We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 4 star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Leopold Brussels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Leopold Brussels
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here a few nights on business. Reading the other reviews, it seems this hotel must have very different types of rooms. My ‘double’ was small and basic, certainly not worth the high rate paid. The bathroom had a nasty smell of bad plumbing. When I arrived, my non-smoking room smelled of smoke. While the reception and restaurant could be classified as 4 star, my room was more like one in a 2 star hotel. Breakfast was good but very crowded: one often had to compete with other guests for space and some food items. On the positive side, the reception staff were friendly and efficient and the location is convenient for EU institutions. But next time I will stay in the city center again, where you can get a better room for half the price!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joetraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Joe
Thank you for taking the time to write of your time at the Leopold Hotel
Indeed you are correct, we do have a wide variety of room types. About 50% of the hotel is Standard Rooms and the rest upgrade ones - Executives, Junior Suites, Suites and Apartments. As I have mentioned in previous replies at booking you have the choice of 1) booking directly with the hotel or booking through a 3rd party. In order to get the room type you want it is always much better to book directly with the hotel; your choice 2) is the type of room you book - the cheapest will always be the smallest with the least facilities. If you bought a car and took the cheapest option you would not expect to have all the bells and whistles...it's the same in hotels
We have an excellent hot and cold buffet breakfast with fresh local produce, served from 7-10 during the week. If you take breakfast at 8-830, that's what everyone else does. I am sure when you go to work in the morning you don't expect the roads and trains to be empty ? To avoid the crowds we do offer a Room Service breakfast...
Prices in Brussels vary tremendously depending on when you come. If it's a European Summit period the hotels around the EU will have high prices - of it's a convention at the Square then the hotels next to Grand Place will have high prices
I am glad you were happy with your stay in general and that the staff made you feel welcome
We look forwarding to welcoming you back to our family run 4* hotel in the centre of Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    372
    160
    69
    32
See reviews for
90
392
37
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just back from a 3 night break , great location so easy to get to and within walking distance from everything we wanted to see and do ! Hotel great very clean and a free upgrade to a suite on arriaval only negative no tea and coffee making facilities in our room even though we had a kitchette.
Dont bother with taxi or train from airport 3 euros 50 on bus 12\21 which stops on the corner and runs every 10 mins
Will be re booking for the new year

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Leopold Hotel Brussels, I stayed at The Leopald Hotel with a friend on a three night short break to Brussels, the Hotel is near to the EU Headquarters and is in a great position for getting around being only a five minuet walk from the Metro Station and on the bus routes.

The Hotel staff made us very welcome and upgraded our room to a Junior Suite, although the room was very large we had no view the only windows being in the roof, the room was spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable. We ate at the hotel in the evening we couldn't fault the service or the food which was also priced reasonably for a capital city restaurant. If I were to make one negative comment it would be the lack of tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms, we did ask if we could have a cup of tea or coffee on the Saturday afternoon and was told that this was not available until the bar opened at 7pm, we had to then go out in the poring rain and find a coffee shop that was open on a Saturday afternoon, quite a task in this area on a Saturday as most place were shut for the weekend by then.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo-lady48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Le Lady
Many thanks for your kind review of our hotel
You are right - we are in a great position for exploring Brussels and I am happy that our staff made you welcome
We have our own cleaning staff in-house and our Housekeeping Manager is extremely proud of the cleanliness of the hotel. I shall pass your remarks to her and the team
I am glad you enjoyed our brasserie - we have the best prices and service in the area. On top of that our chef, Jean makes sure all the produce is freshly prepared!
I am very sorry about the tea and coffee facilities. It is true we do not put them in every room but we do have kettles with tea and coffee available at Reception. I have had a word with the Receptionist involved but I am sorry we made you head out into the rain!
Next time you are staying with us, let me know and I will make sure you have more than enough tea and coffee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Pros:
Good location - 5 minutes walk from Europarlament.
Nice staff.
Very tasty breakfast.
Good parking and at weekends it is easy to find free parking place nerby.
A lot of restraunts neraby.
Cons:
Far from old centre (Gran place).
Closer to good 3 star hotel than 4 star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boris_sto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Boris_sto
Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. I am happy you enjoyed your stay
At the weekend there is free on-street parking near the hotel and we have our own secure garage parking at 21 EUR for 24 hours
I would take issue with you over your comments "far from the old centre". We are a 15 minute walk from Grand Place, through many of the most historical streets of Brussels and have a bus that goes there from right in front of the hotel if you don't fancy the walk
Sorry to tell you we are a 4* hotel - the ratings are issued by the Flemish Tourist Board and are made by conforming to a list of requirements - these include, the size of the rooms, the services provided, how many pillows are in the room, the number of lifts etc. Star ratings have absolutely nothing to do with the decor, the age of the hotel or rooms, the number of staff employed etc. The hotel does not choose the classification...
I look forward to welcoming you back to Brussels and showing you all the reasons we are a high class 4* hotel :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent three nights here from Sept 21st to 24th. Having booked with rail bookers. Our room was enormous and everything was clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly and helpful,giving us advice on public transport etc. The choice at breakfast was excellent with everything from croissants , cereals, cold meats and cheese through to a full cooked. Can reccomend the scrambled eggs. Can't comment on the restaurant though as we ate out every night. It was a 15 minute walk into the centre of Brussels and only yards away from the European Parliament. The only down side was there were no Tea and Coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flossie028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Flossie
Many thanks for your kind review of the Leopold Hotel. I am pleased that you had a great stay with us in Brussels
I will pass on your comments to our staff - they always their their best to be helpful, polite and go that extra mile to help out
We have made a lot of changes to the breakfast over the last few weeks, with better presentation, more choice, some local produce and low fat, light and bio food where possible
It was a shame you missed out on our great restaurant. We have just launched our new menu, with a wider selection of fresh dishes and some new takes on our classic Belgian food...next time perhaps
It is true we do not put tea and coffee facilities in the rooms but we do have this available at Reception - I will make sure our Reception staff make our British clients aware for the future ! We do also have a comfy bar that is open 16 hours a day, where we have a good selection of teas and freshly made coffee
Looking forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed for three nights, Sept 28th-Oct 1st. As there were three of us, we stayed in one of the triple rooms which are also refered to as executive suites.This hotel (and our room) was very clean and comfortable. Our bathroom was huge!!!! The staff were very friendly and helpful, giving us advice on public transport etc. There was a very good selection available for breakfast. Beware breakfast time is busy between 9 and 9.30 at the weekends. You may have to wait for ten minutes but if you wait in the comfy seating area outside the breakfast area, the staff come and find you. Our room had a fridge in it, and a kettle is availble on request from reception which is great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenleeparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind and generous review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your staff with us at the Leopold Hotel
We pride ourselves on our friendly staff, our comfortable accommodation and our generous hot and cold buffet breakfast - yes it can get a bit busy (particularly Sunday morning around 0900) as everyone wants to eat at the same time but we do our best to make sure everyone is looked after well
I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston Clinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent three nights at the Leopold on our Secret Escapes weekend at the end of September. The hotel is clean and tidy and staff where always friendly and helpful. We did not eat evening meals in the hotel restaurant so can't comment however the choice on the continental breakfast buffett was excellent from cereals to cheese/cold meats to a full cooked breakfast - The toaster was a bit lame as you had to put the bread through it twice but thats not really a hardship.
Our room (Garden Suite 1) was equipped with a 4 poster bed and had plenty of seating to sit and relax in the evening. The mini bar prices where reasonable- 2 euros for a bottle of coke instead of the £4 - 5 you would pay in London. Our only problem was that the wall fitted hairdryer had a split in the hose which made it impossible for my wife to dry her shoulder length hair properly - However on reporting this to reception a hand held dryer was supplied promptly.
The city of Brussels itself is a beautiful city but be warned there are lots of beggars in the city,always after your money when you are trying to have a quiet drink, but a polite 'non' and they usually go away.
All in all a thouroughly enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: Garden suite 1 - It's out the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold39, Manager at Hotel Leopold Brussels, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Andrew R
Many thanks for your very positive feedback about our hotel. I have let the Reception and Breakfast staff know that they helped make your weekend a successful one
I take note of your toaster issue and will have a look to see what we can do to improve this
I am pleased that you noticed the minibar prices ! We have just lowered them to give a much better value to customers
Next time please try out the restaurant. We have just launched a new menu and have been working hard with the chef to give more fresh local products
Looking forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.2 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#2 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.5 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.9 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#13 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Brussels Hotel
0.1 mi away
Stanhope Hotel
Stanhope Hotel
#21 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leopold Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leopold Brussels

Property: Hotel Leopold Brussels
Address: Rue du Luxembourg 35, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ixelles
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Leopold Brussels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run independent 4* hotel convenient for European Parliament and Brussels' historic centre. 107 rooms and suites for business and families - triples, quads and apartments for families. Excellent restaurant with local fresh cuisine. Glass-roofed inner terrace garden for meals and extensive buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, MyHotelShop and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Leopold Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopold Hotel Brussels
Hotel Leopold Brussels Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing