are like small and square and not easy to use...not comfortable! we saw that they had facilities but not very nice facilities. We were going to use the sauna but is was dingy and tucked out of the way and seemed so uninviting!

The breakfast room was ok but floor and furniture looked worn out and not like the pictures show, The coffee was nice and in fairness so was some of the food. The english 'hot' food..like bacon and beans were in the smallest containers and seemed to need filling up continually as there was no room in them. Out of my 3 day stay i only opted for the egg and bacon once as it wasnt very appealing in my opinion.

One of the positive things i can say is that the bedroom always felt warm regardless of how cold it was outside and it was quiet too.

On the whole I would not choose to stay here again at these prices as you can definately get better value for money else where.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaynie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Gaynie
Thank you for taking the time to place a review of our hotel and I am sorry to hear you were disappointed by some aspects of your stay
The hotel is a 4* as classified by the Flemish Tourist office and the photos on our website are all recent ones taken at the hotel - there's is not much point in pretending to be something we are not! If we did that 50% of our clients wouldn't keep coming back
The TVs show 38 channels from 10 different countries in 11 different languages, including BBC1 and BBC2. They are 32 and 42 inch new LED TVs and will soon have even more channels
It is very true that Belgian pillows are smaller and square unlike most pillows in the UK. After comments from our guests we are introducing a pillow selection for those that want a bit of choice and are just in the process of ordering those now
The breakfast room is a lovely glass roofed orangerie terrace which opens its roof in summer. The furniture is all less than 2 years old and not at all worn. The reason we put the hot food in small containers and replenish them regularly is so that you always have fresh food that has not dried out
Finally I can honestly say that we have the most competitive prices in the area - just read some of the previous reviews about exceptional value for money
I am sorry that you didn't totally enjoy your stay with us but am grateful for your constructive criticism

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This review needs to be read in the knowledge that we were upgraded for free to a suite that should have cost more for one night than our whole holiday did. It was wonderful to have so much space in a city hotel so many thanks for this Hotel Leopold.

We were in 712 which is at the back of the hotel. The room was very quiet and toasty warm despite sub zero temperatures outside.

Reception was friendly and efficient. We asked for a kettle following advice from previous Trip advisor reviews and were also supplied with a jug of milk that lasted us through our 3 night stay ( and we do have a serious tea habit)

The hotel could be described as traditional rather than boutique but is none the worse for this. It was full while we were there but staff and facilities stood up to this well.

Breakfast was the full range provided as a buffet including hot dishes and smoked salmon. As well as the usual sliced cheese a range of distinctive local cheeses were on offer .

Wi fi is available free in the ground floor public areas and can also be picked up on a hit or miss basis in rooms. For a reliable service in your room you need to pay.

The brasserie in the hotel is fine. We probably had the best meal of our holiday there. It's fair to say that we didn't find great cooking in Brussels, particularly around the hotel. For restaurants you need to walk the short distance to the square by the European Parliament.

The hotel is easy to get to from Gare Midi by the excellent metro (Troon). It is close to the museum of art and Magritte Museum where we spent a whole day.

The Grand Place isn't far on foot but the route isn't that straightforward the first time. If in doubt look for a tall gothic spire downhill.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would return.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HazelRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Hazelruth
Great to read about your stay with us and happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in our hotel. We try to promote a feeling of staying in a home from home in Brussels and it seems to have worked for you
Where possible we do try to give free upgrades to our larger and newer rooms but you can always guarantee this by paying a small supplement
As you noticed despite being full we still managed to provide a friendly an efficient service. I know from long experience that many hotels cut their staff to the bare bones at weekends (low season), so that you are left only with one stressed receptionist in the hotel - we don't do that !
We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good location, very tasty breakfast, nice breakfast room, superb weekend deal. We stayed just for a short time. It's in 3 minutes to the metro station Troon, near to the city center. The staff was very friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: rooms with a street view are too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loresere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Loresere
Many thanks for your kind review of your stay with us. We are proud of our friendly, welcoming staff and the value for money we offer. As you say, a great breakfast in our lovely orangerie terrace
Looking forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

An average city hotel that feels a little dated. Pros: friendly staff, convenient for EU buildings, good blackout curtains giving a dark room, reasonable buffet breakfast. Cons: wifi that wouldn't connect, continuous drone of air conditioning system, broken heater in the bedroom, shower screen that did not fit resulting in a very wet bathroom floor.

Thank Daniel U
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Daniel U
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, our great staff and superb location
I am sorry you couldn't connect to our new (and very expensive) WiFi system - a quick check with Reception would have helped you out - free wifi in the public areas and high speed professional wifi in the rooms from 3 eur
There is a 24 hour maintenance team in place, so any issue with your heater or bathroom could have been quickly fixed. Just a call to reception...
We look forward to welcoming you back to Brussels on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just a stones throw from the trendy but oh so youthful Place Lux this restaurant takes you back to the 20th century - in a good way. The accomodation is fine but the lunches are excellent. Rabbit and Beef Carbonnade are great but the kidneys should be prescribed by all decent doctors! A haven from the over fussy and under done cuisine of other Brussels eateries.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Andrew F

Thank you for your delicious review. Glad you noticed we are not trying to be the trendiest place in town. A family run business with old-fashioned service, classical rooms and real food is what we are aiming for and judging by your comments we have succeeded

The Brasserie Leopold has a new menu for 2013 with some seasonal suggestions (for Spring) with a 2 course menu from 19.50 eur and house wine at 4 eur the glass. I am sure you won't find a better price quality elsewhere in the city

We look forward to welcoming you back next time. We have some completely renovated standard rooms and will be doing some more in July and August

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and i are just back from an enjoyable weekend break in this hotel. We saw an offer in the Times which was with AA getaway who were very helpful in finding the right times for us. The hotel is near the European Parliament and is quite expensive in the week - probably full of civil servants on expeces. However it is very good value at the weekend - we were upgraded to a junior suite - roomy and comfortable and the cost for three nights B&B with Eurostar was only £318 for the two of us. Very good range of choice -hot and cold - at breakfast and close to buses and Metro at Troon - though we walked into the centre - 20 mins - each day. Weather was good and hotel a great base to explore Brussels

Room Tip: rooms on 6th floor are very roomy and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear David

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. You are correct to say weekends and holiday are the best times to stay with us as leisure clients. We have some great deals direct and through tour operators like Driveline and Railbookers if you need a Eurostar package to Brussels.
We pride ourselves on our high quality breakfast with great choices. There is even a bottle of brown sauce hidden away for our British guests

We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.2 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#3 of 15 in Ixelles
497 reviews
0.9 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,084 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#13 of 199 in Brussels
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3,988 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#72 of 199 in Brussels
2,780 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leopold Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leopold Brussels

Address: Rue du Luxembourg 35, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#3 Green Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range: $79 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Leopold Brussels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run independent 4* hotel convenient for European Parliament and Brussels' historic centre. 107 rooms and suites for business and families - triples, quads and apartments for families. Excellent restaurant with local fresh cuisine. Glass-roofed inner terrace garden for meals and extensive buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Leopold Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopold Hotel Brussels
Hotel Leopold Brussels Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing