We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super little find!”
Review of Made in Louise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Made in Louise
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Super little find!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was a truly excellent boutique hotel just off the Avenue Louise, slap bang in the centre of Brussels.
We arrived, frustated, having fought through Brussels' rush hour. Within minutes, we were checked in (I speak fluent French, but all the staff have passable, if not fluent English), had enjoyed an introductory chat, taken some advice re our dinner plans, and the staff had confirmed a booking on our behalf (the hotel has no restaurant)-'Le Chou de Bruxelles', easily walkable, reviewed elsewhere, and were freshening up in our rooms, which were spotless, well appointed, and, if not the largest in the world, were perfectly acceptable, with particularly wonderful showers.
Over the next couple of days, nothing was too much trouble, I asked for reservations to be made, for travel advice around the city, the staff checked opening and closing times for me, lent me a needle & thread (but offered to make the minor repair I needed to make themselves), kept the bar well stocked and open, and finally found me a specialized local shop for a particular gift. I really cannot recommend this hotel enough for a short break, but I've left the best 'til last:
THE BREAKFAST (included): was absolutely unbelievable!.. 0700-1000 on weekdays, and 0800-1100 on weekends, this simply has to be seen to be believed!.. If one were determined, it would be possible to enjoy a 3 or 4 course meal!'' Scrambled eggs, bacon, mushrooms & tomatoes, followed by ham & cheese, followed by a selection of yoghurts, granolas & cereals, followed by sweet rolls, croissants & waffles, toast, jams & preserves, fruit juices, fresh fruit compote and the most wonderful coffee (I don't drink tea abroad), and other guests made special requests from the lovely lady in charge, and nothing was refused!..
A wonderful hotel, well located, catering for the discerning traveller-not the cheapest, but definitely one of the best...

Room Tip: Even the front-facing rooms are quiet-and I insist on open windows!..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adams5905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDucha, Directeur général at Made in Louise, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for this nice review ;-) it's like a Christmas present to the whole Made in Louise team!
It's nice to read that we managed to fulfill all your needs at all time. The Made in Louise team is really dedicated and passionate about their jobs so you just did them a beautiful gift!
Breakfast is very important, so for us the most important it that is has to be fresh, a lof of choice and a super cosy atmosphere!
Again a big thank, I'll definitely share your review with my team!
Thanks, Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    237
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
125
443
82
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Relaxing, good quality breakfast and handy to get around Brussels. Good value for money and different from the chains. Would definitely recommend "Made in Louise" and will be staying there again when I go to Brussels in June.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just off the main shopping belt and housed in a tastefully refurbished old building. Friendly and accommodating staff, great breakfast (with Belgian waffles) and spacious, comfortable rooms. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonardlzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDucha, Directeur général at Made in Louise, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thanks for this great review! It seems that our Belgian waffles have a huge success :-)))).
We hope to see you again soon at the Made in Louise!
Thanks,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannes
Level Contributor
177 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We, my husband and I and our 12 year old daughter stayed in this hotel 3 nights end of october. The previous reviews are right. You feel at home in this place. We stayed in a top floor room which is large and quiet and has a seperate corner for a bed which was great for our daughter.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, the girls in the breakfast room very efficient. Breakfast is indeed perfect. We never found the wafles but that was ok.
Martin was especially very helpful one night when we went out for dinner with friends. He took care of ordering chinese food for our daughter and brought it up to her room on a nice tray with everything needed. Thank you very much for that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubissaphir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDucha, General Manager at Made in Louise, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thanks a lot for this nice message! We are happy that we could found a solution for your daughter so you could have an nice dinner outside!
I am very proud of my team and its nice to hear that that it's reflected on you!
Thank you and see you soon!
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

It was a fantastic hotel with amazing service and it was perfect for my little getaway. The only issue I would say there is with the hotel is the location, because it is not too near the city centre and a taxi is needed to get there. It's a short ride, but just a bit of a burden. Other than that, it was a perfect hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in this hotel in mid-October. It is a lovely property and easily accessible to Brussels by public transportation in just a few minutes. The staff are extremely helpful and welcoming, especially to travelers unfamiliar with the surrounding area. They provided directions and recommended restaurants within the area on a night when we arrived jet-lagged and soaked from unexpected showers. Our room was spotless and had everything available that we needed. Breakfast is a high point; everything is fresh and homemade. The fresh fruit at breakfast, the changing array of breads, and Belgian waffles were all delicious. We appreciated the quiet surroundings, yet easy accessibility to everything that Brussels has to offer. I look forward to a return trip to this beautiful city and would not hesitate to stay at this wonderful boutique hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happydaze32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDucha, General Manager at Made in Louise, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thanks a lot for you reviews. it's so encouraging for us, that we want to do even better! it makes the whole Made in Team smiles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have just had the most perfect 3 nights in this lovely relatively new boutique hotel run by Melanie and Martin a brother and sister team. It is modern ans sylish without trying too hard - very homely with every ltlle detail though through the Av Loiuse shops and in a quiet street. We stayed on the 6th floor and although the lift only reach the 5th floor it was great as it was so quiet up there with nobody passing by. The inclusion of a bath and not just a shower in even the smaller rooms was much appreciated after a long day walking around the sights. . Breakfast was great - lovely fresh pastries, great selection of organic leaf teas and crispy bacon. A very minor critisism was the old style nailed to the wall low power hairdryer which would only work when you held the button down -annoying and difficult with stiff hands! The complementary hebal tea and biscuit was very welcome and I hope they keep this lovely touch - Will definately recommend to colleagues who travel to Brussels great restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are quieter. Some rooms are small but cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
1.4 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 199 in Brussels
563 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
1.2 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
1,746 reviews
1.2 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#8 of 199 in Brussels
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Made in Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Made in Louise

Property: Made in Louise
Address: Rue Veydt 40, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium (Formerly Louise Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Business Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Made in Louise 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Made in Louise is a Brussels boutique hotel where charm is a way of life. Guests can enjoy the kind of hospitality that can only be experienced in a family-run setting. Discover this relaxing environment in a historic early 20th century building situated on a quiet street. Made In Louise offers a personalized and unique service for your every need. Each of the hotel’s 48 rooms are bright, comfortable, and full of character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Made in Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Made In Louise Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing