We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but won't stay again”
Review of Caravan'Serail

Caravan'Serail
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caravan'Serail
Reviewed September 26, 2013

PROS

Clean and spacious room (we were on the top floor). Excellent, friendly and helpful owner. Interesting location, you really get to see real Brussels life here. Nice, simple breakfast.

CONS

Overpriced at 90 Euros/night for this area and what you get. No room service (not cleaned, bed not made, etc). ,
Too far from centre and tourist area (a good 15 min walk).
Room on top floor - Wifi foes not really reach up very well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyle-Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 78 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Caravan’serail. The room was clean and comfortable and was nice to have a kitchenette available during our stay.

The host prepared a great breakfast with jams and spreads and good selection of breads, yogurts, etc.

Easy to get to by tram, and walking distance to the supermarket and local city square/park.

Stephanie also answered all our questions regarding sites to see and traveling to other cities in Belgium.

Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Top floor has a very nice kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I spent three night at the Caravan Serail, and it was like being home. The breakfast was great (with absolutely amazing jams and breads) and it was really nice to have it looking at the garden. Our room, Fez, is the smallest in the B&B, but is very well furnished and has a very relaxing atmosphere. I expect to come back soon. Thanks Stéphanie and Giacommo.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank analopezfueyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay when you are in Brussels for holidays, for work or just passing by. Have been a fan for the last three years. The location is great and the rooms are very cozy and out of the ordinary in terms of decoration and ambience. They are spacious, very clean, with comfortable beds and give you immediately a feeling of relaxation. The hosts, Stephanie and Giacomo, are very sweet people and always very kind and helpful. While tasting their breakfast, in the beautiful gallery downstairs, you may believe for a moment that your mother is hidden somewhere in the kitchen! :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giannis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The b&b is located in the nicest area of Brussels next to all the nice bars and restaurants of ixelles. Shopping at avenue Louise is just 5 min on foot and public transportation that takes you to wherever you want to go in Brussels is right outside the b&b. Stephanie and Giacomo are the best hosts you could think of they are very kind and helpful. The breakfast is great .. all organic and homemade. They even make the yoghurt themselves !Will always be coming back here when in Brussels! So much better than all the overpriced hotels in Brussels!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katjaaaa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed four nights and five days at the Caravan 'Serail which was recommended to us by our friends who had stayed there before. We stayed at the Sha-Dô room and paid euro 70 per night including breakfast for two. The room was very clean and comfortable and cosy with access to a kitchen outside the room. The breakfast was great... great value for money and delicious with homemade juice every morning. Stephanie, the owner is friendly and very discreet and easy going. We felt very welcome and definitely will go back there the next time we are back in Brussels. Great location with access to public transportation and plenty of restaurants and bars to try around in Place Flagey.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisledinBXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Last year we stayed at the B&B for two nights, and we loved it. That's why we were very happy that we could book all of the three rooms for our this year's trip to Brussels to stay with our friends who were travelling with us.
As always everything was perfect – from the first to the last minute. The rooms were spotless clean, the rooms are cozy and of perfect size, the breakfast yummy with self-made juice and everything you need for a perfect start into the day.
I don't know if someone already mentioned it before: The rooms are on the 3rd and 4th floor without an elevator, so unfortunately it isn't suitable for elderly or disabled travelers ... (but I liked the stairs to get rid of all the waffles and fries :))

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haarnasenwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixelles hotels
0.5 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#3 of 15 in Ixelles
545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Brussels Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Berger
Hotel Le Berger
#7 of 15 in Ixelles
673 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Leopold Brussels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravan'Serail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravan'Serail

Address: Rue Lesbroussart 47, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Ixelles
Price Range: $60 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Caravan'Serail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravan'Serail Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing