We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Luxury!”
Review of Made in Louise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Made in Louise
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Affordable Luxury!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I booked a two-night stay at Made in Louise through the Eurostar package deal at a very affordable rate. I was a bit hesitant before booking as the hotel was quite a distance from Gare du Midi. But I was so glad I went ahead with the booking, convinced by the good reviews on Tripadvisor!

Pre-stay: I sent an email to confirm my reservation and I received a warm and friendly reply promptly.

During stay: With the help of google map, I managed to walk to the hotel from Gare du Midi, took me about 15 minutes, so it was not as bad as I thought, it is actually not very far in my opinion. The reception staff are always very friendly and they always answer my questions with a smile. The single room I stayed in (room 51) was spotlessly clean and spacious. I love how the big window lets in lots of sunlight to make the room bright and cheery. My room faces the court yard and I can hardly hear any traffic, every morning when I wake up from a good sleep, I can hear birds chirping outside, I really enjoyed the tranquility. The bed and pillows were crisp clean and smell nice. The shower area is enclosed within a glass door, so the sink and WC area are kept dry all the time. The toilet is well equipped with soap, cotton buds, cotton pads and shower cap. The towels are very clean and absorbent and are changed everyday. The breakfast room is very spacious and brightly lit. The crockery and food are placed neatly in an organised manner and there is an adequate variety of food like eggs, bread, waffles, cereal and cakes. The staff in the breakfast room are always checking to see if things are alright. In general, I feel that every staff at Made in Louise take great pride in their jobs! Well done!
Post-stay: The reception gladly kept my bag while I continue sightseeing before taking my train back to London. I highly recommend this hotel be it for holiday or business. During my stay, I saw families, couples, friends and businessmen, so there is a good mix of people staying at the hotel, which means it is a hotel that suits everyone! I will stay here again if I visit Brussels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    241
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
125
449
83
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

A two week stay at Made in Louisa absolutely made my trip to Brussels. This nicely appointed, quiet comfortable hotel lives up to its billing. What really distinguishes it though, is the friendly, always professional staff. They are terrific. Finally, breakfast. The breakfast room is at the back of the ground floor and looks out over a garden. The renovation here has allowed a maximum amount of light. It is a very inviting room and the varied breakfast selection is gourmet. All in all, a considerable achievement.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert_Oxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecija, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Made in Louise was recommended by a friend of ours. I cannot say enough about the place and the staff. The whole hotel is so cute and quaint. We booked our room with breakfast and it was a nice variety (juices, coffee, tea, pastries, eggs, bacon, cream cheese, jams...). The eating room was bright and clean. The room was very large and the bathroom much larger than I expected for a European hotel. The hotel, while off the main road, was only about a 10 walk to the tram and subway stop (Louise). Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I found Made in Louise via tripadvisor reviews, and it was the perfect hotel for our quick stay in Brussels that we were looking for. The staff were very helpful during the booking process, and managed to secure an Exec room where they were able to add another small bed and a mattress in an adjoining section of the room to accommodate my 2 children which made this good value. We were also able to reserve parking in a secure location in an adjoining street. Note that driving in Brussels can be tricky, make sure to give way to drivers on the left, the sat nav did send me the wrong way on the main streets which can be tricky to address with tram sections also limiting ability to get back to the correct turn off.

We arrived late, which was no issue, the hotel checked us in quickly and made us a reservation to very nearby Italian restaurant, which was excellent in value and quality to feed the hungry mouths. The room and hotel facilities were very good, nice simple decor, lovely showers, and comfy bed. Beware if on the 6th floor you will need to carry luggage up a flight of stairs from the lift on the 5th floor. Also a small bar with good selection of beers, also a nice pool table kept the kids busy. Breakfast was just what we needed with a mix of continental and cooked breakfast. Soya milk also available.

Location is perfect, it's a quiet location, hotel will provide a map, 15/20 mins walk to main tourist centre, jump on the 92 tram and its only 10 mins, for €1 (valid on metro as well for an hour). The chocolate factory Zaabar is 5 min away as well. Would definately stay here again, helpful staff, lovely hotel, perfect for us.

Room Tip: Windows have black out shutters. Flight of stairs from 5th to 6th floor rooms. Exec room can be adap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harpesharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Wonderful hotel. About a 15/20 minute walk away from the city centre. All the staff were extremely helpful and very welcoming. Breakfast was fantastic with a relatively large selection to choose from. Would definitely choose go back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had a very large room, recently renovated and stylish. Great big windows, clean, good storage. Excellent breakfast (included in room rate), nice lounge area with complementary tea and ability to buy snacks and drinks. Quiet neighbourhood out of the tourist centre but easy walk to metro/trams and walkable to Bozart and Fagey arts centre and many interesting small art galleries (get an art map at Aeroplastics gallery which is one street away from Hotel). Pop up trendy bar on the corner in an old shop, trendy fun. This is the nice non touristy area of town. We will stay here again! Great big room, nice service, great price. Remember to prebook restaurants for dinner during your trip as we found most good places booked out.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CultureTouristUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

After reading the reviews chose to stay at the Made in Louise and very glad we did
The hotel is very unique and clearly a lot of thought has gone into its design
The hotel is not in the centre but it wasn't when we booked it
The area around the hotel is fine with the avenue Louise the next street across which has all the designer shops etc
The service in the hotel is very good nothing is too much trouble
The rooms are spacious and light ours was a little noisy at night as we were on the street but I enjoy the atmosphere
The breakfast is excellent everything that you could want
To finish if you are used to a big chain hotel located in the centre this is not for you
If you want a lovely hotel with character away from the tourist area then this is it

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuartp03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
1.4 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 199 in Brussels
576 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
1.2 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#12 of 199 in Brussels
1,114 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Made in Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Made in Louise

Property: Made in Louise
Address: Rue Veydt 40, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium (Formerly Louise Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Business Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Made in Louise 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Made in Louise is a Brussels boutique hotel where charm is a way of life. Guests can enjoy the kind of hospitality that can only be experienced in a family-run setting. Discover this relaxing environment in a historic early 20th century building situated on a quiet street. Made In Louise offers a personalized and unique service for your every need. Each of the hotel’s 48 rooms are bright, comfortable, and full of character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Made in Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Made In Louise Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing