We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L'Arbre de Vie
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sun Hotel(Ixelles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Stanhope Hotel(Brussels)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Chambord(Brussels)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
22
31
16
8
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
31
16
8
11
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 88 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Nice people, communal area is very cool.
Good breakfast.
Room was in the loft so a strange shape, the sink broke in half and the shower also broke so it could do with proper replacements instead of just glueing things back together. Aside from that it was decent and a great price so I would recommend it. Only 10 mins walk to the main square.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ButteryBiscuitBase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for one night. It took us a little while to find as you just would never know that those black gates are a B&B. Maybe seeing as many people are saying the same thing, The guys who are running the business might like to make it a little more visible in some way? Walking through those gates and in to the cool courtyard and amazing dining room is so not what you’re expecting. The whole place is beautifully decorated and is full of character. Noa, the manager that day gave us a warm welcome and helped us to our room on the third floor. It’s a great room with lovely art and a comfy bed. The bathroom was absolutely spotless.
I found the spiral stairs a little scary and not much fun with luggage (nor for the girl who fell down the last few at breakfast) but worth it for such a lovely place. We were offered crepes, omelettes, along with the lovely cheese, ham and fruits for breakfast. We really enjoyed it.
Noa seemed to spend most of his time on a laptop trying to juggle bookings so the place must be very popular, for good reason. There are lots of places to eat in this area, from pizza to African. It’s a very multicultural area and something for everyone. Surprising then that Brussels, for such a modern, multicultural city don’t seem to welcome people who look different in any way. I’m rather large build and have a tattoo and spent the whole time being stared at. I felt welcome at the B&B though, so that’s fine.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, tell them when you book, as the spiral stairs are a bit wobbly.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazzrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

The very austere entrance through a steel door covered in graffiti or is it art made us wary of what to expect. It is well worth entering as it was clean spacious and the service was superb. The breakfast was a real delight with freshly made juice/smoothie. Great value and convenient for the centre.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanHCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

It was one of the most unconventional places I have ever stayed in! Very nice, small, "boutique - B&B", amazing and very helpful staff, friendly atmosphere, excellent breakfast! The rooms are very specious and each one is designed in its own way: French boudoir, American Vintage etc. Hotel is full of art and creativity. Really unconventional, creative, cozy, clean and very light. You should try to stay there at least once, just to experience it! The only minuses were: my internet (which is absolutely complimentary) was not working really good. But I think it will be fixed soon. And the neighborhood of the hotel is not the best, although very lively :). Well done and many thanks! I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kvitochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Careful when booking this place, as charming as it seems, they seem to have a tendency to overbook on a regualr basis! The hotel organised a dingy flat instead, without breakfast. Furthermore I had to wait 40 minutes in the rain for the "landlord" and did not receive a payment receipt.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank LH-HON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews