We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”
Review of Made in Louise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Made in Louise
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I had high expectations of this hotel from reading the Trip Advisor reviews. It was all everyone said it would be! Here are the notes I took of our stay:

Very helpful front desk - All spoke English well
We stayed in rooms 56 and 57. Room 56 does not have a door on the bathroom. Rooms are small but nice.
Rooms overlook the rooftops across the way. Not best view but very comfortable rooms
Beds are comfortable
Very quiet!
Good size bathrooms by European standards
Stairs up to the lobby and 7 stairs up to the elevator. If you have bags and physical issues, keep this in mind.
Absolutely wonderful breakfast!!! Excellent bread, pastries, eggs, sausages or bacon, meats cheeses...Very, very good!
Limited parking available at 15 euros per night. Need to book with your reservation. Very close to hotel.
Reasonably priced for the amenities
GPS directions are good! Took us right to the hotel with no confusion
Easy walk to tram that takes you to the city center. Have small change available as they like exact change if you buy tickets on the tram
Easy walk to lovely restaurants that are not too "touristy". Per front desk suggestion, ate at Les Fils a Maman which we highly recommend!

We took a day trip to Ghent, Bruges and the North Sea. Easy drive and well worth the time!
Used Rick Steves Guidebook for Brussels and Bruges which also included info re Ghent (also spelled Gent). Really helpful!

I highly recommend spending a few days in Belgium. Really lovely!

Room Tip: We stayed in 56 and 57. 56 did not have a door on the bathroom. Not a big deal as only one person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmySP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    241
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
125
449
83
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Made in Louise is quite simply a perfectly executed city boutique hotel. The building, located in the upmarket Ixelles area of Brussels has been very tastefully restored about a year ago and is a very pleasant place to spend time - there is a beautiful free pool table available in the public area and plenty of comfy seats to lounge around in. This family run business also pays real attention to service which at all times was superb.

Everyone we met from reception through to the breakfast service was cheery and helpful. All staff speak excellent English too which is a bonus. I had a double room for single occupation which came in at €75/night including a very good breakfast. Excellent value. The rooms are the expected size for a city centre hotel and have plenty of room for one guest. There are larger doubles available if you're travelling as a couple.

Francois is a friendly evening receptionist who is keen to introduce you to his favourite beers - just beware his 9.5% recommendations!

There is a limited evening meal service provided by the local Italian restaurant, but also plenty of snacks available 24/7. However you will not be lost for good dining options nearby (unless it's a Sunday when many are closed). I highly recommend Le Chou de Bruxelles just around the corner for traditional Belgian cuisine.

Walking to the centre of town takes around 30 mins, but there are many nice neighbourhoods and sights en route including the chocolate centre of Bruxelles with all the finest chocolatiers present - the triangle beneath the shadow of the Eglise Notre Dame du Sablon.

You will not be disappointed if you stay here, and the walk to town also gives you distance from the tourist masses which dominate the main square and surrounding areas in the centre of Brussels.

Room Tip: Some travelers have suggested a room away from the main street is quieter, but when I stayed my room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hypothalamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Made in Louise is the perfect boutique-hotel. Well located, it offers a warm and familial environment with many touch of class and European taste. Everything is doing with a special touch. The staff has particularly to be complimented for its youthful "entrain" and kindness. All fluently speak English, French and a third language and their efforts for accommodating any request seems to come genuinely from a concern for the visitor's need. They often go far beyond the request and show a keen interest in the person they have in front of them. A great experience.

Room Tip: Quiet neighbourhood close to the center of the "Goulot de l'Avenue Louise"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adorbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Lovely small hotel near the centre of Brussels, located in a very nice part of the city. There are a number of great restaurants nearby (check out Le Chou de Bruxelles just around the corner) and it's a nice walk of about thirty minutes to the Grand Place or a few stops on the metro. Rooms were simple but modern and clean and contained everything you could need including free wifi.

But what set this hotel apart for me was the warm and friendly service we received whilst there. A fantastic team of staff on reception (who all spoke English thankfully!) really made you feel at home. It's also worth noting that the breakfast was fantastic: a wide selection of quality food (cereals, bread, eggs, cheese, ham and delicious home made treats) really set you up for a day of sightseeing.

There is also a pool room which is free for guests to use and a small bar where the staff will recommend a selection of Belgian beers and other snacks and drinks.

Overall then a fantastic family owned hotel with great service. I would return in an instant and would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Very nice small trendy hotel in a tradicional old building.
Service was great, THE best breakfast place!
Room 25 very spacious to accommodate an extra bed for our daughter (very different from first option online). Relaxing time with family.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciaPetzold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great hotel, we love it! My daughter stayed at Made by Louise last month and it was the best hotel that we stayed at during our 2 week visit in Europe. The owners and staff are all very professional, kind and extremely helpful! The hotel guest rooms and common areas to include the breakfast room, pool room, reception area and coffee shop/ snack room are all accommodating, modern, comfortable and welcoming. The daily breakfast was outstanding! The room was open and charming with a large bay window opening to the garden below .The breakfast menu included fresh scrambled eggs with scallions, bacon, steamed/sautéed cherry tomatoes, soft boiled eggs, assorted cereals, fresh fruit salad, fresh whole fruit, cheese gand assorted breads/pastries, coffee, tea, juice, and more it was all delicious! The hotel is very close to restaurants, the bus and subway systems. Made in Louise welcomed us and made us feel at home, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comesanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Where to begin? Our stay at Made in Louise was outstanding from start to finish. From the warm and accommodating staff, the beautiful decoration, delicious breakfast and well-appointed rooms we were so impressed with this new hotel. It has the feel of a family-run business which only adds to its charm and its central location tops it off as being our new favourite place. Don't miss the opportunity to make your next stay in Brussels a memorable one at Made in Louise!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMMarq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
1.4 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 199 in Brussels
577 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
1.2 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#11 of 199 in Brussels
1,115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Made in Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Made in Louise

Property: Made in Louise
Address: Rue Veydt 40, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium (Formerly Louise Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Family Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Business Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Made in Louise 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Made in Louise is a Brussels boutique hotel where charm is a way of life. Guests can enjoy the kind of hospitality that can only be experienced in a family-run setting. Discover this relaxing environment in a historic early 20th century building situated on a quiet street. Made In Louise offers a personalized and unique service for your every need. Each of the hotel’s 48 rooms are bright, comfortable, and full of character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Made in Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Made In Louise Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing