We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogant service”
Review of The Beer Factory

The Beer Factory
Ranked #67 of 183 Restaurants in Ixelles
Restaurant details
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Arrogant service”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The bar is decorated well and unusually so a good first impression is made whether you sit inside or out. The food is overpriced and standard fare but then again everywhere is on the same square so it is as expected. The reason I try and avoid beer factory if it all possible is the service. The classic Brussels rule of good business location equals ignorant service certainly holds true. Arrogance is the mantra for the staff here, which is frankly laughable considering the Beer Factory is a trumped up watering hole for eurocrats who are wanting to get drunk. It pays your wages so at least pretend to smile or give a damn what the customer wants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevieboy884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    46
    36
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“appaling service”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

As someone who has no choice but to live in Brussels,unless I change my job,I have become used to a "no customer service" orientated culture,but this place takes the biscuit.As soon as you dare to sit down and look thirsty the attitude of the staff is more "what do you want" or "how dare you come here and ask for a drink"!beers ok if you can get one,food is even more difficult to obtain,and v expensive.only really survives due to its location.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheNick101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Brewery inside a Beer Shop !! Awesome !”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Awestruck to see a Brewery inside the Shop itself !!
Upstairs seating area is suffocating.........You can enjoy your glass of beer sitting outside the shop on the pavement....and enjoying the sights of people from from all across the Globe !!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SumanGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level Contributor
330 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Nice place to hang out after work but not a good place to eat”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We wanted to have a quick bite and being in the neighborhood of the Place Lux, we decided to give this crowded place a shot.
I had a black Russian to start and I have to say that this cocktail was all right. The food however is nothing special. I had the cheeseburger and although the hamburger was cooked as requested, it was all rather blend and unremarkable. The salad looks great on the menu, but is rather disappointing when its being served, a lot of lettuce and little of the other items mentioned.
The staff was very attentive and paid special attention to the kid in our group which is always appreciated.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenaipas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good variety of beers”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Nice place to hangout. Tried Charles quint and mug was equally good like its taste. Surroundings are also awesome.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ankit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beer Factory also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Ixelles, Brussels
 

Been to The Beer Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing